Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.29


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
Impossible to imagine that a whole concept album of any quality could be written on the subject of cricket yet, if anything, this second album is even better than the first. The music covers a wide range of genres, even bordering on heavy rock at times. It really feels like a top notch stage show in the making (if only their were enough cricket lovers among musical goers). In fact, the cricket is often just a cover for some completely different underlying theme, especially Out in the Middle (for me, the stand-out track). Having bought this at the same time as Divine Comedy's Foreverland, this for me is the better of the 2 - terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
This is an entertaining and competent album that any cricket fan would love. It could have been 5 star but for the final track which is a filler that goes on and on going nowhere. Great blend of music and English eccentric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 November 2013
This sequel of an album is perfect. Like Aliens was to Alien. It takes the premise of the original crickety concept album and builds on it. It feels bigger and more confident.

The same breadth of material is present - from pastiches of the Stones and ELO to 90s Europop, to the oddly affecting ballad-esque (step forward 'Out in the Middle'). Nice cameos from the ever-gorgeous Matt Berry and Stephen Fry.

But it's all about the tunesmithery and fun. And there's bucket loads of both.

Buy it, own it, absorb it. It makes your soul better, and I don't even care about cricket :)

It's cricket as a metaphor for life, all Divine Comedied-up.

Awesome - should be a 6! (rather than a 5*) - see what I did there?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
With a cover that shows that the chap on the front can do better than Botham by getting his leg over, this CD unleashes a veritable volley of bouncers, leg breaks, beamers and the odd googly in its quest to reveal the quirks and oddities of the holy game of cricket. Beautifully observed pastiches intermingle with tales of many characters along the way in the unique Neil Hannon/Divine Comedy fashion. Even Blowers gets an inclusion and well worth it he is. If you are a cricketer, you will recognise some of the characters and smile wistfully as you join in the choruses. If you are a music lover, whilst you will miss many of the nuances you will still love the melodies, the clearness of the lyrics and the performances. Whatever the case, if you don't like this I suggest that you make an appointment to see your GP because it is clear you are very, very unwell indeed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
After listening to my Amazon MP3s in the car for a couple of days I was going to give this a four, if only because a couple of tracks, especially the closer Nudging and Nurdling, sag a little below the standard of the rest.

But then my LP copy arrived and the fifth star was straight back in. This is a thing of real beauty - an event in the way unpacking a new album used to be. The sleeve is a proper gatefold, and there's a printed inner with another picture and all the words. And the outside shows to full advantage the little twist the back cover gives to the famous photo on the front. Best of all is the disc itself - wonderfully black, glossy and heavy, with not a trace of surface noise. It looks, feels and sounds fantastic. And (pleasant surprise after briefly havering over whether to order this or the CD) there's even a CD copy of the album inside the sleeve.

And so to the music. Well, I downloaded the digitals on Monday morning before a two-hour drive to Crawley, and I can only wonder what my fellow drivers on the M25 thought was up with me as I grinned, chortled and even at one point clapped my hands in involuntary glee. The album is full of sublimely crickety, musicky, funny moments and references, whether it's the Rolling Stonesy opener, the Beach Boys-esque Mystery Man or every 80s electronic track you ever heard rolled into Line and Length. Along the way we have The Umpire, which if anything improves on the poignancy of The Nightwatchman last time out. And, of course, we have the highest point of all, the best ELO song for 30 years: the triumphant Third Man. Duckworth even turns what might be the disadvantage of the title's 'th' in his favour by exploiting the uniquely Irish scope to rhyme 'villain' with 'fillum' with 'penicillin' as his disengaged boundary fielder imagines dodgy dealings in post-war Vienna.

On reflection, four stars would not have been right; this album deserves five just for existing, and for combining cricket with the influence of Jeff Lynne - and, I should add, of his under-credited strings arranger Louis Clark - more even than its predecessor did. As an album it's delightful; as an LP it's close to perfect. Love it.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
I must say, I was a little trepidatious when I heard they were gonna give it another go, these Duckworth Lewis boys. A second collection of cricket based pop songs? Really? Well, I'm here to report...I was never actually trepidatious at all! These guys are at the top of their respective games! What a beautiful follow-up to their highly successful debut 4 years back when cricket based albums didn't even exist!

