Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 January 2014
I got this game on release date and IT'S AMAZING!!

The new Bowser Board is 10 times as hard as the others with a sudden twist!

It's not like the original boards but it is nice for a change. Yes still more over acting by the Characters but they have updated the Voice Acting so it is so much better!

The minigame mode is better and the minigames seem easier but there is always that one that gets you every time!

I'm going to recommend it to ALL my gaming friends because it will be amazing playing multiplayer!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
I'm a keen gamer, and have been playing the Mario Party Saga (and other games from the franchise) as long as I can remember. And maybe this is the principle reason why I can't rate this game any higher than a three. Reasons are as follows:

Positives:
1. The graphics on this game are really good, it looks great with the 3D mode on, without losing anything with this setting off.
2. There are a number of maps which take less time than traditional Mario Party games, making it ideal for portable play.
3. The mini-games are very good - they make great use of the DS/3DS controls, requiring tilting, looking through the camera, using the stylus and games requiring the microphone. A good selection.
4. There are some really good ideas for maps, such as not rolling a dice, but using cards with set numbers on each turn, and being the last one to reach a goal rather than the first.

Negatives:
1. There is no coin-collecting in ANY map level. The principle is always to get to the end first (in a race style) so collecting coins becomes redundant.
2. There are no stars to buy to win the game.
3. Because each map is a race, all the items collected are to do with swapping positions and advancing roles.
4. Each map seems to have some kind of blocking section, which halts the race and only allows players to continue if they roll the right number or select the right choice (completely random).
5. Too many other aspects of the game are completely random/reliant on luck. Adding in coins and collecting stars made the mini-games purposeful, but without them players go too quickly from first to last. Also, there are a fair few mini-games entirely luck-based.
6. If an order of achievement is required and two, three or four players got the same score, the system just rolls several dice to determine the order, making the game itself completely redundant.

In conclusion, the game itself is a good filler of time, there's a fair bit to do with many of our favourite Mario Party characters. Unfortunately, the game seems somewhat limited and under-developed with each game being a race. Also, talking as a casual gamer but a keen fan of Nintendo games, this was much too reliant on luck.

Maybe it's better aimed at those under 16, rather than into their twenties.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I have played most of the more recent Mario Party games, so I bought this wanting a game that I can play when I have moments of free time. I enjoy the new twists on the board formats, but it would have been nice to have some general boards instead of all the 'first person to the goal' boards that the game has.

The computer characters cheat. Maybe you think I'm being bitter, but seriously the computer characters always land on the right amount of spaces or magically activate events that gets them to swap with the human player (so normally you end up going from first to last). I know it makes the game more exciting for some, but on boards where you need to get to the end first (or stay in last place as one board requires you to do), it really is annoying to have to swap just before you're going to win.

The minigames are so much better than the DS version, there is no comparison between them. If you're good at these games, you should be able to negate some of the cheating that takes place by the computer characters.

There is not much to unlock, so the boards may get repetitive after a while. I suppose most people play these games to relieve boredom and this version is perfect for that. The inclusion of a few extra game modes are welcome additions as well.

I know I have moaned a lot, but overall it is a pretty decent game.
I just wish there was more of a variety of game boards and computer characters that do not cheat as much. :p

If you are on the fence about buying this game, I advise waiting a little until it drops slightly in price. :)
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
I personally didn't like how much this game was down to "luck". In the other versions it was about how many stars you had but in this one its about who finishes first.
The minigames are alot of fun though and there are alot of them so it would take you a while to play them all. Overall the rating is just down to personal preference. Younger siblings enjoyed the game to begin with and they still play from time to time, but they will lose interest after some time. Ok game still especially if you enjoy mario games!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Not as good as the past 2 party games. Although it is fun and the Bowser's Tower solo game is the best part of it. More could have been done with the first 3DS outing from the party series. If you want something to dip in and out of for 10 minute blasts go for it - otherwise consider getting Mario Party DS (preowned) if you haven't already.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
This game has taken some unfair stick. It has been cut back but these games are about the mini games and there are plenty of good ones to make this a very playable game. My 6 year old loves it, I think it's decent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This game is amazing, a great way to kill a few hours with friends and family members. I personally spent nearly 3 hours with my little brother and my girlfriend playing through the different maps and stages. Definitely recommend it to any mario players!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Had hours of fun on this, it's a bit different from other titles in the series in my opinion, so just be slightly careful before buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Grandson loves it, been non stop playing since he had it instead of an Easter Egg. Makes me the most popular grandpa.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I was expecting this game bein rubbish aftet seeing the bad reviews but i dont think its that bad. Its definately different from the other DS game but we all need change once in a while! Theres a few boards to play plus you can win others and that goes for the characters aswell. 5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)