Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2014
Four stories of urban tragedy and decay in London that could be watched and enjoyed out of sequence and individually as filmed, this is exciting and intriguing from the word go.

The first story is about a man who gets beaten to death on a council estate one night and the familial dilemma that ensues. The second is about an illegal Chinese immigrant who gets in trouble with her "owners". The third is about a second generation Caribbean man who is struggling with heroin addiction and losing his daughter and the final one is about a Polish immigrant woman who has to make some difficult choices to pay off a serious debt.

The stories are all subtly connected and reminds me in some ways of Jimmy McGovern's "The Accused", and also has the dark, poetic beauty of "Boys From The Blackstuff."

If social realism and clever storylines are your thing, this is one of the best choices you could make in contemporary TV/Film.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Very raw and emotional. Beautifully shot which gives real atmosphere and dips into a world where survival is all. Olivia Coleman is so
good it is difficult to forget her when the episode concludes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
True, RUN is a difficult watch at times. If you're more interested in watching fluffy bunnies and toffs quaffing Pimm's while punting on the lake, this probably isn't for you. If, however, you're tickled by superbly written (by virtual unknowns), beautifully acted (again, with a supporting cast of unknowns) British drama that is not afraid to show the underbelly of inner city existence, you might want to give RUN a shot.

Olivia Colman is predictably brilliant as Carol, the mother of two teenage boys (played by JJ and Billy Pamphillon) going off the rails, but, for me, it's Lennie James who steals the show, giving a performance of seething desperation that reeks of injustice and pathos.

Fans of Mike Leigh and Ken Loach will find much here to savour.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
It is a fantastically told mini-series which centers around a violent act and the inter connected lives of the people it effected. Brilliantly told and a surprisingly accurate portrayal of London. British talent at its best- Channel Four has done it again Superb Drama.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
“Run” is a Channel 4 television four part series starring Olivia Colman who is probably best known for Broadchurch (we’ll be doing a Broadchurch review later) and Peep Show (a show I watched once and seriously can’t abide.) “Run” is neither of these (thank God) …. The series has been released on DVD by Delta Home Entertainment.

You know those films where you get a sort of cross section of a number of people’s lives and how they all interact with each other in some respect? Only example I can think of off the top of my head is “Love Actually” (apart from that the only thing “Run” has in common with Love Actually is it’s in London) but I guess you know what I mean. Well “Run” is one of those types of dramas. There are four central characters: Carol (Olivia Colman) as a single mother who faces the struggles of caring and protecting her family. Ying (Katie Leung) an illegal immigrant who is basically “ducking and diving” her way to making a living on the streets of London in pursuit of a new life. Kasia (Katharina Schüttler) a Polish immigrant who is struggling to make ends meet and feels she has achieved very little since coming to England. Richard (Lennie James) is a heroin addict in recovery hoping to reunite with his daughter. All four characters have interconnecting points in their relationships, both good and bad.

Based on the streets of London (and I mean more Deptford than Mayfair here) this is “realism” and rather grim, a sort of modern day “kitchen sink” drama but enjoyable to watch and good acting all round. It’s very raw so it’s not for everybody obviously.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This was absolutely superb. Olivia Coleman is at her absolute best as a single mother surviving on the margins of society. For me though, it was the equally brilliant German actress, Katharina Schuttler, who stole the show. I last saw her in 'The Promise'..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I saw this on tv last night. If the first episode is anything to go by, I can't wait to see the rest! I was gripped. The programme was fast paced and totally believable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
Excellent Series, felt more like a series of films, It is a much watch!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
Brilliant, as I expected it to be when I saw the actors listed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Watched all four in a row, excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)