Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2014
I read this story whilst visiting Kancherbri. I can honestly say this book bought what I was seeing to life and increased my admiration for those captured ten fold. Very well written giving the reader a real feel for that moment in history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
My Great Uncle was in the Royal Norfolk's and died as POW at Kanchanburi Camp, I found this book very interesting and it gave me an insight into the appalling conditions these men lived in and what they went through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
I want to write that I enjoyed the book but how can you enjoy reading about the awful conditions these men had to endure
It has given me a insight to how bad there time in the hands of the Japanese really was .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
We must never forget what these men went through, forgivness, i wasn't there, so i cannot forgive, poor blokes who never came home, we should have fought in the streets and hoped relief came, but i wasn't there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
A very good insight to what went on through the eyes of an officer They seem have had better treatment than the non commissioned men . Even so an horrendous experience for all the men involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Written just after the Second World War I think, and the language is a bit archaic. Dont think the writer really went deep enough, but perhaps he was unable to. Did give some insight though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
I had two uncles fighting the japs in WW2, one was captured at Singapore and actually wad forced to work on the 'Death Railway' but her never talked about it.. Amazing book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
I would recommend this read to anyone interested in learning what happened in POW camps. A thoroughly interesting read of what went on to the men who fought for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Read several book on this subject, felt he described well, but I didnt pick up the sheer horror of it all from his writing. sorry, as i realize what he went through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
A good read about the terrible treatment man can inflict on others,unfortunately we have not learned from this era, and this treatment and worse goes on to this day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse