Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2013
My favourite British hard rockers Voodoo Six are back with the release of new studio album, 'Songs To Invade Countries To', having penned a worldwide deal with Spinefarm Records. After the critical and commercial success of the brilliant previous album Fluke?, and the teasing preview EP of Falling Knives featuring new drummer Joe Lazarus, the boys are back with the new album consisting of 11 studio tracks produced by V6 bass player Tony Newton, mixed by Tony Newton & Pedro Ferreira.

There is no quarter given on the opening two tracks `Falling Knives' and `All That Glitters' with a riff Metallica would be proud of, it's a killer track showing off perfectly the twin guitar attack of Chris Jones and Matt Pearce. Voodoo Six also know how to relax into their music as well with the excellent grooves of `Brick Wall' and the `You Don't Know' which along with the gentle intro on `Lead Me On' feature some lovely background synth textures.
Tony and Joe both work well on the bass driven tracks `Sink Or Swim' and the excellent `Stop', Luke's voice is consistently superb on the album moving from aggressive to passive with equal ease and none better than the last tracks on the album `Waiting In Line' and Higher Ground' showing that the boys can make slightly more commercial sounding music as well as the quality harder sounding songs.

'Songs To Invade Countries To' is the perfect foil to the previous Fluke? album, they are both worthy of any rock fans collection; they have pride of place in mine.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
If you like no nonsense heavy rock, a multitude of riffs, tempo, amazing bass playing and a bit of blues thrown in, then you cant go wrong with this excellent offering. Similar in style to Tracer, but, whereas the latest Tracer offering left me somewhat confused and let down, this album by the Voodoo guys ticked all the boxes. Not a dull moment or track to be found on this album!! Heavy Rock heaven.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I gather that these guys are currently out on tour with Iron Maiden, and it's not difficult to see why the Maiden boys picked this UK bunch to travel around Europe with them - great songs, great playing, and the sort of real emotion & drive heard all too rarely in our digital age. If blues-tinged hard rock with light & shade to spare is to your taste, then I reckon V6 will have you coming back for seconds...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Just seen these guys fill the tent at Sonisphere, they really now deserve a main or support stage slot. This album is just good old fashioned Rock n Roll, buy it now
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
so far, i've invaded several small countries with ease (adjust volume as needed for larger nations).

a british band that sounds american? a little bit southern? a little bit 'soulful'? you may or may not agree with my impression, but 'songs to invade countries to' might not scream 'british rock', but it does scream, 'rock'. fans might mistake them for american, and that might just be a sign of the band's own sneaky invasion plans, but i think the assumption here is purely complimentary.
there's no pretension here, no posturing or show-boating. there's no tricks, no attempts to fool the listener - voodoo six simply cranks out solid, gutsy rock tunes, adding some melody and atmosphere where desirable. the album doesn't sound apprehensive, and it doesn't pander to any particular taste, it just sounds confident - focussed, confident and relentless, like a soldier marching towards his destination...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
My 3rd Voodoo Six purchase and equally as good as the previous two. If you don't know, VS are a perfect blend of timeless gritty rock and traditional metal that will have bits of your body tapping/banging away before you consciously realise it. There's a hell of a lot of groove mixed into these songs to; which is what you might expect when the bass player steps up and writes a large chunk of the songs.

Very well played, written and produced the only reason for the docking of a star is that 4 of the songs appear on the 6 track EP I bought a year ago and they could be in danger of becoming a one sound band - though that particular sound is very good indeed. I'm so happy with the crop of VS cds I have right now I probably don't need to buy anotherunless they start experimenting with their sound a teensey bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2013
I have to say that I expected a lot of shouting and not a lot of tunes - how wrong I was. This is a real grower , bags of energy , great riffs and a real danger to drive to. I was really pleased with the overall sound and while I think the blues part of blues rock is quite a bit smaller I think the overall sound is great.
I would really like to see these guys live but suspect I've missed the chance of a smaller venue - I think they are going to do really well - and with the vocals and riffs like this they deserve to ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
bought this for myself, but I never got to play it for nearly a month as the husband had it in his car!!

This CD is packed full of material which will appeal to many, there is the ballad, rock tracks and songs slightly on the heavier side . Voodoo Six have created songs which are fairly irresistible.

You can hear the influences of AC/DC, and Led Zeppelin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
A Great sound for a great new upcoming band.

This album is full of creative, unique and addictive songs from the get go.
Quite similar to what you could expect from the likes of Nickelback, but a little more punchy, harder and dam right down to earth!

Just what the rock doctor ordered, and you might want to take his advice!

Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
This is the best Voodoo Six album to date. The new vocalist has made this band much much better. Great live band, and now the albums are reflecting this.Well worth buying unless you are an emo, screamo or nu metaller. If you are one of the categories mentioned you'll hate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£10.58
£21.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)