Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2009
1) Add to your winning positions!
2) Look for stocks making new highs.
3) If a stock is to go from 10p to 100p it will make record highs.
4) Only risk 5% of your capital per trading idea - but add to winning positions.
5) Trail your stop-loss under the dips.
6) Technical analysis works because it is measures volatility.
7) A break out to a record high is more significant than a breakout to a 20 day high.
8) When adding to winning positions buy less than your previous amount like a pyramid.

Amazing book - Livermore has helped me pay my university fees.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
You need to read this book a couple of times to really understand its message. Its concepts are simple, application is hard. Stop looking for the magic key to investing which will do all the hard work for you. Too many investors are looking to find the perfect trading system so they can become rich over night. You have to spend years watching the stock market and not a few days to begin to gain any usefull knowledge. If I could pass on any advice to new investors, it would be to read this book and William J Oniels How to make money in stocks, and then get ready for a few years of hard graft before you start to see consistant results. Just don't give up, you will get there, I did!
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
It is interesting if you wish to speculate, but its not really for longer term investors. Now this might be obvious to many people (and I guess the clue is in the title of the book - TRADE!) , but for me it took some time to really understand the difference between investment and speculation. Once I realised that I am an investor, then books about speculation lost their appeal. So am I unfair to give it just 2 stars just because I'm not a speculator? WelI there are 2 other reasons (1) I did try to actually apply the method, and found it very difficult to use in practice (2) Less than half of this book is written by Jesse Livermore - the rest is Richard Smitten's interpretation of Livermore's method.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
Defintely agree with D L Anderton. This book should be read and read again.

Another review commented that Livermore's strategy is nothing more than momentum trading. To an extent it is but I beleive there are other key nuggets of information in this book that will help you refine your investment strategy, particularly around Pivotal Points.

Well worth buying this book, plenty of practical advice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
I'll keep this short.

The first third of the the book written by Jesse Livermore contains enough value to warrant the purchase of this book. Livermore's accounts and advice are quite possibly the best material available to a trader today, it really is that good. The material after Livermores contribution is poor overall, I do feel bad writing this as Smitten has done us a favour here putting Livermores material in his book but with respect to the chapters Smitten wrote in comparison to the Livermore material... I imagine it's comparable to reading how to make money in oil by J.D. Rockefeller and then reading how to make money in oil by a reporter who studied J.D. Rockefeller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
Some clear instructions from the mind of a great. Take no notice of the 'include's the Livermore market key' although useful it is difficult to use and resembles a high momentum strategy. The start of this book is fantastic and worth the price alone. The authors interpretation later is hardly an interpretation and more a rehash of Livermore's personal papers and is purely puff which adds little extra. If you really want to get more of a feel for Livermore's technique than Reminscence of A Stock Operator gives then this gives a better indication - just read the personal papers and skip the guff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 January 2015
A useful historical document on the life and trading methods of Jesse Livermore.

But I really wonder. Not limiting more than 5% of your capital on any one trade is sensible advice. Then how come Livermore kept going broke?

Livermore was a secretive individual and I wonder will we ever get the complete story of his life and doings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Amazing book - incredible insight. Ive read it a couple of times now. some really great lessons from this godfather of trading. "Only sell your position when the market tells you to, not because of what your emotions tell you to". "Only add to winning positions, losers add to losing positions". Honestly the tales and knowledge i've got from this book have changed the way I trade for the better. The kindle version is a couple of bucks aswell, no brainer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
A horse's mouth account from another era.

Jesse's words have enduring appeal and value.

I'd recommend this book to any experienced investor, trader or speculator - it could change the way you do things forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
this is a cross between a novel and a serious guide to stocks.

most enjoyable light reading - and getting into the mind of a famous investor, and learn from his mistakes.

if you are thinking of dabbling in stocks, read this book 1st, and then find some other way of spending your money,

this guy gave his life to the study of stocks, and still lost his shirt.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here