Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
161
3.8 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Change
Price:£9.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
Not quite what i wanted and its a 3rd person shooter (i may have ben able to suffer) and online access is a must so not great for the 'lone wolf' against a make believe world without the rest of wolrd to judge. To be honest when I tried joining a server and no one wanted to play (really I do look like Harley Quinn - not) I didnt bother trying again. Once I read reviews I would have given this a body swerve and saved my cash - okay spent it on another trashy proper 'no friends required' game.

If the developer realises they can make money by having some AI enemies it would breathe a whole new life into the game and may make me want to play it. however I wont be buying into any franchise unless this happens.

Before I get shot down in the reviews maybe I should give it another go but life is short, time is precious and older games get shelved
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With the price of this, it's a great shooter to dig some time into.

Won't keep you occupied for very long but with the price, can't complain!

TF2 coming soon too :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
My mistake to buy this, I wanted offline single-player FPS - seems this ain't that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
This is a really good game highly recommended 👍😄
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
like this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
unable to download
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
I'm a big fan of the spiritual predecessor to this game (COD 4) - it married an enjoyable (if flawed) single player campaign with one of the most solid and satisfying multiplayer shooters ever released.

You can feel some of the same gameplay elements have made their way across - but the overall experience feels half-baked by comparison; More like a mod for an existing game than a 'AAA' title in itself, and certainly not worth the full asking price (£35 at the time of purchase).

Positives

- The use of low-threat 'creeps' (AI infantry) to increase the effect number of combatants is a great idea and something I hope to see in other games in the future. I'd rather have a playable 6v6 with 50+ AI combatants than a laggy 64 player game

- The Titans 'auto' modes, the way pilots enter (with the Titan occasionally grabbing the player), and the ability to ride/rodeo a friendly or enemy Titan respectively are all also great ideas

- Maxed out at 2560x1600, the artwork/graphics look reasonably impressive and the levels are sufficiently diverse in style and atmosphere, although there are various indications that this was originally designed for the 360/PS3 generation

- It doesn't feel like as much of a console port as I'd feared, save for the networking aspects mentioned below

- Titan gameplay and combat is reasonably satisfying

Negatives

- The install is huge (~50GB). This wouldn't be a problem if it was all high definition campaign/multiplayer content, but 35GB of this is uncompressed audio files. Their explanation; not needing to decompress the audio means lower system requirements. I run a high end PC with an SSD. Its drive space is limited, performance is not. I appreciate the desire to cater to customers with lower end machines, but an option to use compressed audio files for more powerful machines (as every other game in existence does by default) would have been appreciated, rather than using up £30-40 worth of SSD space.

- The campaign is little more than multiplayer maps run in sequence with additional narration/dialogue

- None of the characters introduced in these dialogues or brief in-game cutscenes are memorable or interesting. If you're expecting the next Captain Price and company, you will be disappointed

- The campaign HAS to be played with other players; there is no way to play it offline

- There is no manual server browser and everything is done through matchmaking (unacceptable for a PC FPS)

- The campaign matchmaking does not work the majority of the time; I've had to disconnect/reconnect from the regional lobby multiple times before getting into a viable game, at which point there is normally a 5-10 minute wait whilst it finds additional players (or fails to do so at all). I believe sufficient time has passed since launch to fairly discount the usual initial server issues as being the cause; it's just broken and should not be forced upon PC players that are used to better solutions and more control

- The multiplayer mode matchmaking works, but does not balance player experience levels. The games I've played (particularly the campaign, but also other modes) have been horrendously stacked with level 1-10 players on one side and level 40+ players on the other. Needless to say this usually results in one-sided games during the session

- There seems to already be a distinctly small number of players/servers for the PC version in my region, which may be the cause of the above issues

- Rubber-banding/lag doesn't appear to be a big issue, but I've experienced questionable/inconsistent hit-detection (both in my favour and otherwise). It remains to be seen if this is a result of poor matchmaking (resulting in geographical mismatches and high pings from a minority of players) or an issue with the detection or anti-lag systems

- Much of the advanced gameplay (eg. burn cards, unlocked weapons and tactical items, etc) is left unexplained by the brief and crude tutorial or campaign 'missions', and the lack of an offline mode prevents learning and experimentation on anything but a live game with other players. This seems especially daft when the game clearly has basic AI implemented for both Titans and infantry

- Some of the weapons/upgrades seem designed only to infuriate players; for example, the much-maligned 'Martydom' from COD4 makes it's way back into the game as 'Nuclear Ejection', which only serves to frustrate with cheap kills, just as it did before (hence the various player-run COD servers labelled 'NO MARTY' and similar)

- The 'Smart Pistol' provides a built-in aimbot that not only removes the need to aim precisely, but bypasses the lag compensation that players using normal weapons have to account for. It isn't a big problem for players to counter given the long lock-on time, so why was it necessary to add such a weapon at all?

- The parkour/jetpack gameplay encourages players to hop around the levels; this works reasonably well most of the time but getting stuck in level geometry and experiencing odd vaulting/wall-running behavior is initially a frustration. Learning the areas to avoid helps over time, but once again there is no option to practice or explore the levels offline or on dedicated practice servers

- Multiplayer modes are your typical DM/CTF/LMS/DOM affairs that we've all played before to exhaustion. I would have liked to have seen more done with the dropship/pod and orbital support mechanics hinted at with the final missions and end of match mop-up.

- Character customization is limited and custom character slots cannot be renamed (a step back, as you could in COD4, 7 years ago)

- There is little incentive to mess around with customization as most of the pre-made player classes and default equipment work fine against typical players in the various multiplayer modes

- There is no real sense of progression or achievement as there was with COD4, where unlocking the next major weapon or perk was one of the more satisfying aspects of progression

Summary

Overall, a big disappointment after the hype and the intriguing pre-release promo videos. It feels like a potentially solid game that was rushed to release before it was ready.

