Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation3|Change
Price:£20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2013
What a complete joke of a game this is.All you do is run and jump.There are "special moves" that amount to nothing more than jumping higher or throwing presents etc.My 5 year old son was bored within 10 mins it really is extremely easy and very,very repetitive.Every single level is the same thing over and over just with a different background.The artwork and graphics are simply terrible,it looks like a bad ps2 game.The sound design is absolutely pathetic.There are not even any cut-scenes there are just badly drawn still images with subtitles.I cannot believe ubisoft were even involved in this shameless cash-in.Then again the movie is just as bad,if not worse than the game so i suppose it is what it is.Even at the cheaper price this game is a complete WASTE of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Thought I'd scribble a quick review as there currently doesn't seem to be any elsewhere on the Internet... This is a basic platformer in the mold of Rayman or a very simplistic mario... It's not anywhere near as big and complex as either of those two games, but has similar gameplay elements. It's clearly made for a very young audience as my 8 year old daughter managed to walk through the levels with relative ease. Its not that long either - the basic story could easily be completed in a few hours. It does offer a little replay value that each level needs action specific characters to be unlocked to allow the collection of the 'secret' gold coins by using their abilities. Multiplayer is once again simplistic fun, and playing as a team adds a small element of fun to proceedings.

My biggest gripe with the game is its clearly a very lazy effort... Considering this is based from an upcoming movie there are no GC cutscenes, but instead static cartoon drawings telling the story as it goes with a narrator reading it to us... They're not good drawings either, they've clearly oversized as the drawings has jagged edges where they've been blown up to fit a hd display! It really wouldn't have taken much effort to make these look nice and it really cheapens the product. Considering the production values the movie would have had this falls way short.

So in conclusion, it's reasonable entertainment for young smurf fans, there's nothing horribly broken or frustrating and will see a good time for those looking for simple entertainment... However, in gamer terms, it's a lazy movie tie in which really could have been better with a bit more production value and a few more levels and a bit more creativity.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
For decades the movie tie-in has been a mainstay of gaming; if you have a big summer blockbuster or family film coming out, don’t forget the quick cash in game. However, as game become more expensive to make, a tie in game has to sell well be worth making and not many of them do anymore. One way to get around this problem would be to still produce a game, but make it cheap. This is perhaps what was behind the thinking with ‘The Smurfs 2’, a game that looks like a cheaper download only title, but came out on retail.

On paper the game looks ok, it uses the basic idea of the film and produces a series of levels like ‘Super Mario Brothers WiiU’, but uses the Smurf characters instead. One element of the game that does work is that the different Smurf characters have different Smurf skills; some can jump a little higher, whilst other defeat enemies easier. As a four player co-op game you can combine the skills to do more across the level. Like with ‘SMB WiiU’ the game has friendly fire switched on; this basically means that you will be knocking each other around the screen by mistake. Rather than retracting from the experience, this actually adds to it as there is great fun in the anarchy.

With the decent elements out of the way, it is a shame that there are several ones that undermine it. ‘Smurfs 2’ has only about 10% of the charm or intelligence that goes into making a ‘Mario’ game and you can feel it as the game progresses. The levels feel incredibly samey and even with the ability to go back and unlock new areas when you get updated skills, I am unsure that many people will bother. The game feels like a download title in terms of scope; reusing level ideas and assets etc. but it is not. If you have several children at home it is a reasonable co-op experience, I would just look for it at a more affordable price as it plays like a £7.99 download title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
My 5 year old grandson thinks this game is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Good little game for the kids!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This is a great game. It has got excellent graphics. My hasband enjoys playing it. I recommend this game very highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Easy platinum trophy, nothing more. Little ones might like it but not really for anyone above the age of 8
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
very entertaining and fun to play. there should be more of this type of game as it is for everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
yes i like the game very much and i enjoy played it with my kids its a good game a
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Great quality, great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£10.19
£13.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)