Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2014
received it next day :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
This is a very well written, well researched and passionate exploration of the pressures facing young women and how parents - mothers in particular - might support their daughters. The book casts fresh light on familiar terrain such as the high educational expectations placed on girls and the 'pornification' of youth culture. It also looks at areas that haven't been examined before, such as the useful channeling of women's anger and what's missing from the (on the whole heartening) resurgence of feminism among young women. I read this book as the mother of a daughter and as a feminist and it 'spoke' to me on both levels. Melissa Benn weaves together anecdotes about her own parenting challenges (she has two daughters), a mass of weighty research and data, interviews with young and older women, sharp analysis and even literary references in an entertaining, thought-provoking read. She doesn't tell you what to think but poses some challenging questions, and even provides some heartening ways forward. I am going to recommend it as the next read at my book club. I also think it would provoke really interesting discussions between mothers and daughters themselves!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
As a dad on an 8 year old dtr I wanted to understand her future challenges. This book has given me a good understanding. Preferred the sections where the author is giving her views rather than quoting at length from other sources.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
As a woman of similar age to Melissa Benn, who also has two teenage daughters, I could quite imagine sitting down with her and discussing these issues over a cup of tea. Her gentle style leads you through the experiences of a young woman today, providing facts, figures, interviews and personal anecdotes that, on occasions, make rather depressing reading. At the end I was left wondering what I could tell my daughters to keep them inspired and motivated. Benn doesn't touch upon the role of religion in subjugating women with its antiquated belief system or how women can undermine each other - behaviour that often starts in the playground. However, if you want to keep up to date with the issues your daughter will be facing in 2013, its worth the read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Good read for parents who want to educate their daughters about growing up in our world.
Insecurities, emotions, general ups & downs of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Easy to read, so didn't feel I was reading an academic piece. Well researched and some very up to date issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
A bit earnest and really aimed at the middle classes as she assumes every daughter is aiming for a stellar career if encouraged but the question is worthwhile and addresses a generational anxiety between feminist mums and their growing offspring - mind you feminists have sons too and the question of what to tell them hangs in the air rather.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Melissa Benn has been a leading feminist writer for the past 2 decades. She has brought out another wonderfully insightful book. This is a book I would strongly recommend to my own daughters. I intend to give both my daughters a copy of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Loved it as it is really well written and very clear and it has a feminist manifesto about a better feminist future. Three cheers for Melissa and I have reviewed it more fully on the Gender & Education Association website
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)