Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
Mayday
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 December 2017
These ladies deserved wider publicity, get them on tv, go to see them live. Another great album. Well chosen material, great arrangements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
Really love this album, brings back memories of seeing them live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 June 2013
I was wowed by their debut album and have relished seeing them a few times now in live performance and this strong follow up album further consolidates their fine track record to date. These 3 young women have increased in their confidence, brilliant vocal 3 part harmonies are their trademark sound and great strength,at their purest acappella ,sometimes accompanied with a range of interesting subtle and tuneful folk intrumentation including harp,fiddle,banjo,accordion ankle bells and percussive dance. The opening track The Crow on the Cradle blends familiar nursery rhyme and lullaby refrains with a more subtle foreboding message based on the coldwar context it was originally written in to good effect. The track Palaces of Gold written by Leon Rosselson is one of the highlights for me , with sharp and wry thought provoking social commentary in the lyrics about social injustice and upper class advantage, his reaction following the Aberfan disaster , a very special spine tingling performance by the girls. The longest track on the album Lady Maisry,(different spelling from their group name) tells a folk story of unrequited love stullified by social conventions. The one set of tunes Constant Billy/Lie of the Land sees the girls "diddling" in their distinctive scat vocalese style which they have made their own. Their version of a less well known Kate Bush song, This Woman's Work, is another excellent offering from a non folk background for a change, pulled off with some aplomb, giving a female perspective of a womans role around childbirth . The Lady & the Blacksmith tells an excellent story where the blacksmith is after securing a Lady's maidenhead, but in his desperate pursuit gets his come-uppance to good effect, more power to the girls elbow. The Grey Selkie is a magical folklore story with a haunted quality .The production by Andy Bell is fine, keeping the arrangements simple and fresh as you may be lucky enough to see them in live concerts, with one or two subtle embellishments on the intro or fadeout of tracks.Overall an excellent second album which sees the girls going from strenth to strength ,well done,a fine follow up offering .
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 June 2013
Gosh, this is good! I missed Lady Maisery's first album but I'm very glad I've caught up with them now. This is a remarkable album of really enjoyable music which is also full of passion, originality and political commitment.

The material is a mixture of traditional and new songs, all of which are excellent and beautifully performed. Instrumentation is restrained, well played and varied but the real point of Lady Maisery's music is their vocal performance. They sing wonderfully together in three part harmony producing a fabulous sound with some original harmonies. There's nothing clashingly harsh, but there is some innovative stuff here and the effect is terrific, really giving the songs depth and meaning. It's extremely impressive stuff.

All the songs have a traditional feel and style, even new and radical ones like the brilliant Palaces Of Gold, an a capella denunciation of social inequality. The whole album is a quality performance with real substance and genuine musical merit, as well as being a thoroughly enjoyable listen.

It is over 40 years since I began going to smoky folk clubs, dancing the Morris and so on. I drifted away from English folk music for a long time but have begun to return and am delighted to find it in the hands of so many excellent women. Maddy Prior, for example, is still making great albums 3 For Joy, people like the Unthanks are doing wonders to keep the traditions alive and a fabulous crop of women are producing things like Laylam Laylam and this album. It does a grumpy old git's heart good to see such quality and this album is among the best of it. Very warmly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2013
These three young musicians are brilliant representatives of the English folk music scene. It's so heartening to hear traditional music performed with such skill and creating such a beautiful sound! You'll never get bored of listening to those harmonies! Nice work Lady Maisery
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2013
This album is fantastic, and an impressive follow-up to the debut Weave & Spin. It's polished, intelligent, and beautifully crafted through and through. The sound is somehow bigger, the undercurrents darker, and the diddling diddlier, than the first album, but the magic ingredient, the spell-binding combination of those three unique and beautiful voices is as powerful as ever, backed up to subtle perfection with their impressive array of instruments (accordion, violin, harp, banjo and more).

From the sweetly menacing Crow on the Cradle to the gorgeous Kate Bush cover This Woman's Work, to the infectious diddle of Constant Billy/Lie of the Land, this is a gem of pure brilliance from start to finish. Highly recommended on so many levels. Play the clips, you'll see what I mean.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Unusual, bewitching, authentic, charming sound from a trio of troubadours. Look out for their tours - an absolute delight to see and hear live.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2013
I love this group. I thought the 1st record was good but this is even better. Absolutely lovely vocal harmonies and great playing as on the 1st record but some serious human and political comment here. Oh, and the version of Leon Rosselson's genius Palaces of Gold...stunning, absolutely stunning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2014
I saw these ladies at a festival last year, and purchased this and their other CD. The two are fairly similar, with this one just edging it as my favourite, with the opening song, the Crow on the Cradle, probably being the one which swings it for me. The recording captures their voices nicely, and the harmonies are spot-on. Style-wise, the songs are traditional folk, a bit like the Unthanks, but the voices are very much to the fore with instruments either absent or fairly low in the mix. I would give it 5 stars. but the title song goes on a bit too long for my liking and gets repetitive, so I tend to hit the skip button when it comes on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2016
My favourite folk singers - these female singers have fantastic voices and harmonise so well. If you like folk then this is the album for you. This is a mixture of traditional and new songs, all of which are excellent and professionally performed. The whole album (as with all of theirs) is a quality performance and thoroughly enjoyable to listen to - again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Cycle
£10.99
Songs Of Separation
£9.99
Jigdoll
£13.58
Alterum
£7.98
Already Home
£12.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)