Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 September 2016
Alan Moore doing his thing. Good condition for second hand and great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2009
For me this is all our yesterdays - before the name Alan Moore was of significance. I just absorbed all of the familiar sights and sounds of my 2000 A.D. youth - and recognised a few story lines I have come back to see elsewhere.

I don't know if it's an essential look at the author's early work or a key stone to any Moore collection, but it is fun with some great and some quaint and cheesy old sci-fi stories.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2010
This and Watchmen are my favorite graphic novels, both of course by Alan Moore. This is a series of sci-fi short stories with fantastic artwork and storylines. A really enjoyable read I think it is a must for everyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2010
An entertaining collection of very short stories with a twist in them.
Virtually all of them are funny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2010
Well I never ever ever do reviews I'm just your average internet lurker. So it must really be an extraordinary work to get me off my bottom and extoll the virtues of this book. If you love twilight zone then you will love this book. Each and evey story is a gem and I have just ordered this for a friend. Do yourself a favor and buy this NOW!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2009
This is a great compilation of stories from an amazing writer. All his work is very enjoyable to read, watchmen being the most talked about. Read and Enjoy this, I did and will again... :c)
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2012
fabulous - I remember reading some of these in the 80's in 2000AD. Bought a mis-spent youth back very vividly. Really good loo material - not for wiping but for reading in those precious 5 minutes of peace when no one can bother you - well unless they bang on the door! BUT you can always ignore them and read another future shock!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2009
The best introduction to Alan Moore's inventiveness - bar none.

From the fully-realised humourous story of the science fiction poem 'Lobelia Cloam' to the man who lived life backwards to the school for super-villains, there is something for everyone here. Something, but in fact, quite a lot, if like me you have been hooked on comics and science fiction throughout adulthood.

As an example of a classic story uniquely realised, see the 'idea as contagion' storyline - a great theme exquisitely topped off by the twist at the end of the tale. If this were personalised it would be a great storyline for movie or book.

'Lobelia Cloam' shows the same mastery. Be thinking 'Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy', as a poem. The closest example I can think of is John Cooper Clarke's 'I Married a Monster from Outer Space' (with that all-time great put-down, when C-C observes the small-minded onlooker: "It's bad enough with another race - but fook me! a monster from outer space!")

School for Supervillains is a similarly well-executed nice idea. You've got to wonder about where those endless lackey's come from that are the essential cannon-fodder at the villain's island fortress. Well, here's the recruitment advertisement for them: good pay; excellent prospects; must have own insurance.

The most subversive story is the Man who Lives his Life Backwards. Again, another blockbuster theme explored simply and economically to leave an indelible memory. The theme is explored elsewhere by eg Harlan Ellison as thriller but not as here. It is difficult to see this story working as well in anything other than the graphic medium.

The only disappointment is the book cover. What on earth were they thinking with a (cheap) detective inference? For my money, this collection beats Watchmen and Swamp Thing and V - the last thing it needs is unederrating...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
Very badly scanned and almost unreadable. Takes up only small part of page and impossible to zoom. There is a kind of frame view to blow up individual panels but it works so slowly and crudely it is more trouble than it's worth. Can't imagine how this got released in its current state.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2016
the spanish version has 203 pages, this has 128.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/8492534095/ref=pd_luc_rh_sbs_03_03_t_img_lh?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse