Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
Tom Aikens Cooking
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£12.99


on 7 December 2016
OK for a reduced price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2008
This cookbook manages to balance our expectations of a Michelin starred chef and the actual capability of most readers. I know that there are a lot of books out there by Michelin star chefs (normally debut books) which attempt to give an insight into the delicate nature of Michelin starred cooking. This book has the following pros/helpful aspects:

- Good mixture of complex and simple recipes;
- Catalogue of how to make 'basics'/store cupboard essentials, like stocks etc.
- Beautiful, colourful and ample illustration where you may need inspiration for how to present the recipes or food in general;
- Classification system of difficulty;
- Good mixture of slow recipes and what I would call on the hob cooking
- Balance of fish, meat, desserts (although there are a lot of desserts!) and other categories;
- Simply written instruction by someone who clearly understands his craft AND communicates well in writing.
- Offers alternatives to certain ingredients and where some are optional.
- Offers imaginative recipes for humble ingredients (carrot salads, asparagus mousse etc)

I think that a competent cook who is above par would relish the challenge in this book as well as a revisiting of simple recipes etc. I have eaten at Tom Aikens flagship restaurant and the book lived up to my expectations of one of the finest restaurants and chefs in the UK.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
This is one of the best cook books I've bought and I have loads! Many of the recipes look quite basic at first glance but there's something going on where the whole is definitely greater than the sum of it's parts. The ingredients are mostly easy to get hold of, the techniques and preparations are approachable, the notes & guidance are superb in their simplicity, and I've found that with every recipe so far, I've actually been able to focus on the cooking in a way that makes sense of the processes & ingredients in relation to each other in a way that's not jumped out so much before. As a seriously enthusiastic home cook, I couldn't recommend this book enough.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
I bought this book having eaten at both his restaurants several times. The recipes are graded in three categories, easy, mediam and challenging. The latter category requires a lot of fussing about with the food and some forethought, but the medium and easy recipes are well set out and easy for the domestic cook. There are notes on what can wrong on some of the recipes and how to avoid mistakes which is a useful addition. It provides a good range of different recipes, from bread and cakes to petite fours. Every dish that I have tried from this book has worked and received requests for a repeat cooking - this has to be the measure of a cook book!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
This is the third copy of this book that I have purchased for members of my family. It has very easy to follow recipes that are suitable for all. The hot chocolate fondant recipe is a favourite and works every time. It is so simple to make and guests at a dinner party are never disappointed.
A super all round book, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2006
Before I bought this book, I had only found out who Tom Aikens was a few weeks before, but I have read the book back to front and I can see why he is a michelin star chef twice. His style of cooking is like no other and most of his recipes are amazing. He grades his recipes from easy to challenging which really helps if you only want to make an easy snack or you want to spend a few hours in the kitchen creating a culinary masterpiece. I can really see Tom AIkens becoming Britains top chef in the next few years, and creating a chain of exceptional world renowned restaurants. If you want to learn how to cook like a pro, buy this book!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2007
A disappointment.

This has the feeling of a heavily ghost-written book (although admittedly there is no collaborator mentioned in the acknowledgement), scattered with banal interpolations. See the page at the start of the seafood section going through fish. Has he got anything more insightful to say than that john dory tastes "sweet"? Clearly not as he repeats the same insight for turbot just down the page. See also the comment on prawns, crabs, lobster - his prawns come from madagascar - so what?

Having dined several times at TA in London the recipes are far less inspiring than the cuisine we know Tom is capable of. There are limited references to Tom's delightfully haphazard plating and approach to food. There is nary a mention of his signature cassonades. The recipes themselves simply do not inspire and are sometimes inconsistent - for example, how do you sear the skin-side of a darne of seabass??? (the skin goes all the way round a darne - there is no skin side!!!).

It's one redeeming feature is a good outline of the process for preparing Joel Robuchon's pomme puree.

If you want an example of a contemporary chefbook I can recommend David Everitt-Matthias "Essence"
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
An excellent resource for serious cooks. Some of the recipes are a bit of a faff to make- but that's only to be expected. At least they're very easy to follow. I was impressed and glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Good quality...reaaly happy with it.......it is a good book for starting chefs....little old in these days but still inspiring. end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
I still have to eat at this man`s restaurant, but in the meantime this book will keep me going.
This is not a book of complexity, but a bridge between the competent cook, and the common touch of a genius.
Do buy it, and you will reach for it at all times, not just when you want a wow, but when you want good ingredients transformed into great food.
P.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)