Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2017
An entertaining and quirky read about what can and does happen to your body after death should you decide to leave it to medical science.
There are a plethora of weird and wonderful things your body can be used for, not just a lot of students standing round a table looking at you in all your naked glory! It is incredible, you could be used to see how long a body takes to decompose in various situations, what happens to a body during high speed car crashes, what effect insects have on your decomposing self, different ways of disposing of the body after death! And many many more zany and useful experiments that can be done to help advance medical knowledge in all aspects of the body alive or dead!
Absolutely fascinating and done with humour and respect.
Quite an eye opener, but I have to say I am not considering leaving MY body to medical science, just yet!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
For all of those macabre lovers, you must buy this book.
some very interesting reading starting from stories in the past up till the present day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Oddly considering the subject matter a light and interesting way to look at those who donate their bodies to science.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
In a humorous way, Mrs Roach addresses topics you normally don't dare to ask people about. Very funny and interesting.
Liked it a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Funny but serious, detailed but decent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
First few chapters were good, the book became boring as it went on though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 January 2005
A well written and amusing book about what happens to the bits you leave behind. The author covers just about every method of 'disposal' from being used as a car crash dummy through to being composted. Some of the details may well put you off your food as well as leaving you unsure as to what you want done with your remains.
An interesting and informative book that I would highly recommend.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2003
Once you get past the uninspiring dust-jacket, this book is brilliant! Written in a very readable and unsensational way, this book will tell you all you want to know, and what you don't, about what happens to those who donate their bodies for medical research. The author has a very friendly and humerous way of looking at death, and its aftermath, but has a sensitive and understanding approach to the dead and those performing the research. I heard a review of 'Stiff' on Radio 4, bought the book from Amazon, and, once I started to read it, couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
B
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
I know quite a few people have been put off this book due to its subject matter, but I couldn't recommend it highly enough.
Mary Roach approaches the subject with great humour, whilst all the time remaining respectful of such a highly sensitive subject. One of the main I enjoyed about the book was how accessible she had made something which borders between science & medicine, meaning that anyone could pick up the book and clearly understand. Aditionally, the research has been carefully carried out and there are so many interesting facts in here I don't think I could bear to be parted from this book.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)