Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
132
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.50


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2013
I love this series of books by Tom Barber and he's written another absolute gem with "One Way".

Sam Archer has just finished some much need exercise in the Gym after being injured in the line of duty a few months earlier, sitting in the sunshine he notices 4 adults & a young girl getting into a car nothing else usual apart from 4 suspicious men approaching the group with fire arms instinctively Archer alerts the group and a shoot out in downtown NYC begins, Archer and the group escape the scene with the gun men hot on there heels. The group are forced to hide out in a Harlem housing block that already houses some of the areas toughest people but when the gun men barricade the only way in or out it turns into a deadly game of cat & mouse.

Will Archer survive well you'll just have to read it to find out but one things sure this is a fantastically written book by an awesome author who if you haven't read any of the previous books in the series, you'll defiantly want too after reading this one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Cracking story. Great characters. Believable plot. Relentless action, superbly drawn. And, as a professional proofreader, I have to note, there were very few mistakes. I usually spot a lot more, and they usually stop me from reading on and have me reaching for the delete button. This is my first Sam Archer read - and it won't be my last. Tom Barber is a seriously accomplished author. Worth mentioning - I did clock early on that he isn't American. Which puts him right up there with Lee Child - an accomplished writer of the American novel but who writes in "proper" English. No disrespect intended to all the truly great American writers - it's just that there are differences which can leap off the page..
James H Jones, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, 30 July 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
Another action-packed, tense Sam Archer story. I'm really enjoying this series. Tom Barber creates characters you feel you know very quickly and care about. He writes in a very visual way which makes the stories intense and exciting. `One Way' swept me along from the beginning, making it hard to put down. If you're looking for a fast-paced, full-on book then I would certainly recommend `One Way'. Looking forward to the next one in the series!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Fast paced and full of action. Kept me gripped to the end. Very well written with a twist in the storyline at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
This is a brilliant book so much action and told really well. They should make a film of it would be really good. Couldn't put it down until it was finished
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
This is the second book I have read by Tom Barber both Sam Archer characters and wow, fast paced on the edge of your seat adventure highly recommend unless you have a heart condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Brilliant stories every book is excellent and exciting from beginning to end A hero who is more rounded and dare I say better than Jack Reacher ,carry on the good work Mr Barber.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Sam Archer series is brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Absolutely gripping story, Read it in 3 sessions as had to find out how it ended.
Sam, a NYPD cop in the anti-terrorist division, gets involved in saving the asses of 4 Marshals from Witness Protection who are moving a 7 year old girl who is to be a prosecution witness after she sees her whole family gunned down in a mob centered slaying. As the unit is suddenly attacked by 5 gunmen in the street, Sam jumps into the battle to help and ends up joining the team as they escape their assailants.
Crashing their vehicle, they take refuge in a tenement building in a run down part of the city and are quickly pursued and trapped in the over 20 storey near-slum housing.
Normally, the cops could have taken the opposition out with their superior fight capabilities and tactics but their is a big problem that comes in the shape of a crack unit of killers who arrive by helicopter onto the top of the building who seem to be intent on making sure the little girl never appears in the witness box. Their follows a deadly game of evasion and killing, moving from floor to floor, apartment to apartment just trying to stay alive until help can reach the.
A big twist in the story that I wasn't expecting, threw a whole new light on siege and the determined search by these new assassins.
A great read that kept me engaged to the very end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
This is the second Tom Barber book that I have read and I thought the last one was really exciting stuff but this one is such a heart stopping, roller coaster ride of a book.

I admire the author's ability to write in such a way as to make you feel that you are there with the 'good guys' and feeling the terror of their predicament. This book gallops along at a pace that leaves you weak and yet unable to put it down - the suspense is draining.

A superb story which I very much enjoyed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse