Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 June 2013
This is what I want from a Lloyd Cole album.
I was highly privileged to be part of a group of select fans who received this early, so I've had a couple of weeks to listen.
It's the strongest A side since Rattlesnakes (remember the Perfect Skin, Rattlesnakes, Forest Fire combo?), with California Earthquake (a cover, rare for Lloyd) kicking things off, and Period Piece, Women's Studies and Myrtle and Rose being VERY strong songs. The latter is now one of my all-time favourites, Lloyd's voice is mature and strong on this. It's a very powerful song.
Side B (do folks still talk about "sides"?) has Blue Like Mars (would easily sit on the Commotions "Mainstream" album in my opinion) and Opposite's Day...the latter is a very contemporary sound in my opinion.
The only thing that lets down the album is the pace... there are some forays into deeper "country" music territory than has been usual for Lloyd, never more apparent than the end of side A ("No Truck").
My HUGE realisation is that this album...well... ROCKS. The energy and vigour is amazing (apparently motivated by Lloyd reviewing Dylan's new album and realising what energy the 72 year old icon still throws out in his albums).
This is a wonderful album, and I'm stunned by it, to be honest...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2013
Haven't listened to a new Lloyd Cole album in years despite having been a massive Commotions fan and a fan of the early solo efforts. Checked this one out in advance of his Autumn tour and was delighted with it.

Musically, I think it's the album he's been aiming for all along, with the fresh rocky pop of the Commotions married with a more US rock sound at times. His voice is still in pretty good nick.

The stand out tracks are Diminished Ex and Period Piece for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2013
This is a great return to form by Cole with all but one song self written and new. It's back to the jangly guitar and organ driven sound of the Commotions era with stirring arrangements to the fore. Those staunch fans who chipped in to help finance this new work have been rewarded with an excellent return. A big thank you goes out to those people from the rest of the Lloyd Cole fans around the World.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2013
I can only agree with the comments of other reviewers - this is an album well worth a listen. As a huge fan of his earlier work, it was well worth the wait to hear this distinctive voice again, it couldn't be anyone else! As you'd expect the lyrics are well crafted, and the songs grow on you with each play. I also bought Broken Record and would definitely recommend both.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
Another great collection of songs from an extraordinary talented artist. If you like his music you won't be disappointed with his latest creative gems. As ever he combines great vocals with top melodies and lyrics to suit. Liked all of the songs after the first listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2013
Every song on this Lp is of a superb 'standard' . I love the vivian westwood shirt you wear - why don't you ever let me wear it. great line - tongue in cheek lyric. hails back to the early 80's where the best shirts were blouses!

There are plenty more lyrics which resonate, are witty, clever and a delight to listen to. The melodies are really strong on each and a testament to the new energy the band format give the songs. I would say this record is better than broken record and for me Lloyd is peaking. Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2013
At a recent live show Lloyd Cole told the audience he'd surprised himself by creating such a loud rock album, in contrast to the more folky style of his solo sets. It's a classic of melodic songs and intelligent words. Track 4, Myrtle and the Rose, is a beautiful account of a doomed relationship (something of a Cole default setting). This characterful set of songs might appeal to fans of Neil Hannon (Divine Comedy).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2013
From the opening salvo California Earthquake to the closing beauty, diminished, this is the best most consistent and valid work this boy has done in years.
If you like Lloyd playing wordsmith and backed by cutting switchblade guitars.
Are you in for a treat.
Bobby Dylan, Lou Reed, Tom Verlaine and the New York scene are all within.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2013
Standards is another stunning masterpiece from Lloyd Cole. He continues to impress as one of today's most gifted lyricists. The music from the unexpected rocker "California Earthquake" to the timeless beauty of "Myrtle and the Rose" leaves this listener captivated. Lloyd has always been able to craft beautifully written, soulfully tender, heartbreaking songs. "The longer you've been gone, the less the longing" is another shining example of how well he can capture images with words. Having been a dedicated fan for well over 30 years, I can honestly say that this is one of his most compelling albums in quite some time. I have yet to find a Lloyd Cole album not worth listening to, but Standards seems to exceed even past gems like Love Story and Rattlesnakes. Do yourself a favor and purchase Standards. You will be glad you did. Thanks Lloyd for giving us more reasons to appreciate the gift of music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2016
The music is very, very good, but the pressing I received is dismal. Constant (and I mean constant) non-fill clicks and tics throughout the side make this virtually unlistenable for me. An LP to file away and never play again. I'll stick to the CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Collection
£5.99
Collected Recordings 1983-1989
£46.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)