Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
47
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 July 2014
I can't agree with other reviewers who enthuse over the quality of this set. When I first felt the overall weight on delivery I thought that perhaps the pieces weren't included - it really was that light. I guess my point is don't expect a chess set of any substance.

But that aside, this set does provide decent value for money, the pieces are of good enough size, as is the board. I'd certainly recommend this as a starter chess set and also as an ideal full sized travel set due to it's light weight construction and it being able to fold in half for storage.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Lovely Chess Set. Workmanship is fair and feels good to touch.Bought this as a gift for my brother in law.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
This is a very nice set of chess for a great price. It was a fantastic present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Great chess set, looks as it is in the picture. Decent quality for a good price, I would recommend for a gift, seems hard-wearing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
this chess set was of a very good quality and it was at a very good price I would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
bought for my grandson for xmas. His face was a picture when he opened it.
Very nice board. Good value for the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Those wanting a top quality chess set (pieces and board) should look elsewhere. Those wanting a decent size, usable travel set of acceptable quality for a very reasonable price could do far worse than buy this set.

As others have noted, it isn't heavy. But, honestly, did you really expect ebony and ivory for the amount this costs? One things's for sure, it's a darn site more pleasurable using this set than one with plastic pieces and a cardboard board.

The styling of the pieces is a like-it-or-loathe-it affair. If I have one criticism in this respect, it''s that the board and it's lettering doesn't really complement the pieces. But that's being picky. For this price, the fact that the board is wooden, folds, and has tailored spaces to house the pieces when travelling is enough to recommend it.

Don't buy this if you want to use it as a centrepiece on a room setting. But give it serious thought if you want a travel set which isn't too small for full-size fingers, or a set to have beside you while you're learning or studying classic games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
My daughter has just started to play chess and she loves her new board. Great Easter present for her. Thank you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
This is a nice little chess board bought for a Father's Day gift. I love that it stores the pieces so you can take it anywhere without loosing anything. I would recommend this board as a general board for play, not so much as a decorative item, I'd invest more wonga for something a little more special for a decorative board.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Very good quality chess. Not too big so ideal fro home playing with my 7 year old. Nice place to keep the figures secure and tidy. Design not too old fashioned and not too abstract/fancy. Arrived promptly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)