Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
99
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2017
A serious subject of life and death viewed by an expert in saving life. Each encounter told so well, it was visually possible to be there as well. Told with brutal honesty, no trying to hide the negatives of helicopter critical care.
I recommend this highly. It is not too full of medical jargon to loose the gist of the problems facing the crew. Superb read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
So many recollections either get bogged down by too much detail, or have humour that is likely much funnier for those participating.
This book is a light-hearted but informative insight into life in a Helicopter Emergency Medical Service outfit in the early days of the concept, which takes you right into the heart of the team.
It is hard to imagine a more informative account of the trials and tribulations of bringing expert trauma services right to where they're needed most, all written in a self-deprecating style that makes you wish the book was three times the length.
Outstanding!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Brill!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Perhaps not the best flow or grammar at all times, but wonderful insight into an amazing life. Tony also doesn't patronize the reader in his medical detail. Definitely worth reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Great easy ready. With some laughs thrown in for good measure. Also intersting to hear that side of the story and the pressures their under.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
This guy has more compassion for his aircraft than people and talks relentlessly about the mundane duties he performs without seemingly any care or thought to the people he treats. Great if you love helicopters...... crap if you are interested in a doctor's job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Read this book and learned a lot and laughed until I cried. Sure some of the humour is a little dark but the ability to see the funny side of life's difficult stressful moments is a wonderful talent and a terrific aid to putting your own life in perspective. I thoroughly recommend this book which could be used as a fund-raising aid for those great guys and girls who make up the Helicopter Emergency Medical Service.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Usually a big fan of the 'confessions' series - this was very boring. Too much talk about the helicopters and not enough accounts of patient treating. I had to give up over half way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I think you either like `slice of life' books of you don't. I must admit I enjoy them because they give me an insight into other people's jobs. I've read many books giving an insight into aspects of the medical profession and this is the first one I've read about the air ambulance service and I found it fascinating reading. It also made me count my blessings and realise how quickly one's life can change because of an accident.

Air ambulances by definition attend the most difficult and serious cases so here we read about some horrendous injuries and of course some of the patients didn't live to tell the tale. Sending doctors out with the air ambulance increases survival rates because they can carry out such procedures as giving anaesthetics which makes it possible for some treatments to be carried out at the scene rather than delayed until the patient reaches hospital.

I really got a good idea of how important team spirit is in such extreme situations and how the whole team - pilots as well as medical staff - needed to work well together. Some of the incidents were truly hair-raising - landing the helicopter on the side of a hill or in the fast lane on the motorway for example. Fortunately both helicopter and staff survived those experiences.

I felt I really got a sense of why the staff do the jobs they do - being able to help people and also getting a huge adrenaline rush from the flying and the traumatic situations they were involved in. Some might say the helping people should come first but I also think enjoying your job makes for a better job done. If you want to know what it's like being part of an air ambulance team then read this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)