Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
77
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2014
I got this book to compliment a nutrition course I was taking and found out there is a lot more to the book than I expected. It explains why the nutrition industry functions as it does and why facts about nutrition are presented to us the way they are. Strongly enough,it's all down to money.

It has changed the way I think about nutrition and the health-care system. A very important book, in my opinion.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Change your life – change your health.

Then rage against the machine that put you there – the capitalist machine, the big companies of this world who only serve themselves and their financial interests at the expense of OUR health
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Colin

Colin Campbell, author of the China Study, ( where he presented the undeniable evidence for the benefits to health of a whole food plant based diet ) here presents an in depth argument of why and how the information has been largely kept from the public. Your blood pressure will rise as it is revealed how time after time the interests of the food industry, government, big pharma, the medical establishment and even nutritional researchers have been given priority over the publics right to have access to the latest research which would enable them to take control of their own health
If your blood pressure goes too high then you need to go on a plant based butrition plan.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
A very clear and informative follow up to the China Study, a book which already has changed my life. Thoughtful and well structured arguments that clarify and simplify the reasons for an approach to life as a whole person rather than a series of disconnected parts. As a medical doctor of 38yrs experience I have been given ways to help others find a cure to ailments, something that conventional medicine cannot offer. Thank you
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Having read 'the China Project' I downloaded this - It's informative, well written and is scientific however written so we can all understand! I love Colin Campbell, he's an inspiration and is doing what he believes is right even when he ups the anti to the establishment! You won't be disappointed with this read however be prepared for your eating habits to be changed for life! Thanks Doc, another brilliant book!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
As a fan of The China Study, I could not wait to read Whole. And it did not disappoint! Thorough, informative and highly interesting. A must-have for anyone who wants to live healthy!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
I came across Dr. Campbell's 'The China Study' and then read 'Whole'. Both books have the ability to change your life, or rather, SAVE your life. There is mind-blowing information here that will never reach the general public via the governments, nor the so-called 'health' industry, because it goes against everything that we've been taught and doesn't make anyone rich.
I honestly thought that I knew a lot about nutrition and I was convinced that my lacto-vegetarian diet was healthy.
Then I read these books.
Thank you, Dr. Campbell.
You deserve a Nobel Prize.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
This book should be read by anyone interested in health matters. Campbell shows us why the simple ways of avoiding and recovering from illness will be very slow to be accepted by mainstream medics, partly because mostly the solutions are in our own hands.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Excellent follow up to the China Study - although you really need to read the China Study first, Whole would not stand so well on its own.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Professor Campbell's China Study was a most useful read so when this book was published I wanted to follow up on the issues surrounding Prof Campbell's philosophy. I wholly applaud the thinking - makes such a lot of sense as a lifestyle choice to become vegan. Good for health and a wise environmental choice too. No-one seems to take on board that consuming dairy products is so illogical. Cows' milk is the perfect food - for baby cows. Contains the goodies to make large baby mammals grow very quickly into very big animals. Not suitable ingredients for human babies who grow from tiny infants.slowly over many years into people sized humans. No-one(normally) goes up to a cow in a field and suckles from her udder - why do it from a bottle that has been whizzed up (to homogenise the fat content), rapidly heated and cooled (pasteurised) to kill some but not all of the bugs it might contain, extracted from a cow whilst she might be passing dung, transferred into a plastic bottle, wrapped up in a crate whizzed around a warehouse , then around the country on a lorry, then stored on supermarket shelves, then possibly frozen at home, then defrosted - and you think it is good for you?. Quite apart from the health aspects, the environmental downside of dairy farming is hideous and as for the animal welfare issues? New baby calves taken from their mothers on day one (so that the milk can be made available for humans) leading to stress for both cow and calf, heifer calves (females) being grown on to suffer the same hard life as their others and the males either crated up in the dark to be eaten as veal or shot as economically useless. An allowable amount of pus in every litre of milk is officially permissable and antibiotic residue is often present as well. Many cows suffer from mastitis (infected udders from where the milk ids drawn by machine) and lameness from the heavily swollen udders having been made to produce (by hormonal and artificial growth factor drugs) much more than they would naturally produce. The dairy industry engages in some very clever marketing designed to make consumers think milk is a good idea - but it is plain daft! I hated being made to drink it at school, frequently rancid and, in a third of a pint bottle sitting in an open crate piled up outside the school building, it was often not very clean and certainly really horrible. Professor Campbell's books are convincing because they are based not only on proven science but because they contain a lot of common sense and they highlight the industry skullduggery as well. Worth a read if you are interested in such things. I recommend both this book and its predecessor the China Study.
33 comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)