Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2013
A great first novel in the classical crime tradition. Well plotted and researched, with credible characters. There are plenty of twists and turns on the way to a dramatic conclusion, where the outcome is revealed. Dr Jeannette Shaw makes a strong central character and hopefully she will reappear in future Matthew Broadbent novels.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
What better way to pass a cold, wet Sunday than snuggled up in front of a warm fire engrossed in a murder mystery. This story certainly held my attention from the first page to the last. I hope it is not long before Dr Jeannette Shaw makes another appearance.
Dizzy Dilemmas
Blood Cries Afar: The Forgotten Invasion of England 1216
Lizzie the Wizzie and the Deadly Voodoo Tattoo
A Seven Year Hitch
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
The boy from Colombo stood no chance in life. He witnesses something he should not have seen, and it destroys his life.

Meanwhile, Dr Jeanette Shaw, a tough cookie if ever there was one, witnesses a robbery in a London computer store and it also changes her life.

Bizarrely, the two seemingly unconnected events are linked, and Dr Shaw finds that she is involved in solving the mystery. She is brought in by her ex-husband, a police officer, to work on the case and finds that she enjoys it very much as she has always wanted to hold an Hercule Poirot final revelatory scene. Will she get to live her fantasy?

What part, if any, do the rich family of a dead woman have to play in her death, and how are they linked to the Boy from Colombo?

This is a real teaser of a story. I didn't guess the ending and was kept hanging on in delightful suspense. A very enjoyable book, and well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
A fabulous first novel. Well crafted with loads of suspense. I hope this is the first of many and thoroughly recommend it to all murder mystery fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
As a real fan of murder/mystery books, I really enjoyed this one. You can see the AC influence. Well worth the read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I downloaded this because of the 5 star reviews and, after reading it, was left very disappointed.

Almost "it was The Butler, in The Library, with the Candle stick" (it wasn't) but the narrative is poor with over-exaggerated descriptions, highly improbable events (throw a mobile phone from some distance with such force and pinpoint accuracy sufficient to disable an armed thief??) and concludes with annoying loose ends (one of the main characters does not even get a mention).

Also my Kindle version had spelling mistakes (which are probably not the fault of the author) but I find that very annoying.

Sorry. Not for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
The cover might have put me off buying this, but it was a gripping and well written story, full of interesting characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
The book story is very well written, the plot is very good. When you start reading it you can't stop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
I can't believe I persisted with this story. Masochism, maybe. Apart from spelling and grammar mistakes, the characters are totally unbelievable and the plot not much better. The Poirot-style ending, the over-the -top use of language suggests that proper editing was not a priority in this story's construction. Only got one star because I can't give it one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I bought this because I know the City of Colombo; unfortunately, there is nothing about Colombo in the story. Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here