Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
The Year of the Horsetails
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.23


on 27 October 2013
This book is as good if not better than the more recent offerings from authors such as Bernard Cornwell. This author writes in the style Conn Iggulden and certainly keeps the reader captivated with its battle scenes and the hardships of war during such periods of history. Action right from the start which continues throughout and right up to the end. The only complaint I have is that this appears to be the only book by this author..at least I was unable to find more anywhere online. I would have paid full price for this book but at .77 pence it was a
bargain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2013
I remember reading this story about 50 years ago. I was enthralled by it at that time and to read it again was great. I tried on a number of occasions to find this again in my local library but as are the ways with such organisations it had disappeared into infinity.
From the start the story holds the reader and continues right throughout. I will probably find myself reading it again soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
RF Tapsell truly envelopes you in the world of the steppe, whilst keeping you turning the pages with a ripping adventure story.

Don't be put off by the age of this book, the dialogue and storyline can hold their own against any of todays top authors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2013
Again a very good start to this book but as it went on it lacked the fire and intensity ,that quality writing that would distinguish it from all others it developed into a poor end ,victories were too easy with the victors seemingly having to do little to vanquish an enemy ,very sad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2013
I believe a review should be short, sharp and to the point. So, when is the next book due to be published? I will certainly put R F Tapsell on my list of authors to follow.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2016
Neat story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2014
Captured the imagionation straight away. Seeing the struggle from the side of the people being attacked and how they responded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
One of the best older historical fiction books I've read, well worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2013
I have got to say this is the best book I have ever read and I have read a lot at least two a week.

First had it from the Library in the 70's and have been looking to read again. It was as good the second time around.

Shame the author died so young.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2014
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here