Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
33
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2013
One of the best board games to be released within the last ten years. And now on kindle and other platforms and its a very good adaptation to. If your looking for one board game on kindle this should be it. Not tried the online option yet but the solo option is very good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
You have to connect a number of cities by playing cards of the right suits for the link between two cities. Longer routes take more cards and the number of players who can link any two cities is limited, sometimes to just one. (In the USA game, everyone else will either have to find another route around or lose points for failing to connect their targets. The Europe expansion adds a way to skip over one link owned by someone else.)

The railway theme is lightly pasted on - it could easily be 'about' airline routes - but it's a good mix of skill and luck for a family game. You need to know where the choke points are for the routes you want to make are, and get them quickly, then consider whether to collect lots of cards before going 'route, route, route' (risking that someone else will build a bit of it first) or build your route in smaller pieces (risking that someone else will find it easy to block). Deliberately, longer routes get more points than two shorter ones of the same total length, so it's a fine balance.

If you look at the cost in comparison with the board game, it's tiny. Unless you really want to have the physical copy, this makes buying it completely unnecessary. Of the expansions - again cheaper than the physical versions - the first one to consider is the 1910 USA one, which adds more route cards and playing options. Europe adds a couple of interesting tweaks and I haven't played Switzerland or Asia more than once.

As well as 'pass and play', you can play against AI (ok rather than good), but the big appeal is the online play option. If you want to do that, the basic USA map has by far the most opponents available, followed by the 1910 version. Europe is next.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
Love this game, but not sure how well it works as a firebox game. I have the iOS copy and this works well but don't think this works on the tv.
I would like to see some other board game implementations come to fix tv though- just maybe not ones with hidden information!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
This is a first-class translation of the classic board game. You can play solo or with your friends, and against a range of computer A.I. opponents. What's more, you can buy the same expansions as are available for the board game.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
Bought late one night for something to do. I was already familiar with the physical game from a few years ago, but it still took a little time to work out the gameplay and controls. I also seem only able to play one kind of game with one AI player- happily, they are pretty good, but I may need to pay some money soon if I'm going to keep playing. Overall, it's a maybe a little complex as a game in its own right (you end up with a very full, complex screen, and games designed directly for the screen tend to be a little easier on the eye) but if you're already a fan of the board game you'll love the gameplay just as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
I actually have the iPad version of this app and it is really great fun. Very true to the real board game and retains much of the mechanics. Simple premise. Collect cards, trade cards to complete train routes, train routes mean points. Firstly, it is simple and easy to play and games can be played quickly, especially in single player mode. However it is the local play that I really like. I have this on mine and my wife's devices which means we can play against each other connected by wifi or Bluetooth. This is far more fun than the usual play and pass options. That said, play and pass is great for long journeys or flights.The difficulty level is spot on and there are enough little trophies to collect to keep you playing for a while. The online mode is fun, although you can be waiting a while to find opponents, although that might depend on the time zone you are in.
Great value for money, even cheaper for the android version.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Love the board game and appreciated an app but minor issues spoil the experience. Playing the Europe map seems to freeze it (when it remembers I've already bought it).

Can't download current update and so no way to fix it. Bit of a shame as, otherwise good adaptation but the app can't take credit for the game and hence low score.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
I bought this game about a month ago and I have become completely addicted. I was originally going to buy the physical board game however it was a lot more expensive than the app version. The game is really simple to pick up in that you have to select route cards and then place your trains to fulfill the needs of the route however the challenge comes in making sure that other players don't stop you completing your route and also ensuring you get the most points. I have not tried the online mode but the single player and the pass and play versions are great. There are also more maps that can be purchased at an additional cost which will add even more hours of play time. It may seem pricey but this game is great value as I have already had hours and hours of entertainment. I will no doubt also buy a physical copy of the board game now I have tried it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
If you already have the board game, as other reviewers have stated, this is a faithfull implemetation on Android. For those with the board game, you may wish to note the following:
1. Maps - it comes with the USA (original board game) map. I bought Europe (as I have the Europe board game) for £3.21 or around the price of a (UK) pint of beer. Other maps are available for similar prices. USA and Europe (like the board game) are for two to five players (real or virtual)
2. There are 3 options for games - sad solo game against the computer (it plays 1-4 other players); Create an online account and play against friends or other internet gamers; or 3 (most usefully) the Pass and Play option allows two to five real people to share the game without seeing each others cards.
3. It installed fine on my ancient Kindle Fire (non-HD, the original one) and runs very smoothly. The map is a bit small, but can be expanded and contracted with the usual android pinch and separation of two fingers.
4. For the routes, I like the way that if you have a single route highlighted (when selecting the routes) the two endpoints are highlighted (dots of the stations become blue and brighter/larger on the maps). Especially useful for the quirky naming of plaes on the European map (both board and app).
My only criticism is that the first time I played the sad solo game on the European map, I lost!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
REVIEW OF INCOMPATIBILITY SETTINGS - NOT THE PRODUCT ITSELF

Well, I would love to review this game, but according to Amazon it's not compatible with my Nexus 10 (which meets all the technical requirements). I could pay for and download it from the Play store and I'm sure it would run fine, but when I'm sat on 500 unspent Amazon coins it's very frustrating not to be able to use them to buy this because of some glitch in the Amazon device requirements system.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.62
£4.99
£5.62

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)