Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
295
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2005
The Mad Max films are fantasic post-apocalyptic movies, Mad Max 2 being the best by far. However, the versions presented on this box set are butchered travesties. The version of Mad Max is the dubbed American version which is unwatchable due to the terrible dubbed American voices, it completely ruins the film. Mad Max 2 is also the American version - which is renamed The Road Warrior. This one is not dubbed but has had several scenes of dialogue edited out and other little trims here and there. Only Thunderdome appears to be the proper full length original version. Also, there are no extras at all on any of the films. If you are a fan of these films I strongly advise you to avoid purchasing this box set as you will only be disappointed. Hopefully one day we will get a proper release of these films in their original unedited forms with some decent extras.
44 comments| 250 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Do not buy this boxset, the films are basically stripped down, censored VHS transfers in terrible cheap packaging. They have no extras and are not worth £1. Warner Bros have released a Special Edition Region 1 version of Mad Max which is brilliant. Ironic that they haven't released it here considering it was the americans who overdubbed it in the first place! Mad Max 2 and 3 have yet to be released in special edition form anywhere in the world. Absolutely shocking stuff considering some of the rubbish that gets multiple releases. Vote with yer wallets.
0Comment| 176 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
Despite a few reviews here insisting that this 3 disc set contains the uncut version of the films, I would like to offer my advice to the contrary.

If you're a fan of these films and Mad Max 2 in particular (by far the best of the three) you WILL be disappointed with this set. The opening credits confirmed my worst fears. Mad Max 2 becomes "The Road Warrior". Oh dear, this can only mean one thing: an American 'R' rating and a few cut scenes. Well sure enough, I was right. Those who are familiar with this film will spot the shortened scene where Wez extracts an arrow from his arm and where the boomerang hits his partner's head! What happened to the scene where he removes the boomerang? I'm sure there are others too!

Why can't an adult UK audience be allowed to watch on DVD, a non sanitised version of a film that they've seen countless times before authorised for all previous UK theatrical, TV and video screenings? The film was never cut here in the first place (somewhat amazingly).

***** for Mad Max 2, no stars for Warner Brothers. I shall return my set and wait another 20 years for a decent release to come along. How desperately disappointing.
11 comment| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2009
Mad Max: For some reason, someone felt it necessary to dub Mad Max from its original Australian English to...American English (why I will never know) but the good news is, though the 'English' soundtrack is the americanised version, the original Australian audio is also included. Australians do not speak with American accents, so please watch the Australian version.

Mad Max 2/ The Road Warrior: The standalone region 2 DVD only gives a 87 minute cut-down, censored version of the film. We're obviously not good enough in europe for the full film. However this boxset contains the full, 91 minute film in its entirity (its slightly shorter than 95 minutes due to PAL speedup, but its all there) Censorship ruins films, brilliant chase scenes

Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome: In my opinion this is the weakest of the three films, drawing several plot elements from The Road Warrior, but without the same full-throttle pace of its predecessor. It's still a good action film though, and its worth getting to complete the set.

So in all, here you get the full, uncensored versions of all three films, and annoying American dubbing is either non-existant or can be turned off. If you're not bothered about extras (there aren't any) but want the full set of Mad Max films, get this boxset.
77 comments| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Audio:
Dolby 1.0: French, German, Italian, Castilian, Latin Spanish, Brazilian, Czech, Hungarian, Polish, Russian
Mad Max I: DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 English; Dolby 5.1 Original Australian
Mad Max II and III: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 English

Subtitles:
English, French, Italian, German, Castilian, Latin Spanish, Arabic, Croatian, Chinese, Czech, Brazilian, Dutch, Finnish, Korean, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovenian, Swedish, Thai, Turkish
Mad Max I and III: Danish, Icelandic
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
The following Audio languages are available on the three movie discs (Mad Max Collection and Limited Trilogy with petrol can packaging, BluRay):
- Original Australian English (only Mad Max 1)
- English Dubbed (only Mad Max 1) / English for Mad MAX 2 & 3
- Francais
- Deutsch
- Italiano
- Espanol - Castellano & Latino
- Portugues
- Casky
- Magyar
- Polski

Additional a quantity of subtitle languages (for impaired people) are availbale... for example:
English, Francais, Deutsch, Italiono, Espanol - Castellano & Latino, Nederlands, Portugues ... and a lot more !!! So many that I can't state them all idividually!
33 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
The first two films are post-apocalyptic action classics. Violent cartoonish fantasies that made an International star out of Mel Gibson who stars as charismatic antihero Max.

The third film was aimed more at Hollywood and suffered from quirky humour and a subplot concerning a bunch of feral children that spoils the overall tone of the film. Still the thunderdome scenes are good and the climactic chase scene is on a par with the action if the first two films.

The UK blu-ray set contains three standard keepcases in a card case (similar to to Spaghetti Western Trilogy packaging). Each blu-ray is region free.

Mad Max looks and sounds excellent. You have a choice of the original Australian audio track or American dubbed version, along with optional subtitles. Only extras is a trailer. This is a shame as the disc in the US boxset contains a commentary and featurette, but is region A locked (though discs 2 and 3 in the US set are region free).

Mad Max 2 is the same print as used in the previous standalone blu release. IE very nice picture and audio (optional subtitles) and uncut. Although the new cover refers to the film as The Road Warrior (as opposed to Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior on the standalone cover), the onscreen title remains Mad Max 2. Extras are same as standalone release: commentary, trailer, Leonard Matlin intro.

Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome looks and sounds just as good as the other two. Yes it has optional subtitles. Only extra is a trailer.

I give the trilogy 4 out of 5 overall, and this set 3 out of 5 overall because the films look nice and its good to see them all on blu-ray, but they deserve a better package in terms of extras.

All three discs are region free.
11 comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
Mad Max was a groundbreaking film that heralded the arrival of a nw superstar Mel Gibson. Twenty years later, this very actor became the No. 1 most powerful person on Forbe's powerlist. BUT PLEASE BE WARNED....This DVD trilogy package does not do render justice to the cinema versions. Over censored, needlessly dubbed and the icing on this tasteless cake...no extras.

AVOID !!!
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
I'm a pretty big fan of the original Mad Max trilogy - the lowish rating is more for the quality of the release rather than the films themselves. The first film Mad Max looks ok but the original australian audio track is of low quality with dialogue being drowned out at times and just generally sounding pretty weak - I will be replacing this with the original USA Blu Ray which is supposed to have a better quality audio representation of the original audio. Mad Max 2 - This looks and sounds good however the colour timing is very different from the version I grew up with in the 80s - the post apocalyptic desert red look has been replaced by a more naturalistic colour scheme but it still works well and this is a good disk. Thunderdome for me I was not able to watch this as the colour scheme is so drastically different from the version I grew up with on video & DVD - the look is far too harsh with a lot of clipped whites. There are scenes which used to have blue skies which are now white - I used to like the mellow look of this film but this doesn't reproduce that feeling at all. Also much as I used to love it, skipping through the disk made me realise how much the film has dated - much more so that the first 2 in the series. This webpage gives you a good comparison of the differences in the thunderdome colourscheme - http://www.caps-a-holic.com/hd_vergleiche/multi_comparison.php?disc1=2449&disc2=2450&hd_multiID=472#auswahl
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
I bought this in the run up to watching Fury Road as i haven't seen them for many years, classic trilogy and some of the best Australian films ever made. The only problem is that Mad Max and Mad Max 2 Road Warrior have to have there language options changed for the orginal Ausie audio as the americans struggle with a slight accent so had to dub over the entire film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse