Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
50
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2017
Amazing to see a great deal of the delicious Gabrielle Drake!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
I loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
A fun film. Glad to finally have it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Best
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
This is just one of a number of sexy comedies that came out of Britain in the seventies with the relaxation of some of the BBFC's rules. Like the Confessions films, these carried on where the Carry-On films left off. In this film, four au pairs arrive in England and are soon shedding their clothes and inhibitions. It's all good bawdy fun. Most people buy this film for the lovely Gabrielle Drake - and I agree, but the other girls are beauties too. All in all, a feast for the red-blooded male.

There may be some good news for UK buyers. I have the Region A Blu-ray disc and I have found that it plays OK in my Region B Blu-ray player (Toshiba BDX1250KB) even though the blurb on the Blu-ray cover states Region A. I also have the Region 1 DVD and comparing the two, the Blu-ray is definitely the one to go for. The DVD picture is 4:3 ratio with matted sides but the Blu-ray is taken from an original print and matted slightly top and bottom giving a ratio of 1.66:1 and a better picture. The run time of the Blu-ray is 84mins 30secs approx and not the 90mins quoted on the cover. There are no extras on the Blu-ray but the DVD boasts restored footage, stills gallery and various artwork from video covers, cinema posters etc.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
What can you say about a film like this? In absolute terms it is utter rubbish, and all the better for that! British through and through, camp saucy humour, copious female nudity, a sprinkling of 1970's British TV stars and a dogged refusal to take itself seriously. Great stuff, very 1970's and the likes (sadly) of which we will never see again in today's hopelessly politically correct world. I must mention the superb music score by Roger Webb (who also wrote TV's 'Hammer House of Horror' theme) - a jaunty and absolutely unforgettable title song which will be running through your mind for ages, but also some subtle and quite lovely cues throughout the film.

A great nostalgic and fun film it also evokes a certain sadness in me for a Britain that is long gone. I love it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2007
A quartet of sexy ladies (from Sweden, Denmark, China and Germany) travel to London to work as au pairs and end up in various saucy situations involving a great deal of gratuitous clothes-shedding. That's all there is to it really.

On the plus side the ladies are very attractive and look good with or without their togs on - especially the beautiful and shapely Gabrielle Drake (who also starred in UFO and Crossroads). Just think though, they are probably all drawing their pension nowadays.

The film's director Val Guest made his name in the field of sci-fi and horror and his directing credits include 'The Quatermass Experiment', 'Quatermass 2', 'The Abominable Snowman' and 'The Day The Earth Caught Fire'. In the 1970s, as well as directing 'Au Pair Girls', he also directed 'Confessions Of A Window Cleaner' so his career definitely headed in a more lewd and crude direction.

If you are a fan of the 'Confessions' films or some of the bawdier 'Carry Ons' then you will probably enjoy this movie.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Only two words were needed to make me buy this, Gabrielle Drake.
She was Lt. Gay Ellis in UFO, and the sister of late folk singer Nick Drake.
Imagine a "Carry On" film but with a little more sauce, well that's what this is like.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)