Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 April 2017
Another review on here picked up on a few lines from the beginning of this book which indicated that the author was second guessing RB's thoughts and overstating his personal closeness to him. It's an unfair comment as that is the only instance of that type of writing. I wanted a factual account of Plant's life and career, especially the less familiar early and later parts, revealing along the way something of his personality and in that the book really delivers. If there was a slightly jarring note for me it was the author's deciding for us which Led Zepp songs were good and which bad as if it was a matter of objective fact. But all music writers do that. It's always nonsense but they insist on throwing in their bit of critical analysis along with the stuff on people and events. It wasnt enough though to spoil a revealing and very well written and even-handed account. I really enjoyed it.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2017
After reading some rather hostile and negative reviews, I bought this book with some trepidation. As it turns out it was a very enjoyable read.Not only very entertaining and well written, with input from a wide range of different sources ( which is not a bad thing at all ) it is a comprehensive view of Plant's life and into his various musical excursions.Nice to read and revisit a particular time in the Midlands rock era I know pretty well and one of my old haunts in the Diskery record shop.Happy memories indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2015
I also enjoyed the early part of the book, like one of the other Reviewers, Robert Plant did obviously struggle initially to become a rock star , not sure why as I have always liked his music. Giving my age away now! The post-Zeppelin career is also dealt with in great detail and also some of the bad things that have happened in his personal life that he has had to come to terms with. After that I found it a bit mundane and tedious. There is a lot of name dropping but no real story there! He comes across as some sort of nomad who cannot settle anywhere and puts everything into his music. Which I still cannot fault even after all these years! But it all seemed a bit sad in the book. Perhaps it was because it was not coming from Robert Plant himself but from interviews etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2016
I tried to spring some facts on my younger die hard zep brother but he already this rehashed old stuff. Nothing new here, although I didn't know about the Birmingham roots of metal and his connection to Christine Perfect. Clearly a celeb hunter caught up in his own ego most of his life who has since gone out of his way to undermine the very thing that provided all that success. He is nothing without Page really and rather lacks the courage to come out about the life unlike his contemporaries Fleetwood, Clapton etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2014
I have been looking forward to reading this book for some time. I was not disappointed although it was far more down to earth than "Hammer of the Gods" and other books about the Greatest rock and roll band in the world. It draws you into the personal life ,likes and loves of RP. You feel a lot more aware of what makes him tick and his real relationship with Led Zeppelin and where he wants to go. I recommend this book to anyone who knows a bit about RP or Led Zep. If not you may find it a bit dull.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2014
Q. Who is the only person to actually know Robert Plant ??
A. Robert Plant ....the man himself
Until the man himself writes either his memoirs or an autobiography, dispatch all other attempts to the dustbin.
They are generally sketchy, ill planned and poorly written efforts which offer no new or relevant facts.
This one regrettably falls into this category.
Good try but falls well short of interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2014
A well written and most interesting read throughout, giving a quite in depth understanding into Rob the person and the events of his life. A minor criticism in that Paul Rees has a few facts wrong for Rob's teenage years at King Edward VI Stourbridge (I was there at the time) but insufficient to distract from the story. No mention of his Austin Champ and the armchairs in the back of it. Zep really did blow away the other bands at the 1970 Bath Festival, the second best that weekend being undoubtedly Fairport Convention (not Pink Floyd, Airplane, Canned Heat or any of the other top notch acts). Apart from the book being about Rob, it is well worth reading for anyone who wants to get a feel for the rock business.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2014
I suspect that many Zep fans will know most of the stories already but focusing as much on other sections of his career you do get a feeling for the creative output of Robert Plant.

However as these stories are all second hand you are left wondering what Plants take on all this would be.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2016
I read this book hoping to find some new information about a rock icon. Instead it's all rehashed age old reportings with some interview bits thrown in. Not what I wanted. Overall disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2014
Although not in Roberts own words,the author has done much research to try to get down to what makes this man tick.I am glad to get that i read this book as i felt that it was written in such a way as to trace Roberts life from early days through out and up to present day.Very enjoyable for fans to get to know the great man a bit more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)