Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
50
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 September 2013
Bought this for my wife and she pressured me into watching it too. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. OK there were a few poor bits like the 'rough house teenager' who looked like a male model in his make up and too-good-looking clothes, but these were no distraction from the programme being a well constructed and enjoyable thriller based on the early days of British Forensic Science.

One day, forensic pathologist Dr Keith Simpson asks a keen young journalist to be his secretary. Molly Cooper, although none too keen on being a secretary, is intrigued to find out exactly what goes on behind a mortuary door.

'Miss Molly' quickly becomes indispensible to Dr Simpson as he meticulously pursues the truth. Accompanying him from the morgues to some gruesome crime scenes, Molly observes and assists as he uncovers the secrets that the victims keep.

Molly's character is based on the real Molly, Molly Lefebure, on whose memoirs of these early forensic days the series is based.

A very good programme to watch.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
Well this was certainly different. If your expecting a slow pace, reasonably nice 1940's whodunnit then look elsewhere because this is no Foyle or Bletchley Circle, and I mean that in a good way.
The style of the show is colorful, bold and loud. It completely throws you because there's nothing quite like this on TV in this era. So watch this with no preconception's and you'll enjoy.
The team doesn't flow as well as the Bletchley lot or Foyle but they are a great cast nonetheless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
I enjoyed this. I am Fond of the actress Tamzin Merchant and thought she gave a spirited and Excellent performance here.Nice to see her playing a grown woman rather than a Young girl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Thoroughly entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I really want to see more of this! I understand that since it's based on the Merchant character's autobiographical writings this might be difficult, but they were interesting characters and the basic idea was so good that it would be a pity not to follow this up...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1940's, I was not sure that anyone paid any attention to the show of clues in a murder/crime scene. However, I was not alone. Along comes a new, young pathologist who turns this London pathology lab upside down.

Patrick Kennedy plays Dr Lennox Collins, newly arrived at the pathologist's office. His boss has the old mannerisms and wants his lab run in the old fashioned way. Dr.Collins is not given many murder investigations until one night a young woman is found murdered. Collins insists on keeping the crime scene free of anything other than the clues inside. This is new to the detectives, but as he explains they go along with him. In this case he finds a Swatstika cut into the victims tongue. A total of 4 women's bodies are found, and Collins intends to find the murderer. Along the way he finds a news woman, Molly Cooper, played by Tamzin Merchant, interested in working for him as a secretary, and off they go.

The detectives and Collin's boss find a young German man they say is the murderer. Collins knows it is not him, and his job is to prove them wrong. This is a fun film, as well as gory with all the dismembered body parts all over the morgue. Molly Cooper lightens up the mood, and she is articulate and smart. Collins and Cooper prove to be a duo not to be warned off. I understand there is a Part Two, and I look forward to this film.

Recommended. prisrob 10-23-14
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I must admit a slight sense of disappointment with this drama. Firstly, the actual synopsis is excellent, and inspiring. The idea of looking in to scientific developments during the war could have really worked. The base idea was excellent; this was not the problem. Also, the cast and the acting was good - a good case bought the performance alive as a whole, and you could see each individual actor had worked hard to bring their character alive, and make them believable.

However, the real problem is one thing - the whole series only lasts 90 minutes - 2 eps of 45 minutes. There simply was not enough time to develop the story line and really explore the characters and the plot. I think there was a great opportunity here for ITV to create a great, perhaps 6 or 8, piece series. However, just being a two-parter there is not enough time for the show to develop and really intrigue - it's really annoying because the opportunity is there, but just not being pounced upon! I think ITV could learn something from the BBC - when they get an excellent base, they develop it in to an interesting and intriguing series; for example 'Ripper Street'

In short; idea: 10, acting: 10, plot: 10, development: 2
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
very 1940's. plot seemed contrived but well acted. Why was the new pathologist suddenly talking like CSI? Would be happy to see a second series
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Murder on the Home Front" is a British drama that was first broadcast on British television (ITV) in May 2013. There are two episodes here. Each episode runs for ca. 45 minutes. Thus the total running time is ca. 90 minutes. Here is some basic information:

** Created and written by David Kane
** Directed by Geoffrey Sax
** Produced by Christopher Hall

The two main characters are:
** Lennox Collins, a forensic pathologist, played by Patrick Kennedy
** Molly Cooper, a reporter who becomes a secretary for the pathologist, played by Tamzin Merchant

"Murder on the Home Front" is a period drama set in London in 1940 during the Blitz, when German bombs were falling on London and people had to take shelter in the underground stations. It is loosely based on the memoirs of Molly Lefebure (1919-2013), who worked during the Second World War as a secretary for forensic pathologist Keith Simpson (1907-1985). Her book was published ten years after the war under the title Evidence For The Crown (1955). It was reprinted in 1990 with a new and catchier title: "Murder on the Home Front." In 2013 it was released again in order to coincide with the television drama. Here is a link to the recent edition: Murder on the Home Front.

When I compare the book with the television drama, I notice two important differences. (1) The book covers the years 1941-1945. But the drama is set in 1940. In 1940 Molly Lefebure had not yet started working for Keith Simpson. (2) The book mentions numerous cases, but the drama covers only one case.

As a forensic pathologist, Lennox Collins is trying to introduce new methods into his work. He does not want policemen to contaminate the crime scene while they are investigating the crime. Molly Cooper is a reporter who wants to write about crime. What could be better than to work for someone who works in a morgue?

I do not wish to spoil the viewing for anyone. Therefore I am not going to reveal any details about the case. I will merely make some general observations.

The male detective and his female assistant reminds me of another drama, "Foyle's War." Both begin in 1940. And in both the focus is on crimes on the home front. However, "Murder on the Home Front" is different from "Foyle's War" in many ways:

** In "Foyle's War" the pace is slow; in this new drama the pace is rather hectic.

** "Foyle's War" is dominated by the understatement; in this new drama we find the opposite: there is a lot of fighting and chasing; and we see dead bodies in the morgue.

** "Foyle's War" is a series that has been running for several years; "Murder on the Home Front" feels like the beginning of a series, but it is not, because there is only one season. After episodes one and two, the drama was axed by ITV, even though the memoirs of Lefebure covers numerous cases.

As you can see, I am not too happy about this drama. If you ask me, it is not really convincing. Sometimes the characters and their dialogue seem like a parody, like a cartoon. I am not quite sure: are they making fun of themselves or not?

Over the years, ITV has produced several captivating dramas, for instance "Undeniable" and "Code of a Killer." Unfortunately, "Murder on the Home Front" does not live up to this high standard. I am disappointed, and therefore I think a rating of three stars is fair.

PS. Here are some relevant links:

** Foyle's War, Season 1-7

** Foyle's War, Season 8

** Undeniable, 2014

** Code of a Killer, 2015
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Wartime london is brought to life in this charming if undemanding TV movie. The leads are engaging, Tamzin Merchant is particularly good. The sets are visually entertaining and provide a well rendered vista of the period. The acting is excellent but the script doesn't call for much. The tale about a serial killer plying their evil trade during the blitz is interesting but a little light in the suspense department. Although I enjoyed, it feels like a pilot for a proposed series which didn't quite make the grade.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)