Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2013
Star Trek Into Darkness (STID), the acronym of which sounds like something you would get diagnosed with at the GP, is Giacchino's latest album in the franchise. I loved the music to the first film, despite is having too short a running time (something this album also suffers from) and had extremely high hopes for this album. Thankfully, they were met. This album is in my opinion a career high for Giacchino, with stunning orchestral and choral writing that really packs a punch.

If you want a track by track analysis, I would suggest looking at one of the previous reviews. However, some personal favourites were the stunning Warp Core Values (Track 10), which has an amazing rendition of the main theme with choir and simply epic. The same can be said about the closing track Star Trek Main Theme (Track 14). The start of Buying The Farm (Track 11) is a welcome change of pace, with some great writing for strings and piano. The whole album is fantastic though, and it flows well. It is well mixed and doesn't sound as dry as some of his earlier albums. The different sections and choir all have exceptional clarity, and I thought the louder choir was a definite improvement from the soundtrack to the first film.

My only gripe - the running time. I'm not saying for one minute that I expect every single second to be released, but releasing 47 minutes is pretty shameful and not the greatest value for money. I understand that longer albums mean more expense in terms of license fees paid to the orchestra and choir (hence lower profits). However, for a film that has a budget of $190 million they probably could have afforded a longer running time and is poor given that many soundtrack albums are over an hour at least. They are probably saving more music for an inevitable 2CD release like they did with the soundtrack to the first film. Rant over.

Overall, if you were a fan of Giacchino's music from the first film, you will love this and there are some brilliant variations on the main ST theme here. The running time irked me, but the choral aspects were more prominent than on the first soundtrack album, which is a bonus. The quality of the music is sensational and easily deserves 5*s, but the running time means the product as a whole drops to 4*. Still highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 September 2014
If you enjoyed the film, this soundtrack will help bring back the experience. The music does not, however, stand up quite as well without reference to the film: in my opinion, the hallmark of a great soundtrack is that it has a life of its own, beyond simply supporting the on-screen action. Also, the various tracks seem significantly less memorable than those of the Star Trek (2009) soundtrack (especially the magnificent closing music for that film).

Reommended for the serious soundtrack collector and Star Trek fan: maybe less so for the more casual listener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
I loved every second of Into Darkness, I had heard the full soundtrack before but after watching the film i felt the need to buy the soudtrack. Now that i've listened to it over and over again it always makes me feel like I'm watching the film again.

If your a fan of Michael Giacchino or Star Trek this is a OST not to miss out on.

My favourite tracks are Buying the space farm, London Calling and Pranking the natives.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
A film is often complimented by the music, although it is often difficult to get the balance right. This however, is how a film score should be, not so overly in-your-face, but wonderfully complimenting the story onscreen, and enjoyable in its own way to be listened to at pleasure in your own time to evoke the exciting memories of the cinematic extravaganza. This is a perfect musical soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Michael Giaccino's score for Into Darkness is awesome; end of story (almost). It's got some cracking tracks that are well up there with the best he's done. There is a depth and variety which is amazing, and he hasn't over-egged the score with his Start Trek theme again, as it has been used sparingly, mostly in the beginning and end pieces (which is understandable). There is some beautiful music which goes perfectly with the film, as well as living outside it (which doesn't happen in all score albums) and in the action cues there appears, to me at least, to be the faintest echo of both Jerry Goldsmith and James Horner, which shows its a stable mate to the earlier films. The score varies at one end from "London Calling" which is a beautiful haunting piece which brings out real sadness (you'll know instantly where it goes when you've seen the film) to the action of "The Kronos Wartet". I highly recommend this to anyone that loves good music.

The star taken off is not however for the music, its for the running time of only 47 minutes, which I find both disappointing and frustrating. I'm sure give it five or six months and...surprise, surprise, an extended "Deluxe" CD with another 15 or so minutes of music added.

It will be interesting to see what's going to happen when they do Star Trek 3 (or 13 if your an old trekker like me). With JJ Abrahms likely to be concentrating mainly on Star Wars V11, and down as producer only for Star Trek 3, will there be a change of musical direction? I hope not as Giacchino's doing a damn fine job. However, might Giacchino be earmarked also for Star Wars V11? Now that would be interesting! IF - and its a very, very big IF- Giacchino does do Star Wars V11, hopefully he'll be able to do Start Trek 3 as well. If not, then enjoy the sublime music he created for these two reboot Star Trek films - you certainly won't be disappointed !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
When JJ Abrams rebooted the Star Trek Franchise, it did split fandom. The soundtrack has however been mainly praised, an assessment I cannot disagree with.

Into Darkness continues this trend. The original Alexander Courage theme, apart from the end titles, is used sparingly so is not intrusive, allowing Giacchino free reign. The music used for Kronos honours that used for the Klingons by Goldsmith and Horner, but also finds it's own path, while Warp Core Values/Buying The Space Farm are emotive tracks, reminiscent of the first movie's "Labor of Love" track.

I recommend this to any fan of the movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I loved the soundtrack to the previous film but was, like a lot of other reviews, shocked by how reduced this way - particularly considering it's odd high price. Where is the music from the closing credits, for instance? Brilliant music but I feel I've been ripped off by Colosseum.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Yet another terrific score from Michael Giacchino who really has built a strong group of themes for each of the main Star Trek characters and races, and this is better than the first film in the re-booted Star Trek series of films from J.J, Abrams in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Let's be clear ... Giacchino's Star Trek music is not Goldsmith, it's not Horner , it's not Eidelman but it is a worthy addition to these ranksthrough it's sheer gusto and energy. The main theme is, perhaps, a little overused although it's fun to hear it in different guises and it does capture the style of the new JJ-trek expertly. The best tracks, among a slightly uneven listen on the album at least, are probably London Calling, Kirk Enterprises and that Main theme. Track names are very entertaining (s with the last one) but could do without the 'Bonus track'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
After seeing the first new star trek film and loved the score, just listening to the music you can drift away and be at the riverside ship yard or on vulcan or on the Enterprise. The into Darkness score is perfect, feels very like james Horners score for star trek 2 and 3. You can feel the dark feel of the film too. bring on the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)