Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
107
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2013
It's no secret that I am a huge fan of Lindsay and her Blackthorn series. In a world where everyone wants their vampires to sparkle and be, well, just howdy-doody piano playing perfection, the Blackthorn series grabs hold of contemporary vampire portrayal by the balls, rips out its throat and hangs it from the highest building. So let that be a lesson to you all, okay?

There's no doubt the Blackthorn vampires are sexy, but they're eternally dark, often cruel and more dangerous than a pit full of angry vipers. You think you'd survive a night in the polluted, sweat-drenched, vampire infested Blackthorn? Leila, Lindsay's new feisty flame-haired heroine, knows the dangers of Blackthorn only too well and also knows that the likelihood of getting out of there alive is no mean feat, but with her beloved sister Alisha apparently in the clutches of some vamps, Leila has no choice but to venture into the one place she knows she shouldn't go.

Leila is no ordinary Summerton gal, in fact shes's not even an ordinary witch, she's a serryn and that makes her potentially as dangerous to vampires as they are to her, so it's no wonder that Caleb Dehain isn't about to let her leave town anytime soon.

Discovered and captured by one very dangerous, dark and most-certainly brooding vampire, Leila soon finds herself embroiled in the midst of Prophecy and in a fight to prove to Caleb that she isn't the killer he believes her to be. A growing and unwanted attraction to her captor soon means Leila is fighting for so much more than her very precious soul; she's fighting to keep hold of her heart too and it's not a battle that she seems likely to win.

One thing that struck me about Blood Roses is that whilst most of the book is set in the confines of Caleb's lair, rather than restrict the action, this works wonders in building up the hot and heavy sexual tension between our two main protagonists as there really is nowhere for Leila to run to. As the reader, you can almost feel the panic and desperation growing within Leila every minute she is forced to remain in Caleb's company, not to mention the burning attraction they are both feeling. I could literally feel the hairs on my neck prickling throughout as the fear, panic and tension emanates from each page, until the point where I was almost climbing the walls with them.

Secondly, and what I'm starting to see is one of Lindsay's great skills as a writer, is that there is nothing predictable about Blood Roses, unlike some contemporary vampire novels where you can guess the plot way before you've reached the end. You're never quite sure who to trust, who to believe in, whether good will out, or whether the characters will force the plot down some dark path. It's always suspenseful, always exciting and always keeps you guessing right up until the very end and to me, that's what's so very special about the Blackthorn series.

There's always that concern with the second book that it might not match up to the success of the first, but there's no worries about that with Blood Roses. Lindsay introduces us to new characters, throws us into a new adventure, and gets the reader enthralled in a new story that keeps us just as hooked as Blood Shadows did.

Feisty heroines, dark and sexy anti-heroes and a world we just can't help getting lost in, Blood Roses has it all. Five out of five!!!
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
I make no apologies I'm an avid fan of Lindsay J Pryor's Blackthorn. Blood Shadows: Blackthorn Book One: 1 the first book in the series enthralled me.Blood Roses: 1 (Blackthorn) is equally mesmerising. The story stands alone as a snapshot of life in Blackthorn but is more powerful if you read 'Blood Shadows' first.

Leila is a multifaceted character;sister,woman and Serryn a special kind of witch who hates the vampire race and whose blood kills them horrifically. Leila answers a call for help from her youngest sister and finds herself in Blackthorn. The start of a rollercoaster of events.

Caleb is a powerful vampire whose reputation precedes him. He knows all about Serryn witches and has good reasons to hate them. Caleb is a true anti hero but so much more.In the beginning he is a sexy vampire with a sadistic streak. By the end of the book I felt sorry for him. He is as much a prisoner of circumstances as he makes Leila and in my opinion she is the stronger of the two.

The characters are absorbing and the world building so intricate and intense I could actually visualise Blackthorn in vivid detail.
My favourite book of the year. Blood Roses (Blackthorn)

Can't wait for 'Blood Torn'
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
This is the second book in the authors Blackthorn series, the first being Blood Shadows, which I previously reviewed.

I loved the first book, and being told that this one would follow a different story did concern me as I loved Kane and Caitlin. But I needn't have worried.

Blood Roses starts with a frantic telephone call from one sister to another. Alisha has been captured by vampires in Blackthorn, and needs her sister Leila to come and get her, bringing with her a book. This book was handed down to Leila by her grandfather, and holds secrets no-one outside the family should discover.

Leila soon finds out that all is not as it seems when she does what her sister asks of her. What she discovers will change both of their lives forever, as well as the lives of others around them.

Leila finds herself with a cruel vampire, Caleb, someone who previously hunted down witches with special powers, those called serryns. He quickly realises that Leila is, in fact, a serryn. But she has fought against her serryn blood, leading her life in isolation, going against all that she was born to be.

