Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
68
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£27.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2015
So awesome. Quality is great, looks perfect. Only thing is that the rubber seal on the lid makes the lid sit higher up and not flush with the rest of the death star. Therefore, I took it off for aesthetic reasons, but obviously now it won't have as much of an air tight seal. Still seems to be okay for biscuits though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Bought as a present and receipient very happy - biiiiig star wars fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
My son loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I came on here with the intention of giving my new 'Death Star Cookie Jar' Christmas pressie a unimpressive 3 stars out of 5, basically because it ever so vaguely looks like the Death Star - but only if you use your imagination. It then immediately lost an extra point when I saw that these things are selling for a whopping 40 smackers, which is an insult when you see what this thing really looks like (it should probably sell for a maximum of £20.) And that neatly brings me on to the next loss of marks:

It looks nothing like how it does in the photo! Clearly the image has had a photoshop job done on it to make it look more like an actual Star Wars Death Star, which is what the thing SHOULD look like to begin with. Unlike the image seen here, the jar is a one-tone light grey and has nowhere near the realistic level of detail featured. The black definition around each of the 'engravings' is missing in the real product. There is, however, a barely noticeable not-quite-as-light-grey outlining instead.

Another highly annoying feature is that there is a join line running all the way down the clay at the front of the jar, just to the right of the circular lazer dish! Surely it could have been designed to have the join mark placed in a more subtle location (ie, anywhere else on the cookie jar other than where it is). If that little lazer dish didn't feature on the item then it would be reduced to nothing more than a £40 grey ball of squiggles.

There are other minor irritations, such as the horrendous photo of the jar set against a pointless grey grid on the box with a prominent picture of Yoda swooshing his lightsabre above it (Did Yoda ever see the Death Star? No, he was too busy looking for his missing cutlery on Dagobah, which resulted in him stealing spoons from a droid a couple of years later)

I digress. By the way, the seal on the lid doesn't appear very airtight, so you may not actually want to put your cookies in it. You won't even have money left to store in it either once you fork out for this giant grey udder, because it's clear that this is more of a Cash Cow than a Death Star. Rant over. Now where is the receipt?
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
The received product is absolutely nothing like the product pictured. I'm not sure why anybody would rate this item as more than one star. I'll include a picture with this review so you can see how drastically different the item actually is. It's kind of laughable. It was supposed to be a gift but is being returned. Paying the best part of £25 for a ceramic grey ball which looks NOTHING like the Death Star is not something I'm willing to do. (I can't fault Amazon with their return/refund process!)
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
looks great(full of sweets)well made,an ideal gift for any star wars fan-with no place for a single x-wing to fly inside and blow it up!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
It's okay.

The photos make it look a lot more metal-like than it actually is. It looks like a cheap plastic mould of the Death Star (which is effectively what it is).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
Actual Cookie jar is NOTHING like the picture on the listing, you will receive a pale grey, virtually featureless Ceramic ball that is very difficult to open due to an inadequate indented handle, about the only good thing about item is that the seal is good and airtight. For the rest, it's a waste of money and is only good as a dust collector!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Bought one of these for partner's Valentine gift. Have to agree with other reviews, it doesn't look nearly as good as the picture, the glaze especially at the back is blurry and too thick, and the incised pattern is weak and just a repeated pattern. But it functions nicely to hold 3 boxes of jelly babies. And I didn't ( and certainly Wouldn't have) paid £30+ for it, it must have been on offer at the time, so keep an eye out for offers in the future if you want one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
Looks nice in the kitchen, but badly flawed design. The lid has a very practical seal around it to preserve the biscuits inside, but this coupled with the poorly designed indentations in the lid, means it can be difficult to remove the lid without dropping it. I noticed this early on so I took to twisting the lid first to break the lid seal, which seemed to work.
Nevertheless the indentations in the lid defeated me in the end. They are designed to put your fingers in to hold the lid,but they have no lip to grip on to. And as it's made of a shiny ceramic it's not so much a matter of if but when you're going to drop it. I was aware of this and have tried to be careful as a result. But I still just dropped it and cracked the barrel.
Do yourself a favour and save yourself the disappointment of an inevitable breakage.
And Zeon, a simple lip in those indentations would be a good idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)