Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2016
What a book again I just couldn't put it down the second book in this series is just as good as the first IF not better .... I know I will have trouble with the third book but only as it is the last in the trilogy and I I don't want the story to end !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Good thrilling read. A few too many diversions to get 5 stars, but that is the author's style. Would get the next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
brilliant trilogy. loved reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
What can I say great pace great story wow.
Not a genre I usually read. But really enjoying this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
The book flows and is written in such a way that its more a film in your mind with the descriptions used.
This would easily rival star wars if this was a film. I await the last book Pax Imperia with bated breath
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
After reading The Last Praetorian, could not wait for The Sunfire to come out. When you have enjoyed the first book, there is always the concern that the sequel will not meet the same level. Not the case here! Very much enjoyed the book. When is the next one???
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
... both of these books and whilst I can't wait for the last in the trilogy, I also don't want the story to end. Loads of action, humour and romance which is pretty much everything I like in a work of fiction.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
The Sun fire picked up where the last Praetorian left off. The story was gripping and absorbing. I felt like I was there with the characters every step of the way

A great ending. I can't wait for book 3!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
This is an excellent book, which I greatly enjoyed.....
However, I was disappointed in the poor attention to the spelling and grammar quite often found throughout the novel.
I was also a bit surprised that in the final chapter it seemed to degenerate into a soft porn novella. There is no requirement for a Science Fiction novel to go to these graphic extremes in the description of two people making love. I hope that this is reflected in the rating of what age group should be allowed to read this, as I would not wish children to read it.
Otherwise a very exciting adventure book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Given that this is only the second book that Mike Smith has written (according to Amazon), I am mightily impressed with it. Following on from the first in this trilogy, also a fine read, the story picks up from where book one finished. It's a sort of mini Star Wars, in that it has a princess, an empire, subterfuge, romance, action, and a hero. Good stuff.

It seems quite often the space opera genre attracts the use of imperial dynasties in order to tell their stories, something I have noticed with this author, Doug Dandridge, David WEber, and others. My theory is that it is easier to identify and bond with an emperor if he is a good guy, and target one if he is a bad guy. Presidents and prime ministers don't seem to have the same aura.

Just a couple of niggles though, which are really down to my taste more than anything else. First of, the number of life and death scrapes that are settled by the flimsiest of margins are a little excessive IMO, and second, the romance/love angle is perhaps a little overplayed, particularly towards the end.

However, a very good and highly recommended read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse