Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Altered State
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 1 June 2013
Being a fan of TesseracT, I will admit I had HUGE expectations with this second LP. I consider the suite " Concealing Fate" as one of the most inspiring piece of progressive rock music since "A change of season".
Well, in a nutschell, ALTERED STATE is a mind blowing MASTERPIECE.
To sum up, I would go like this :
- Music : flawless tunes , very well balanced and on top ADDICTING
- Ashe O' Hara 's voice : wonderfull, powerfull and beautifull
- Progressive Density : this LP could be labelled as Top Notch Progressive music , ie : the songs don't go towards 10 musical directions at the same time
- Production : simply astonishing. Ackle and Amos accomplished a great work here. It's spacial, dense, tight and refreshing. In my opinion, the mixing treatment on Drums is fantastic.

The album is a MUST buy. I woud add also that LIVE, TesseracT is a terrific experience. The overall sound of the Band is unique.
55 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2014
Altered State is the second full-length studio album from the British Progressive Metal Band Tesseract. It was their first album to feature Ashe O’Harra on lead vocals, it was self-produced and was released in 2013.

Since getting this album, I’ve been listening to it constantly. It has such a high replay value, and just gets better with each repeat listen. It is such an immersive, cohesive, powerful record and I wouldn’t mind going so far as to call it a masterpiece.

The album is broken down into four sections: Of Matter, Of Mind, Of Reality and Of Energy, which are themselves broken down into separate tracks. The album as a whole flows like one giant song, each of the four sections flow like one continuous song, and each track works on its own. It really is a well-developed and brilliantly executed structure.

Highlights include the powerful “Resist,” the catchy “Nocturne” and the lengthy and interesting “Singularity.”

Musically, there are beautiful shimmering clean guitar sections and a wash of hypnotic electronics subtly mixing with powerful emotive clean vocals with a real haunting quality, there are brilliant rhythmically interesting and groovy drums mingling perfectly with clever bassline, and there’s the odd section of crushing Djenty heavy guitar at the appropriate moments to top it all off. It’s a lot more subtle, intense and driving than their debut, with an almost post-rock attitude to song building. The way things weave and change fluidly makes it a really enjoyable and entertaining listen. Its a real extension and perfection of everything the band have been working towards so far. They even keep things interesting with some well-placed and non-gimmicky use of saxophones.

Overall; This album is fantastic, it’s a real step-up for the band and a defining moment for the whole movement. If you like this sort of music you’ll absolutely love this record, and if you haven’t heard of this band or album yet, I’d strongly recommend you give it a try. This is one of those rare, perfect, gems of an album that can completely captivate you and capture your imagination time and time again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2014
First impressions of this album are that it is amazing. Incredible production, great melodies and riffage + great songwriting. It's only as you listen to it more that you start to notice some serious flaws (I thought prog was supposed to grow on you, not off you):
Aside from 1 track (Nocturne main part) the drums are all programmed. If you are a drummer then I would think twice about buying this album thinking that it is a showcase of Jay Postones' talent, it isn't.
The production is too perfect. There are no natural overtones, no real dynamics in the music
It all sounds as if it's being played by a synth because some of the sounds are just too wet to be produced naturally, just doesn't sound like humans are playing it.
They've sacked the singer on this album already (they go through singers ever 10 gigs it seems, can't be the nicest guys to work with)

To me, Tesseract will always be Acle Kahney and Friends. He writes the songs, he produces the songs (along with Amos) and then they tell others what to play when they play live. Half of the songs from this album they can't play live, unforgiveable in my view, especially when they have so much creative talent in the band.

Time to move out of the bedroom Mr Tesseract, you only have to listen to the latest animals as leaders album to see that it can be done without programmed drums, you're just too lazy to try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2013
This is my favorite album at the moment, here's why:

Ashe O'Hara's voice is amazing. His range is huge and his ability to put expression into every phrase is truly awesome.

Both the technical and musical aspects of the instrumental work is very impressive. Guitars are tight, Bass has it's own space in the frequency spectrum where it can take up as much space as it likes. The drums are complex, without going ott with fills. The 'progressive' themes of irregular time signatures and metre changes are obviously present, but not overdone.

The mix is great. I find a lot of metal albums go to loud on the drums and guitar, drowning out the bass and vocals. All the parts of this album have been leveled properly, allowing each to shine through.

The use of ethereal synthesised pads adds a great atmosphere which blends perfectly with the rest of the intruments without giving a rave/trance feel to the tracks.

Chris Barretto features on this album playing saxophone (which really works, surprisingly). HE IS AMAZING!!!

Listen to that tone

0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2015
this is the bands magnum opus so far, it is perfect from start to finish, i can honestly say that this is probably the best album to come out of this and possibly the next decade...
however the new album polaris is out on (18/09/15) i hope they can live up to the pure pleasure they made when they released altered state.
tesseract are one of the only bands i believe in and hope for, they have made a massive impact on me and i have never been so exited to listen to new music by them...

long live tesseract, in tesseract i trust.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2014
Tesseract occupy a unique space in the world of contemporary progressive metal, being much more melodic than most of their djenty peers. While much new prog tends now to sound a heck of a lot like all the other prog metal, Tesseract have carved out their own more approachable sound - with simpler and more accessible compositions, and vocals and instrumental lines that your granny might like. It's not everyone's cup of tea, and if you like your prog metal complicated and growly-screamy than tracks with soulful saxophone solos are probably not going to be for you. But I don't know many people - metal fans or just music lovers - who don't like this album when I've put it on in the background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2014
I am an avid music fan having 300gig of music on my computer and 100's of cds in collection. however this is my first amazon review and with this band i feel the need to give them a shout, to sell, to share the talent that is Tesseract.
I haven't been so bowled over with an amazing album for a long time, but this has got me in a repetitive mood with the mp3 player.

of matter: incredible instrumental playing
of mind: intelligent, unique lyrical mindset
of reality: should be bigger than what they are
of energy: just buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2018
Fantastic start to finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2013
Tesseract's first album was incredible so they had to pull out all of the stops to produce anything of that quality with their second album. Having lost their original singer I was concerned that his replacement (ignoring the first replacement who was dreadful) wouldn't be able match the quality.

Within one listen of this new album I had nothing to worry about. It's simply stunning on all levels. The new singer is superb and the songs are so well crafted that you'll get something new every time you listen to it. Tesseract have produced a work of genius here.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2016
Came in perfect condition. Album is great, although the saxophone lets it down for me as I'm not a fan of the instrument.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)