Very much the way "Meeting Mr. Miandad" (from the debut) became the winner of the Old Grey Whistle test, "It's Just Not Cricket" sounds like the FUN song for the summer this year. Further on, my 13 year old son and I also couldn't stop ourselves singing the chorus on "Boom, Boom, Afridi" it's so damn catchy! Stellar! "The Umpire" is a sad lament about the thankless job as a cricket judge. It’s a great melody and Neil Hannon (The Divine Comedy) has never sounded better. The music here is lush, but not overwhelmingly so. On "Third Man" the E.L.O. knob gets turned up full notch and we get another melodic gem with Thomas Walsh (Pugwash) at the helm this time. Seriously, Jeff Lynne, did you NOT produce this?

"Out in the Middle" may be my favorite track at the moment. Maybe I like list songs. It starts off fairly straightforward with Walsh listing several descriptions of success...but setting the guy "out in the middle" apart from these things. The melody carries us along nicely until a surprising sweep of chord changes that for me are very reminiscent of the best of early Steely Dan if, say, Donald Fagen decided to pick up a cricket bat. The song's fade recalls "Mason on the Boundary" (from their debut CD) and it all works. Gorgeous stuff!! The next track is one that I will skip 9/10 times but there is some seriously fun stuff contained within the techno-poppy "Line and Length". Listen to it, don't take it too seriously and nobody gets hurt! "The Laughing Cavaliers" sounds straight out of a Monty Python soundtrack. For "Judd's Paradox" grab your best headphones to catch all the nuance. It's more movie soundtrack stuff, very cinematic and compelling to listen to. When Walsh and Hannon harmonize on the sweet melody tucked between the narrative we are reminded what makes this somewhat unlikely duo so great together.

Additional musicians are stalwarts Nick Seymour on bass(Crowded House), Tosh Flood on lead guitar (Pugwash) and even Neil Finn can be heard on one track (lest I forget Daniel Radcliffe, Stephen Fry and Henry Blofield who add some lovely narratives). For fans of ELO, The Rutles, Steely Dan, Divine Comedy, Pugwash, Crowded House, etc...you know, all the good stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an enjoyable album of decent pop songs given an extra lift because they are about cricket, with witty and sometimes poignant lyrics and welcome guest appearances from people like Henry Blofeld, David Lloyd and Stephen Fry. There is a variety of styles here; as others have noted, ELO is a prominent influence, but there are hints of 80s electro-pop, pub-rock and plenty else and part of the fun of the album is spotting the pastiches.

The strength of this album is really its lyrics. Songs like Mystery Man are a tour de force of amusing rhyming, Umpire is a poignant view of the loneliness of the role, Out In The Middle a rather powerful evocation of how tough it can be on your own out there with eleven people trying either to humiliate or injure you (or both), and so on. Some songs are, of course, stronger than others (I find Nudging And Nurdling wears thin pretty quickly, for example), but, as Richie might say, it's a good effort.

To be honest, I doubt whether this is something which I'll be playing for years with deep pleasure, but it's a very decent album in its way by good musicians who really know the game. This gives it considerably more weight than simply a novelty record and I'd recommend it - especially to lovers of cricket like me. There's plenty here to enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I reviewed The Duckworth Lewis Method's "début" album, I theorised, quite confidently, that, surely, it would be a one off. After all, how much mileage is there in a group specialising in songs about cricket? Turns out there's enough inspiration for at least two albums from The Divine Comedy's Neil Hannon and Pugwash's Thomas Walsh to indulge and fuse their love of the sport and classic pop/rock. Their new album "Sticky Wickets" (originally conceived to have an album cover lampooning The Rolling Stones' "Sticky Fingers" which would have been great) is a smashing helping of fun and, although it doesn't match up to Hannon's main body of work, it's still a thoroughly enjoyable piece of entertainment and there are a few choice tracks which make this a more than worthwhile purchase and will appeal to the vast majority of fans of both of the main players. The inclusion of Crowded House's Nick Seymour on bass as well as a plethora of special guests including Stephen Fry (on "Judd's Paradox"), Daniel Radcliffe (on "The Third Man"), Henry Blofield (on "It's Just Not Cricket"), Matt Berry (on "Mystery Man") and more famous names than you can shake a cricket bat at on "Nudging and Nurdling" make this a star-studded affair.