The story quickly becomes something far more when they discover that fate didn't bring them together. They were, in fact, destined to find each other. Their lives have always been inextricably linked, and finding themselves in the situation they have ended up in was not just a random coincidence. Other forces are at work behind the scenes, forcing them both to accept the inevitable.

But can that future be changed? Can they find another way? Or will destiny play the cruelest trick on them both, forcing them to follow their predetermined destiny, regardless of their feelings?

I cannot say how much I love this author. She is creating a world which sucks you in, which makes you want to know more about Blackthorn and its inhabitants. Both books can be read as standalone stories. But this book mentions several characters who appeared in the first one, and to understand completely you do need to read the first book. But it isn't a huge issue if this is the first in the series you read.

This book strengthens the Blackthorn series, and if the first chapter of Blood Torn at the end of this book is any indication, it will make it an even stronger series. I am only sad about one thing with this book - that it had to end!

I cannot wait to read the next book. It promises to continue the series with a story equally as strong as both Blood Roses and Blood Shadows.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I absolutely love this series and I can't wait to read the next book. Please hurry up and release it Ms Pryor! I have enjoyed reading both Blackthorn books and look forward to reading Sophia and Jask's story. Perhaps we'll get to meet the delectable Kane and Caleb again?? These books are darkly intense paranormal romances/ thrillers. I love the way they actually have a great story and believable world rather than some of the fluffy rubbish you get spoon fed in this genre! Well worth a read, however I recommend reading book 1 first to avoid spoilers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
I loved the first book, so much so that I immediately downloaded this second instalment in the Blackthorn series. Even though it is written as a standalone, I would recommend you read Blood Shadows beforehand because of the references to the ‘prophecies’ and . . . well, because it’s fantastic.

The whole thing is incredibly intriguing, with Leila’s heritage and tightly bound secrets making her the most fascinating character. Layers upon layers are pulled back throughout the story, slowing revealing answers, emotions and intentions while simultaneously hinting at things to come.

Darkness constantly lingers around the two main characters, as both Leila and Caleb struggle to keep their own innate demons under control. Order, rules, loyalty and destiny are the overriding aspects of their struggles and I read on compulsively in the hope of finding out who or what would win out.

The gloomy backdrop, array of characters/beings and timeline are all consistent with Blood Shadows but this is an altogether completely different read. An absolute triumph that has kept me hooked on the series.

review by Charlotte Foreman on behalf of Bestchicklit.com
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the second book in the Blackthorn series but it stands alone. What I loved most about this book was the hero, Caleb. As you will gather from other reviews, he is a very naughty boy. Some of his actions did cross the line, but that is why I loved it. The author took risks and it paid off. In less skilled hands it could have been a disaster. There was one sex scene in particular that was very intense. At one point Caleb covers Laila's mouth with his hand. The author was able to capture the plethora of emotion that would be involved with such a scene, and more importantly she stayed true to her characters. I would recommend this book to any one who like their paranormal steamy and their heroes so bad they're good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Omg I thought I fell in love with bad boy Kane from book one but he is totally eclipsed by Caleb. Damn he is one fine male all resentful hurt and anger with a big softie underneath that only the innocent and faithful Leila could bring to the front. The chemistry and fighting and intrigue between these two was phenomenal and the resistance they both out up against the other just makes the surrender that much more breathtaking. It seemed a bit cheating to not conclude the way book one did resolved and both together but it just leads to book three where we meet another formidable woman.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
In this dark and sinister world of Blackthorn were the vampires have little or no redeeming features Leila is manipulated in to going there to save Jake, his brother Caleb is threatening and aggressive and constantly manipulating those around him.
For some inexplicable reason he is drawn to her.

This is on the edge of your seat time, new characters emerge, older ones are mentioned drawing the reader into a wider field that is captivating.

Under all the abrasive treatment Leila receives at the hand of Caleb she finds that she is attracted to him, the fate of her sisters and her wold lay in her hands. Caleb knows far more than he should. The suspense and thrills do not stop. The hunter becomes hunted.

With the council seeking her Caleb has to use his talent to bring the odds in his favour. I really enjoyed this yarn, left me wanting more, always a good sign. Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Right up my street! If you're looking for a easy, uncomplicated romance than don't! I loved it from the moment I started reading. Lindsay has brought a whole new world to life that had me gripped from Start to finish. Complication, secrets and bad boys! A must for your collection
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Rules are meant to be broken.....aren't they?
Meet Caleb, notorious vampire leader of the west side of Blackthorn. Tortured, controlled, sultry but sexy, the most feared serryn hunter there's ever been. Leila, reserved, fiercely loyal to her family, but a hidden, inactive serryn witch, desperate to stay away from the vampires she detests.
They should never meet and if they did, surely anything but hatred for each other would be against the rules?
With attempted murders, a prophecy coming to light and a very dark and dangerous vampire (the ultimate anti hero) the depth and detail in Blood Roses, ensured I always wanted to know what was on the next page
The second Blackthorn instalment does not disappoint :-) 5 stars all the way!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse