Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
111
3.9 out of 5 stars
Yeezus
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 14 March 2017
The musical genius that is Kanye West produced and wrote what is the most influential album of this decade.

All the songs are great and to be able to listen to it on cassette was the best experience I have ever had with music.

A must buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Yeezus is the soundtrack to my 2013. I played it constantly after buying it and the more I played it, the more I realised that love him or hate him, Kanye is a genius. This has to go down as one of the most creative albums of any genre in years. Each track has it's own unique style and I absolutely love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
very happy with the CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
YEEZUS IS F*CKING AMAZIN!
When I first started listening to it, I felt like I was getting possessed by it, the music has such an strong dark power, it feels perfect to listen with headphones, earphones or even with an stereo(what did) and I shook my house! loud and perfect, this album is great like all of Kanye's
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 June 2013
He is as mad as a box of frogs, has an ego the size of Antartica and unites people in complimentary levels of mutual love and hatred. Not that Kanye West really cares any about this. He attracts more press than Kate Middleton and artists buzz around him to collaborate on his albums like moths to flame. West is one of the biggest "minds" in music and fundamentally the best thing to happen to rap since the Sugarhill Gang had a bright idea all those years ago to popularize an approach to music of spoken and chanted rhyming that broke the top 40 for the first time. Granted we do not need to reflect too long on his severe misfire with Jay Z on the horrible "Watch the throne". But anyone who releases an album quite as brilliant as 2010's "My dark twisted fantasy" should be cut some slack.

"Yezzus" is West again pushing the boundaries out there so far that he is the musical equivalent of Star Trek. There are more ideas in the Daft Punk assisted opening track "On sight" than most artists have in a lifetime. It is all about "attack' and its almost Prodigy like thundering ascetic makes for a storming start. Unfortunately bearing in mind the history of its lead singer the song "Black Skinhead" doesnt half sound like the Glitter Bands "Rock n Roll". Let us forgive Mr West for this and just enjoy an excellent rap with an almost Eminem assertion that "Baby, we livin' in the moment/I've been a menace for the longest/But I ain't finished, I'm devoted/And you know it, and you know it". Truth be told is pretty dark stuff and leads into a slice of pure West that will irritate, anger and annoy some of his core constituency namely the song "I am god". Frankly who knows what West is talking about here but its is hard brutal rap of mint quality with overtones so black it could appear on a Marilyn Manson album. The intensity continues on "New Slaves" a song so menacing it should be issued with an ASBO. It concludes with West and Frank Ocean's freestyle falsetto which offers respite from its brooding first minutes. Much more soulful is "Hold my liquor" a Bon Iver supported solidly wasted house ballad that would have been destined for repeated airplays if it wasn't so populated with graphic imagery. Indeed throughout West makes precious few concessions to FM radio and his previous fan base. It is clearly the case that Executive co-producer Rick Rubin has gone for an harder edge which will not appeal to some. West even has the audacity to sample the great Billie Holiday's "Strange Fruit" which may for some be almost sacrilegious, but "Blood on the Leaves" dealing with the pernicious impact of racism is clearly an high emotion album standout. If "Guilt Trip" sounds like the nearest thing to a single on the album the final two songs are a let down. The genuinely awful spoken rap "Send it up" registers the albums low point, its just too bare and uninteresting. While things improve slightly for the concluding "Bound 2" a bubble pop rap with a assertive Kayne West vocal, you can be assured that this will never make his Greatest Hits album.

"Yezzus" with its choppy and industrial tracks is going to try the patience of many brought up on the pure pop of "All falls down" and the sheer commercially impacting sounds of "Through the wire". In a show of pure Kanye West bravado he has given interviews about this album that almost writes off the importance of "My dark twisted fantasy" and proclaims his passion for another musical form stating that "I knew that I wanted to have a deep Chicago influence on this album, and I would listen to like, old Chicago house". Does this make "Yessus" yet another attempt by West to deconstruct previous work and release a broadly anti-commercial gambit. The answer is probably and as we know he is not short of a shilling if it doesn't sell. The point however is that it is a challenging work with depth and darkness. It shows West at his intriguing best and if it does lend itself to the accusation of being inwardly focused and introspective as one critic stated recently "his navel-gazing remains the best and most fascinating navel-gazing around"
Comment
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
If your looking for some thing different music wise you have found it...
right here words and all that stand out from the rest.
Very nice CD just hope the neighbours don't complain about it haha
sorry this is short and sweet but waiting for AMAZON to deliver more goodies...
to play out loud on my speakers...
Five Gold Stars for this album and it's plain cd cover... well it's different ?
Not the type of songs you would hear on the radio So beware...
As KanYeWest knows how to put out the words to the music..
must go now from
SATAN

P.S...you can find these good speakers on AMAZON under DJ Speakers
and yes the middle ones flash blue to the music so cool wicked stuff....
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
The CD brings back kanye for me..really good to listen to..all tracks are brilliant...would recommend to anyone , up and onwards
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
I have managed to stay largely unaware of KW apart from the Glastonbury debacle, thinking he was some sort of media darling with no talent.
Listened to this after being told by my teenage son this was not the case and was impressed. imho there is only one track on the album that isn't strong (New Slaves). Unfortunately the personality he reveals is far from pleasant.
I have since tried the more recommended 'try this first' albums by Kanye, and found them far more of a slow burn.
Kanye seemed to have been listening to Section 80 by Kendrick Lamar, as he's used parts of it - that album is far superior imho, even if it doesn't have Daft Punk involved.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
Probably my favourite out of all of Kanye's album. Very raw and so much originality and variety in his tracks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
First Kanye CD I ever bought. Some - a lot of - utterly brilliant tracks on this. Then tried a bunch of his other CDs and found a lot of utterly dead loss tracks on too many of them. If you want an introduction to Kanye West - try this - ideally on your own in the car. Loud.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)