Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
False Idols
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 28 May 2013
Even though a few of Tricky's albums have been somewhat mediocre I have still bought everything
he has released. I always find something I like on them, an odd spark of genius, even if it's
just a song or three. Like the brilliant "Broken Homes from "Angels With Dirty Faces", "Every Day",
"Early Bird" and "Murder Weapon" from "Mixed Race", the voodoo funk of "Anti Histamine"(From the
"Broken Homes" single), "Smoking Beagles"(collaboration with Sub Sub)and the sad, hypnotic groove
of "Poems" from "Nearly God", an immensely beautiful song.

He will never top "Maxinquaye", an absolute classic and one of very few trip-hop albums that will
be remembered as original, influential and deeply affecting. Maybe it's a bit unfair to compare
everything he has done since 95 to the incredible sounds of his first album, but "Maxinquaye"
set the standard, a potent blend of social commentary, paranoia, melancholy and sexual tension.

The follow up, "Pre-Millennium Tension" is the closest he has come. There are quite a few great
songs on it, especially "Christiansands" and "Makes Me Wanna Die. It's also his darkest, most
claustrophobic album, and will be too weird for some.

"False idols" is one of his most even albums and is a welcome return to form. It has few real flaws,
but it's still somewhat of a frustrating listen. It contains A LOT of good songs, but I think it lacks
the standout songs that stand comparison to his best work, and the production, spare and elegant as it
is, is a little too unruffled and repetitive to make a lasting impression. I see there have been quite
a few 5 star reviews for "False idols" and I have a lot of affection for Tricky, but to say it's just
as good as "Maxinquaye" is a sentiment I don't understand. Only if you prefer trip-hop with smoother,
less inventive beats than those on "Maxinquaye".

Best songs: Nothing Matters, Bonnie & Clyde, Nothing's changed(A reworking of Makes Me Wanna Die),
Valentine and If Only I Knew.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2015
Dodax sent me two copies of this album on vinyl and unfortunately both had quite serious faults but as usual the matter was resolved very promptly with a refund. It was a great pity and very annoying because the album itself is excellent coupled with superb sound quality but ruined by 'crackling' surface noise running through a lot of it. The fact that the vinyl version comes with the entire album on CD whould have been a bonus but I had already bought it separately some time ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2013
Tricky is back. Many people are of the belief that Tricky has not made a decent album since the millennium which is something that has to be disputed, what cannot be disputed is no album has created that buzz of originality that his debut album Maxinquaye saw, since. False Idols is certainly the first album of the noughties which will undoubtedly connect with those who loved Maxinquaye but were put off by his lack of creatve control and new direction in recent years. Not to say it is Maxinquaye. This after all is an album made almost 20 years later, rather it is one that reinvents Tricky as a relevant artist. New artist Fifi Rong makes fleeting appearances but with each one brings out a new level to the album, and Francesca Belmonte feels at home over the gritty, tribal beats. With this album Tricky is back where he is best, doing what he likes, full creative control, making music he loves. Skulking in the background of the music, letting his record label signings complete the jigsaw
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2014
Tricky has always been on the cusp of greatness, for those who know his work, he has long been there, ready to take hold of his place in the light. If you don't know what he's about then it can be difficult to get into. Unless you put on this album, turn the volume up, sit back and simply enjoy.

'Nothing Matters' is one of the standouts along with the brilliant 'Parenthesis' and the numbing 'Tribal Drums'. 'Nothing's Changed' is another standout In an album that deserves to gain more recognition that it has.

Superb and a real delight for music lovers of all genres.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2013
I've followed Tricky from Maxinequaye through to his latest. There's been highs and lows throughout his career. Of late, he's been back on form and this is a further step forward following the really rather good Knowle West Boy.

There's a familiar feel to the sounds on this, particularly the percussive beats of Valentine, with echoes of Poems from Nearly God.

Tricky has borrowed and covered songs many times, this is no exception with excerpts of Patti Smith's version of Gloria on the opener Somebody's Sins. He even pics out lyrics from his own back catalogue.

If you've liked Tricky in the past, buy this, you won't regret it. I'd also recommend seeing him live, but that's another review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2013
So hipnotic that I love it. Don't know why. It's not a work of art but it is like a virus. You start listening to it and you can hardly stop. It's a constant wave, making you travel on a calm sea in the night and even if he sings "Nothing's changed", something is changing. A complete world full of art and artists; I never imagined I could have found Chet Baker, Van Morrison, David Sylvian, Japan.... in this record. I love it, but I still don't know why. The virus I had in the 90's never died.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2014
I love Tricky when he's growling along in the dirty muck of albums like PreMillenium Tension. This album seems to swerve from those type of songs when he and/or Francesca Belmonte sings but then gets a bit MOR when Fifi Rong takes over the singing. The sample from Japan's Ghosts is totally wasted and does nothing for a fairly weak song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2016
As usual, a high quality album from the ever dependable Tricky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2013
All i can say is "thanks Tricky" for writing and releasing such a fantastic CD. Love EVERYTHING you have done, but this is a real treasure that you should be proud of. Saw him recently at the Heaven, London venue, promoting this CD where he was on stage for 2 hours 20 minutes and was reluctant to leave the stage! Brilliant on stage and fantastic on CD!!! Love this - it is up there!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2016
Dense and dark tones, Tricky never disappoints but often challenges
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

ununiform [Explicit]

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)