Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 May 2013
Absolutely don't miss it. It's a nightmare that don't let you breath troughout the all movie. Some scenes are shot in a way I think nobody even saw before. A movie from the mid sixties that still appears so contemporary. A brilliant mix of surreal moments and documentary-style scenes. I didn't give it 5 stars just because it turns out to be a little too circumlocutory and somehow boring, since you expect some development in the plot, whereas it gets to a point where you realize it won't go further. A little going around in circles. But still a fantastic experiment. You don't expect to see Rock Hudson starring in such an anti-hollywoodian and anti-mainstream movie. But it seems that in those years, movie producers where far more brave and maverick than in the last 20 years.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2016
Excellent movie! As other reviewers have noted, this is a stellar performance from Rock Hudson. A most unsettling but engrossing tale which is well worth investing in. Picture quality on my copy of the Blu-Ray, however, is uneven. Whether or not the original print was deliberately sharp in some places and quite grainy in certain scenes, I'm not sure - this may have been intentional or not, I just don't know. Despite this, I heartily endorse the other 5 star reviews. This is a great film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2015
Criterion Collection: Seconds [DVD] [1966] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

From the opening musical score the scene is set. You know immediately what type of journey you are about to embark upon. Yes, you are travelling first class towards an existential nightmare.

This Criterion dvd transfer is excellent. Deep blacks, clean whites along with good contrast. At times it is possible to see every pore on the actors faces and every bead of sweat. There is some noise in low light shots but I think that's normal. I just can't imagine how much more a Blu Ray version could possibly improve on this.

Oh and there is a little booklet that provides lots of insightful info from actors and the wife of the late John Frankenheimer. The artwork is fantastic too.

I can highly recommend this Criterion Collection release.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2015
It's difficult for me to not go overboard for this absolute belter of a wonderful Criterion Bluray, it's stunningly transferred in 4k then remastered in 2k.The soundtrack remastered to English LPCM 1.0 with the whole thing being faultless, especially bearing in mind that this was released in 1966. There's commentary featuring Frankenheimer, interviews with Rock Hudson, Alec Baldwin, Evans Frankenheimer (his widow) and a 1971 interview with John Frankenheimer, essays on the film by scholars R.Barton Palmer and Murray Pomerance.To round it off is a booklet featuring another essay by critic David Sterritt. Apparently Brian Wilson arrived late to the theatre one night in 1966 during recording sessions of Smile and heard "Come in Mr. Wilson ", believing it was all about him he stopped recording sessions for the next few decades. The next time he entered a film theatre was in 1982 to see ' ET the extra terrestrial ' it terrified him so much. What a great cinematic legacy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
Very disturbing film which constantly kept me on edge. I hadn't see the film for many years and whilst it is a bit slow at times it still packs a punch. I won't give away the plot but it helps if you are in the right mood for this type of film as it is not always an easy watch. The black and white cinematography, off kilter camera angles and unsettling music set the scene for a film which you'll certainly remember. Rock Hudson plays a very different role to the ones we're used to and he does a very good job.

The extras put the film in the context of Frankenheimer's previous films and include information of which I was previously unaware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2016
Indeed a disturbing piece of work but one that provokes thought and re-evaluation. The themes and questions posed by this film are to be applauded as they are not mainstream in terms of media projection The questions asked are still very relevant, perhaps more so than when the film was made. The only thing I did not enjoy was some of the gore involved which seemed to have been almost inserted to add a shock factor, for me this actually distracted from the thoughts about the storyline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2018
This is one of those previously overlooked sci-fi classics, but now it has been recognised by the Master of Cinema organisation.
An unhappy businessman has his face restructured into that of Rock Hudson, but while everything is fine at first, it doesn't stay that way.
Can't say more without giving away a gripping plot. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2015
A stunning meditation, based on the novel of the same name by David Ely, of middle age's spiritual and material angst. What if you could leave it all behind and take on a new identity, a new face? It's eerily prescient and subversive of your expectations as Rock Hudson's haunted and sympathetic character Antiochus Wilson tries and ultimately fails to embrace the freedom offered to him. It has an ending so brutal and scary and truthful it haunts me. A classic sadly not more widely recognised and reportedly Rock Hudson's personal favourite role. Heartbreaking too, in view of the way he died.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2014
I first saw this film on TV decades ago and was struck at the oddness of glamorous old Rock Hudson playing this very strange and out of character role. It perhaps hinted at the inner darkness in his own soul - I don't know. It is about an old man who changes himself to regain his youth, but it all ends badly. It has that echo of some of the stranger films that were being produced in the 1960s and this is a dark and in some ways soulless film - but briliant in its way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2018
Brilliant New Hollywood film. Very daring both in its esthetics and narrative, with a acerbic view on consumption society.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)