Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.69


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2013
Stunning debut for Valerie June, channelling old time songsters like sister Rosetta Thorpe to modern chanteuse Cassandra Wilson.
Impeccable playing and production assisted by Black Key Dan Auerbach. Buy the vinyl and complete the experience with a visual enhancement as the cover is one of the most compelling images of album cover art to come along in a long time, even the card is heavy duty to encase the 180gram record. In an age of mediocrity and instant disposability Pushin' against a stone is a precious jewel to treasure.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
A very varied collection of song styles and arrangements - all well presented. Valerie has a "presence" which add character to each song. Her performance on "Jools" was mesmerising and I can't wait to see her live!
I bought the vinyl version - which is high quality vinyl and sounds fantastic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Love this album which I bought after an excellent concert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Fab!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Bought this after reading previous reviews in Amazon and two music mags. I'd never heard of her before so it was a gamble that really paid off. Her voice is a little disconcerting at first, but by the second track I was totally won over. A great mix of blues, country and jazz influences that blend together beautufully. My advice is ignore the few derogatory reviews and put faith in the overwhelming number of complimentary ones. Take a chance and you won't be disappointed. It is many years since I was this enthused about a piece of music. It is simply beautiful.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
All I can say is this is just an absolute class album from start to finish! Such an array of different sounds/styles such as raw stripped down blues, soul, motown, bluegrass and a hint of Winehouse in a couple of tracks. Listened to it once and thought it was good, listened to it three times and found it mesmerizingly brilliant. I'm sure anyone buying this would not be disappointed + the fact that Dan Auerbach has sprinkled it with his magic gives the album an authentic sound that has long since passed. Best CD I've bought in a long time. Can't wait see her in Bristol, November!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I saw Valerie in concert at the end of April and she played most of this album even though it had't been released yet. I bought one of her earlier bluegrass EPs (which was equally great)and couldn't wait to buy this album. Her voice is so different and somewhat hard to describe but utterly amazing. Can't wait to see her again in Belfast - she did promise to come back in June for the Open House Festival but haven't seen anything yet.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
I recently went to the U.K., and created an itunes account while I was there. This was available in their store in April, and this week they offered one of her songs as the "free single of the week". Amazing that I had to go to another continent to find out about an artist who is from Tennessee, just up the road from where I live. I believe she is going to set the music world on fire. There is something about the way she looks, coupled with the honesty and pureness of her music that just captivates. It's twangy, bluesy, and even has shades of Winehouse in there as well. I'm really glad Amazon U.S. is making the "on demand" cd-r of this album available, since the album doesn't drop here until August. The sound is great, and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves discovering a new artist who's blossoming--before the rest of the world catches on. She is definitely one to watch. Google her, and check out the youtube video introducing this album. I suspect she is a huge star in the making. She's certainly stirring things up with you guys in the U.K.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Think you'll either love or loathe Valerie's voice, just that little bit different. Album crosses many musical genres and should appeal to Blues/Gospel et al
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)