Omitting a real single player or co-op campaign is a big problem for me personally - as is the lack of a server browser or proper dedicated servers.

I would normally say "wait until it goes on sale for a tenner", but I suspect the PC platform servers will be pretty quiet by then - and the lack of an offline mode will make it useless once they die. I highly doubt it will ever receive the same fan attention that COD4 still has to this day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Never got it - bad campaign with a repetative multiplayer that does not offer any variety or intensity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
First off, you can play this game for free for 2 days if you download the trial on Origin, so go ahead and do that first to see if your PC can run it well. This should also give you ample opportunity to play around with the graphics settings, which are nicely scalable.

That being said, this game isn't fun. It is an extremely trigger-happy, fast-paced fragfest that makes CoD look like a slow-paced, tactical game. Titanfall claims to have a "Singleplayer", which is basically narrated intros and outros to a normal multiplayer map with the occasional dialogue thrown in during the middle of the game. The story is so convoluted that you barely even know who is who and what someone is saying (all dialogue is delivered via your comms rather than you getting to see the characters face to face, except during the intro). Also, if you drop out of a lobby / map rotation, your next map won't even continue where you left off, so you literally get to experience the "campaign" maps like the pieces of a puzzle.

Titanfall is not fun at all. The maps look beautiful and the backdrop for many levels are jaw-dropping, but the gameplay itself is nothing but spawnkilling at this point. Enemies are divided into two types: bots (which are very easy to kill) and enemy players themselves who are called pilots. These guys are zipping around, jumping with their jetbacks, wallrunning, throwing satchel charges and blowing you to pieces before you know whats going on. And then there are the titans. Extremely hectic. You get stepped on, crushed, or the enemy pilot ejects himself out of his titan and then blows it up killing everybody in a big radius. You get killed, killed and killed some more.

This game makes Call of Duty look good, that's how much of a senselessly hectic Michael Bay on steroids wreckfest it is. Do not buy, although the low price is tempting, it should tell you everything you need to know about the state of this game. I will end this review on a slightly positive note though, and that is all map packs can be downloaded for free legally after you launch the game, and the game runs well even on older hardware and still manages to look decent - I ran it on a laptop, 930M card with most things set to medium/high and FPS in the 30s during hectic times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I must confess: I hadn't done any research into Titanfall when I pre-ordered it. Some friends had talked about it, and I'd seen one gameplay trailer which looked pretty nice. Upon opening the packaging when the install discs (of which there are three) arrived, the back of the box had two quotes. One reads "A brave new vision of the future of multiplayer gaming." The second says "Believe the hype." Reading these, I think "well, I can't wait to get started then."

The install took a very long time. As many people have mentioned, the game requires nearly 50GB of storage space to be installed. After the whole process was finished, I booted up the game, watched the opening cutscene (which very briefly - and I mean VERY briefly - explains where the game is set and who is fighting), ran through the training session and started a "Campaign Mode" game.

It has been some years since I abandoned the Call of Duty franchise. I lost interest after Modern Warfare 2, then went on to enjoy a whole new breath of fresh air in the FPS genre from the Battlefield series. Call of Duty had been fun, but after a while the fast-paced games, the repetitive progression system and constant sense of obligation to unlock new customisations had become monotonous and boring. After my first game of Titanfall, I felt a lot of Call of Duty come flooding back.

Don't get me wrong, it is fun. The first game I played was a territorial control match, with three objectives to hold - the same "Domination" style game mode that features in almost any FPS game. The only twist I could notice was the constant radio chatter from some AI command unit announcing events in the game. An interesting way to get updates to the player perhaps? Maybe. I've seen plenty of games do similar things, so I didn't consider this to be much of a new feature. The UI also didn't appear to feature anything special. Just the standard minimap, ammo and ability cooldown timers.

The game flowed quite nicely. You'd run about at the same sort of pace as CoD, except for the ability to run up walls and jump twice. I killed a few players and bots, spawned a Titan, ran rampant in it for a while, then eventually our team lost the game. The "epilogue" kicked in, where we had 30 seconds to reach an evac chopper. This seemed like a newish feature I'd not seen before, but again it was nothing groundbreaking.

The class customisations seem to work exactly as I remember them in CoD. Primary and secondary weapon, perks, and a heavy weapon to throw into the mix. Later in the progression system I unlocked the "Burn Cards" which were gave a consumable bonus for a game. Each weapon could also have some limited customisation (exactly as most FPS games).

A part of me feels that three stars is being generous. And doubtless there will be many fans who would already stand by the game and shoot this review down as "a load of rubbish". Though I feel that my average rating is brought on by what the game promised to bring, which was some sort of FPS game revolution. Another quote on the box is that the game will "set the new bar for online multiplayer gaming." Well, to me CoD 4 set that bar years ago, and Titanfall is building on that same model that has proved successful time and time again in the past. Yes, the game allows you to call in a giant robot every five minutes, but Battlefield (for example) has loads of super-powerful vehicles that create a similar amount of destruction. Titans and wall running seem to be the only original content this game offers, and that really doesn't feel enough to claim that this is "the future of multiplayer games."

I'll keep playing the game for some time no doubt, but I don't expect my interest to be maintained indefinitely. If you're still a die-hard Call of Duty fan, you'll love it, but if you are genuinely looking for a groundbreaking new multiplayer experience, you may have to wait to see what games the future brings.
77 Comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£8.89

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)