Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 December 2013
I don't know where to begin, but it was not a pleasure to read. Maybe I'm being a little harsh, but I don't think the authors mother language was English, or perhaps it was written as how Romans might speak and reflect in English?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2016
great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
A good start to a good series. I will be getting the next installmest in time. A very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2014
Not a bad book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2017
More of a history lesson than a story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2014
tHE LANGUAGE IS STILTED AND THE DIALOGUE POOR. The historical detail poorly explained. Not terribly accurate depiction of legionnary life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2014
Nothing special and a rather unlikely story-line. Is it credible that a young, untested soldier would be the guard to an army delegation or 'promoted' so soon to the front rank of the First Cohort after only one minor skirmish?

I quite liked the style of writing and particularly the informative background notes, but very surprised at how short was the book and how quickly I came to the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2013
Very similar to another writer but without any meat in it, very short as well, it even made reference to some of the other writers lines
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2013
It's all very much a question of personal taste by I found the writing style to be very archaic (reads like it was written in the Victorian era) and the plot development to be weak. I gave up just over half way through. If you're interested in entertaining fiction from this period of history then in my opinion you would be much better off considering alternatives titles or book series which are available from Amazon such as 'Marius Mules', or 'Marching with Caesar' or indeed anything written by Simon Scarrow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2014
I love books on Roman legions rampaging through different countries and ages. Not for me those dull, cold and factual reference books, this is the real deal. A look into history as seen by Adam Nichols imagination and a few hard facts had me sitting up half the night fast reading to see what happens in the next chapter and then not stopping but onto the next chapter. An excellent read if you like a good fictional adventure set in the great days of Rome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse