Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2014
This is quite a good book, but it is flawed in that it is too long, discursive and repetitive. It gives an interesting picture of the Mossad, but often strays off topic. Apart from Israeli and Arab leaders, the cast includes George W Bush, Tony Blair, Vladimir Putin, Robert Maxwell, Condoleezza Rice and many others. Even Jeffrey Archer gets a mention. There's plenty of conspiracy theory and various incidents are looked into in great detail: Lillehammer, Entebbe, the death of Princess Diana (twice), the attempted assassination of John Paul II, the Gulf Wars, the capture of Saddam Hussein, 9/11, the London tube bombings and the Bali bomb, for example. In many of these, Mossad was just a bit player. The book was written before the assassination of Osama bin Laden, but in time for the author to refer to the "monumental mistake(s)" of Bush and Blair.

Inevitably there are flaws. We are told that David Kimche left Oxford University with a Social Science degree in 1968, but not only would he have been thirty or more probably forty at the time, but also Oxford did not have such a degree then. In addition, we are told that he then joined Mossad, but a few pages later that turns out to have been "in the early sixties". Also, the attempted assassination of John Paul II is given a date of May 1981, but a few pages later there is a reference to "only three months before, in February 1983". And he gets the date of the collapse of the Berlin Wall wrong too (a year early).

This is a pity, because the author appears to have done a great amount of detailed research in order to produce a long, interesting and worthy volume. But he is prone to name dropping, and there even seems to be a tendency to self indulgence.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
I am sorry to say but very sloppy work. I can accept typos but not the same mistakes repeating themselves .
-The author still doesn't know the first name of the president of Syria , it is Bachar not Bashir! How many times did he repeat that error.
-The F-151 doesn't exist , it is an F-15I (the author repeated that mistake several times so it is not a typo) .
-the worse mistake of all: -The Israeli withdrawal from Lebanon was in May 2000 not May 2002!

Please give me back my money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Excellent, gratifying, frightening, amazing, truly eye opening. The accounts, though real, kept me gripped like a fantastic novel. My respect for the author and Mossad. Long live the fighters of Justice. May there be peace for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
The press reviews cited for this book are uniformly positive and I found that the first 450 or so pages were an easy read. At times I did wonder if I had missed something- for example the opening story about Princess Diana seemed to have nothing much to do with Mossad at all, and on other occasions the author laboured the story with description and history to the point where he left the story in mid-air, unresolved. With any book of this kind it would be difficult to tell what is truly true and what has been planted by disaffected parties or is pure fiction. There is no supporting documentation although the author frequently tries to remedy this by citing anonymous personal source in a personal communication - this becomes tedious and contributes little to the credibility. The book is actually 670 pages long, the last 220 pages appearing to be an addendum to an earlier addition. This sections reads as a cut and paste job on a home computer that went straight to press, and was so appallingly written that in the end I followed it for unintended comedy rather than for any serious interest, belief or confidence in its contents. However it was interesting that to read that the new director of Mossad had stood on a canteen desk and asked the agents to eat the brains of their Arab enemies on 11 Sep 2001, a few hours BEFORE the 911 attacks, and a full year before he was appointed to the directorate (Chapter 22). Allegedly he pulled exactly the same stunt as soon as he was appointed to the position, a year later (Chapter 18, p362). Elsewhere the PROMIS software from the 1970s amazes- not only can it decipher any stream of data but it will also guide missiles to the Iranian nuclear facilities. Princess Diana's menstrual cycle also makes a late appearance in the concluding chapters, still without any revealed connection to Mossad.

In summary, an uneven and over-long book that could have been improved greatly if it had been proof read.
11 Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
An interesting read, with a new slant on world events, and presented without apparent bias but how would one every know. There is a lot of repetition of information, which was disconcerting and made the book overly long. I wondered about the truth of all the information after the writer declared that Minsk was in the Ukraine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
The author clams to have recorded hours of interviews including top Mossad officials, but the Hebrew he transcribes from his tapes is not that of anyone who speaks the language even minimally. He uses gender, singular and plural inappropriately, An example, Mossad offices do not have Hebrew numbers on their doors, because there aren't any Hebrew numbers.
That casts doubt on much, to give one example: The book starts with claims Princess Di's chauffeur may or may not have been a low level paid informer for French Security, that may (or may not) have aroused interest of Mossad (Why?). So he may (or may not) have also been an informer for Mossad (although as the author says. probably not!). In ensuing chapters what "may have been" becomes fact leading to another "may have been". By the end of the book, Mossad are the World's experts on the Princess and her death, although with no involvement of their own. Really? Princess Diana and Dodi Fayed would have been a Mossad priority, justifying a team of experts? In any case no rhyme, reason or information is given on the issue.
I was determined to get the end of the book, it was hard work, and I know he's invented too many things to mention here, but where he tells a true story, it's publicly available on the Internet. Hasn't added much, but if you know nothing, you will learn some truth amongst a load of turgid BS, but will you know which is which?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
A good read, but full of slightly irritating factual errors, like consistently getting the names wrong of intelligence organisations (Rigul Hegdi), or technical details.
Just makes you wonder how well researched the rest of the book is
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Just because they are famed for their vengeance over the killing of the Israeli Olympic athletes, and the brilliant success of the raid on Entebbe, we tend to think of the Mossad as an infallible force. This book demonstrates that they can, and do, make mistakes. However, Gordon Thomas is obviously well-connected in international security circles, and he weaves some wonderful tales of world-wide intrigue, including the death of Princess Diana and the horrors of Nine-eleven. I'd give it five stars, were it not a little over-long, and a bit inclined to jump from one subject to another, then back again several chapters later. However, its a great read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Many many unsubstantiated claims and stories interspersed with old familiar 'chestnuts'. Israels problems clearly belie the fact that Mossad has nowhere near all the info cited by Thomas. One factual message here that sadly does resonate with me is how badly the Jews and Arabs treat each other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
I am three-quarters through this book and it has held my attention completely. Although about Mossad it also includes very heavily nearly every country's secret service. I find it riveting and disturbing in equal measure. What really happened behind some of the news headlines of the past is often very different and coldly calculating to how it was reported at the time. Absolutely no-one comes out smelling of roses and all in the name of defence of one's country or reputation. One feels glad not to be part of that sordid world and despair that men (mostly men) feel obliged to lead such sordid lives. And yet, perversely, one cheers slightly when your country's secret service manages to outwit another. I recommend this book very much though you will have to live with a bad taste having read it. Very well written and easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)