The first highlight is the catchy "Boom Boom Afridi" which has a chorus that sticks in your mind way after the album is over. "It's Just Not Cricket", a song about fair play, is certainly one of the best songs on the album and "The Umpire", a beautiful piece of music about the lonely world of being one of the game's law-upholders, is perhaps the most Divine Comedy-like track on this release and could easily have come from any of Neil's last few albums. The seriously excellent "Third Man" tells the story of the fumbler who gets stuck in that position, dreaming the game away and features some inspired, jaunty strings (all arranged by Hannon). There is even a near-disco pop song, "Line and Length", boasting heavy beats, scratching and eighties synth sounds which is many times more hook-laden and enjoyable than it really should be. "Mystery Man" is a brilliantly catchy, bouncy, insanely good song which should put a smile on the faces of most listeners and "Nudging and Nurdling" is one of those songs that refuses to leave your brain, even when you want it to.

Much has been made of Duckworth Lewis Method's love of The Electric Light Orchestra and, given some of the write-ups I've seen, you'd be forgiven for putting the album on and expecting to hear something straight from the pen of Jeff Lynne, however, if that was what you were expecting, you would be disappointed (or relieved, depending on your opinion on the bearded one). There are moments where you can tell that they've paid homage to Lynne's music and production style, but this album has an individual, distinctive character to it and the wide range of styles and genres of music on display here, as well as the great creative minds of both Hannon and Walsh, mean that if you want to hear "Out Of The Blue", you should go and play that, rather than hoping for a "Concerto For A Rainy Day" on "Sticky Wickets"... derivative, this isn't.

So, is it as good as the first Duckworth Lewis Method album? Well, not quite, but that was always going to be a tall order. However, that doesn't mean that it isn't a seriously good album, tremendous fun and a really accomplished piece of masterful musicianship which only becomes apparent the more you listen to it; fine purveyors of melody Walsh and Hannon make writing classic compositions and arrangements sound easy, just as the very best batsmen make the game appear easy to play. Much of it is very easy on the ear indeed, is delightfully whimsical and should be immensely pleasurable to existing fans, even if it may not win them any new ones (apart from within the cricketing fraternity, perhaps?). All-in-all, The Duckworth Lewis Method's "Sticky Wickets" is a superb summery sporting soundtrack (which you can enjoy immensely without even liking cricket) and a more than worthy companion piece to their 2009 self-titled début. Worth the gamble, I'd say.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
The Divine Comedy strike again and this one has been smashed out of the park for 6! Funny and catchy lyrics to add to the melodic and harmonious tunes mr Hannon has composed once again!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Now the first DLM album had some great individual tracks on it, such as "Jiggery Pokery" & "Meeting Mr Miandad" but it did have a bit of the dreaded "Side-project" to it.
But Masters Hannon & Walsh return with much more confident, ambitious & satisfying second innings (good cricket reference).
Full of quintessential English humour, but not a novelty comedy record; these songs are finely crafted with real meat on their bones.
Of course there is the argument that if you don't like cricket you simple wont get this record. But take Gruff Rhys recent Neon Neon album "Praxis Makes Perfect", which is all about communism, which I couldn't care less about but I still love the album, & I think the same thing could be said of "Sticky Wickets", this album is strong enough for the subject matter not to be off putting.
So all in all a highly enjoyable, whimsical indie record.....with a touch of ELO.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£3.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)