Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
11
2.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2014
I suspect the writer, director and actor (Todd Verow) started this project with a relatively good story (as an idea). What resulted however, was far from good. My gut instinct is to avoid a movie where the director has so many roles, as I believe they ultimately loose their way.

Granted this was made on extremely small budget, but many an excellent movie have had similar constraints. The sound was at times inaudible, leaving large portions of conversation unheard (I suspect this was due to the camera mike being used). Not that this would have harmed or undermined the movie any further than it did itself, as the scripting left much to be desired. Far too much time was spent on arbitrary, meaningless and fanciful dialogue between the characters, and not enough on establishing those characters and the story. This in turn made the movie far too long, and in my humble opinion could have been better edited.

The acting was perpetually forced, and at times painful to watch. The only credible portrayal was the innocuous drug counsellor, whose nauseating clinical deliberation and counselling attempt would make any addict under her supervision want to stay clean. There was no tangible dynamic between the characters, and it unfortunately shows.

In short there is nothing redeeming about this film, and I am loathed to spend any more time commenting on it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
A grubby film.....
well-acted and interesting structure and strangely compelling but I do not want to see it again. Charity box! (Although I hope some little old lady doesn't buy it from Oxfam!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Somewhere in this agonising train-wreck of a movie there's an interesting idea. But it's explored with such plodding, wooden ineptitude that its impact is rendered impotent.

Tumbledown is 80 minutes long, but it feels much, much longer. I found myself fastforwarding swathes of material where nothing was happening. The acting is stilted, the plot barely moves, and the direction is self-indulgent. There's nothing to redeem this joyless shambles - it's virtually unwatchable.
44 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
If you watch carefully, somewhere in the middle you will spot the single incident that forms the basis of what this movie is all about. The rest of the movie shows the lead up to the moment, the moment and then a series of repeats showing the moment from the perspectives of all the lead characters. It's a well-padded docu-drama that is best viewed with the fast-forward button pushed if you want to avoid the dreary, extended scenes as they walk up the mountain that gives the film its title (no, it's not the one featured in the famous Falklands battle). Wooden characters in a wooden hut playing out a dreadful script. Give it a miss!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Truly awful movie based on a reasonably good idea. The actors ought to be had under the trade descriptions act, they are so wooden. There is no attempt to create any depth of character, merely skim over the usual gay clichés. Thankfully I only rented this as part of my monthly subscription otherwise I would have felt completely ripped off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
I found this film lacked something and even after watching it a second time found the interest level quickly wained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Terrible, awful film but not purchased for quality of film making. Bought for the EPIC gay sex scenes. Or scene. Has to be seen.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Worst story EVER!!! Pathetic!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
arrived safely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£10.99
£5.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)