Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
1,073
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2014
Purchased for our son, found myself a little bored with this offering. Visually good, although 3D doesnt seem to add much. Lacking decent storyline and dialog, characterisation somewhat shallow and undeveloped, Anthony Hopkins looks like hes just going through the motions so he can bank yet another obcene amount of dosh. Very little humour to redeem it (unlike Ironman trilogy for example). Have watched with the kids a number of the recent spate of Marvel films more than once, but definitely wont bother watching this one again!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
I do prefer sole hero movies more than the group movies, and this was no different, better than the first movie in my opinion. An old enemy from the Asgardian Tales is brought to the screen with Christopher Eccleston unrecognisable as the leader of the dark evles. Plus the action switched between the nine realms, with the action on Earth taking place in London, woohoo. As a franchise I can see Thor going for another couple of movies, I think Chris Hemsworth is making the role his own, Good stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 May 2014
Thor was the Marvel movie I was most sceptical of. How was this frankly ludicrous (though great fun) story supposed to work on film? Thankfully Kenneth Branagh did a great job grounding the characters and The Dark World continues the plot brilliantly. Chris Hemsworth is excellent once more, Tom Hiddleston relentlessly steals every scene he is in and Natalie Portman is fine as Jane Foster (though if you were Thor wouldn't Darcy be much more fun to hang out with?).
I can probably pay this movie no bigger compliment than to say that (unlike Iron Man 3) it doesn't go too far over the top, instead letting a relatively simple story lead the effects and build to a satisfying denouement!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Loved it, works both in 2D and 3D. Simply better than the first Thor, don't get me wrong I loved the first film too however, this one is better.

The characters are more established and greater received.

Christopher Eccleston is well cast as the bad guy and Loki gets a chance to redeem himself a little.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This steelbook is really nice. It's basically a DVD cover, but the shell is steel, not plastic. It is plastic inside where the discs are held in, understandably. It isn't massive like some early steel books were, so it fits nicely on the shelf with my other plastic cases. Features are all on, including deleted scenes etc. The picture quality I hear you ask...... well, to be fair, a lot of it will depend on your set up at home, but if you have a PS3 or higher, use HD cables and have a good quality LED smart HD 3D television, then you are in for a treat. The picture is CRISP like an iceberg lettuce straight out of the fridge!
No need to review the film, because you wouldn't be buying it if you didn't like it already. I only need to say one thing - you too can have Loki IN YOUR FACE at home!!!!! Every fangirls' dream.........................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Intrigue and revenge are two of the multiple themes that are displayed in Thor: The Dark World. Both Thor and his father Odin are faced with a powerful but evil leader named Malekeith bent on inflicting suffering. This leader's taste for violent chaos comes from personal tragedy in his own life. I enjoyed the love story that played out between the characters of Thor (Chris Hemsworth) and Jane Foster (Natalie Portman). This is because both characters seamlessly picked up where they last left off from the first film with their relationship. Additionally, Thor's character is shown bravely taking Jane Foster to his world despite how his father Odin (Anthony Hopkins) may act. Realistically, true emotion was also shown when Thor and his brother Loki are greatly affected by an event that would change many people (involving a family member). Idris Elba is given an even bigger influential role in the plot of the film as Heimdall. Heimdall's character portrays a sense of perceptiveness in a scene that involves him foreseeing what can happen on one of the main bridges in Asgard. Just a gentle suggestion: maybe Heimdall could be including with Thor in future films as some type of advisor to both Thor and/or his father Odin regarding protection plans for Asgard and/or other strategic mission ideas. My husband's favorite character portrayals were that of Loki (Tom Hiddleston) and Malekith (Christopher Eccleston). This is because Loki's character is portayed as a strong spirit who wisely knows how to appeal to Thor's heart-centered side while also shrewdly concealing his private and tricky plans. Eccleston's Malekith also appealed to my husband due to the character depth portrayal of what motivated Malekith's actions. Thor: The Dark World is great for those who enjoyed the first film or those who like fantasy films with the inclusion of these other actors/actresses: Stellan Skarsgard, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Chris O' Dowd,Kat Dennings, Ray Stevenson, Zachary Levi, Tadanobu Asano, Jaimie Alexander, and Rene Russo.
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
This film was much better than I expected. Don't get me wrong, I love the Marvel cinematic universe, but the original Thor was my least favourite film from phase 1.

This film was much more exciting though. Lots of good fight scenes, well written dialogue, and Tom Hiddlestone yet again on top form. A must have for any superhero film fan or Marvel aficionado.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Yay, Loki is back! Yes I know it's about Thor, and his brother's double dealings, and all is not well in Asgard, but me - I love a good baddie and Tom Hiddleston is my absolute favourite as you know where you stand with him whatever he says. Rip roaring action, Idris Elba superb as Heimdal and I am a very happy Avenger lover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Sadly, this must be the most pointless movies I have ever had the misfortune to purchase and watch. Throughout the film you wish somebody would turn the light on - it is too dark even for a 3D movie, the 3D is unremarkable, picture quality is poor - fuzzy a lot of the time and the "story"?, if you could call it that is feeble. The overall impression of the film is - just a lot of "special" effects strung together in the hope that it will make a movie. Can not understand how or why this sort of thing should get so many 5 star reviews? Definitely can not recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 November 2013
I was completely ignorant about Marvel, Thor and his adventures, and anything intergalactic and involving sledgehammer. During school holidays, I was dragged to see "Thor: The Dark World" in 3D and let me tell you, I liked it (even though I am as far away from Thor's target audience as nine realms are from each other).

BUT, the two hours flew by. I enjoyed the special effects, the good cast that blends surprisingly well, Thor's brother Loki and his humour. For the irony and sarcasm (which had the audience laughing quite a lot during the movie), the film deserves an additional star.

Without imagining to comprehend exactly how the cosmic disaster would have happened if the nine realms of the universe aligned, Thor, but of course, managed to save the Universe(s). There is a lot of action, but there is also an intelligent dialog. All in all, good fun. Three and a half to four stars.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.