Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2013
So, I took the cellophane off with a bit of trepidation. Was this going to be one of those shoddy sound quality semi-"official bootlegs ? You know the ones where tape quality is dreadful and there is considerable tape hiss.
No , the very good news is that it isn't. The even better news is that it's a superb performance . It's a Boston radio performance from 1982 to promote " The Envoy" album. The band ( John Wood, Randy Brown, Larry Larson , and Joe Daniels) are tighter than a ducks bum and obviously totally engaged with the material. Warren is quite startlingly wonderful and seems to be relatively free of excessive " concert medicine " ( or drugs and alcohol as some people call it ) . He sings some of the songs with a freshness and enthusiasm that would have people thinking he just wrote them . My particular favourites are " Roland the headless Thompson Gunner " , " Lawyers Guns and Money" and a fine version of Springsteen's " Cadillac Ranch" Well worth your ( and my) money
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I have been looking for some of his old concerts from the 70's and 80's but they are just not so easy to find. Finally, here seems to be something that at least is semi legal. The sound completely acceptable, while the performance is top class! This man is really missed! He was a true original!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Just listened to this CD and I wish I had attended the concert. The sound is quite good and it appears that the audience enjoyed it as well. A good buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
Warren Zevon is a hero to me - what a writer of vivid songs, wildly varied but all believable, wonderful tunes, great backing musicians - and Warren's piano is SO lovely that I hold my breath in Frank and Jesse James when he plays the piano bridge between verses, so that I don't miss one note. Headless in Boston is a super live concert .. he gave 100% of himself it seems, God bless him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Wareen Zevon, the best. Discovered late in my life, being now 75. I love his singing, his fun, his thoughtful lyrics. What a loss to those around him and his followers his death must have been. But he lives on through all the great energy of his work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
This is a marvellous performance by Warren - a five star performance.
However, this CD presents only part of the show - and hence a three star rating.

The full running order was:
CD 1
01 Intro 02 Johnny Strikes Up The Band 03 Overdraft 04 Certain Girl
05 Let Nothing Come Between You 06 Band Intros > Banter 07 Jeannie Needs A Shooter
08 Join Me In L.A. 09 Gorilla, You're A Desperado 10 Roland The Headless Thompson Gunner
11 The Envoy 12 Simple Man, Simple Dream 13 Bill Lee 14 Charlie's Medicine
15 Junglework 16 Play It All Night Long

CD 2
01 Lawyers, Guns and Money 02 Bad Luck Streak In Dancing School 03 Hula Hula Boys
04 Accidentally Like A Martyr 05 Mama Couldn't Be Persuaded 06 The Next Best Thing
07 Poor Poor Pitiful Me 08 Cadillac Ranch 09 Excitable Boy 10 Ain't That Pretty At All
11 Werewolves Of London 12 DeeJay Banter 13 Carmelita 14 I'll Sleep When I'm Dead 15 Outro

It is available for free download at archive.org
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Having listened to this several times, I have no doubt WZ was headless for these performances !!!
All my old favourites are here, and performed fantastically. These concerts must have been great events with the "Buzz" lasting for days.
Totally recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
If you are a fan of the man just buy it! If not try it anyway as there are some wonderful versions of studio tracks included here reflecting the energy and drive Warren had. Give yourselves a New Year treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Not as wild as some rave reviews would have you believe. If you can get hold of a live radio recording from around the time of Sentimental Hygiene, that would be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
Great live album.Well recorded.This album demonstrates Warren Zevon in full flow and in command of his audience.Showing the artist at his most powerful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)