Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
Headless In Boston
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 July 2013
So, I took the cellophane off with a bit of trepidation. Was this going to be one of those shoddy sound quality semi-"official bootlegs ? You know the ones where tape quality is dreadful and there is considerable tape hiss.
No , the very good news is that it isn't. The even better news is that it's a superb performance . It's a Boston radio performance from 1982 to promote " The Envoy" album. The band ( John Wood, Randy Brown, Larry Larson , and Joe Daniels) are tighter than a ducks bum and obviously totally engaged with the material. Warren is quite startlingly wonderful and seems to be relatively free of excessive " concert medicine " ( or drugs and alcohol as some people call it ) . He sings some of the songs with a freshness and enthusiasm that would have people thinking he just wrote them . My particular favourites are " Roland the headless Thompson Gunner " , " Lawyers Guns and Money" and a fine version of Springsteen's " Cadillac Ranch" Well worth your ( and my) money
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2016
Wareen Zevon, the best. Discovered late in my life, being now 75. I love his singing, his fun, his thoughtful lyrics. What a loss to those around him and his followers his death must have been. But he lives on through all the great energy of his work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2014
Having listened to this several times, I have no doubt WZ was headless for these performances !!!
All my old favourites are here, and performed fantastically. These concerts must have been great events with the "Buzz" lasting for days.
Totally recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2014
Warren Zevon is a hero to me - what a writer of vivid songs, wildly varied but all believable, wonderful tunes, great backing musicians - and Warren's piano is SO lovely that I hold my breath in Frank and Jesse James when he plays the piano bridge between verses, so that I don't miss one note. Headless in Boston is a super live concert .. he gave 100% of himself it seems, God bless him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2013
I have been looking for some of his old concerts from the 70's and 80's but they are just not so easy to find. Finally, here seems to be something that at least is semi legal. The sound completely acceptable, while the performance is top class! This man is really missed! He was a true original!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2014
Not as wild as some rave reviews would have you believe. If you can get hold of a live radio recording from around the time of Sentimental Hygiene, that would be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
Just listened to this CD and I wish I had attended the concert. The sound is quite good and it appears that the audience enjoyed it as well. A good buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2015
If you are a fan of the man just buy it! If not try it anyway as there are some wonderful versions of studio tracks included here reflecting the energy and drive Warren had. Give yourselves a New Year treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2018
A fine live performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2014
discreet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)