Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
The Sandie Shaw Supplement
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 December 2017
I have been a fan of sandie shaw since the age of 14 now 67 i loved her at 14 (thats before i saw how drop dead gorgeous she was) it was sandies distinctive beautiful voice. This album us superb her rendition if WORDS wrote by the bee gees was fabulous and the bee gees own favourite version of the many covers, originally wrote for cliff Richard who never got around to record it! I am very annoyed at todays ill informed journalists.. All i read in newspapers is that cilla black (god rest her soul) was the uk's most successful girl singer.... NO NEVER not in my lifetime i took all the music mags/papers back in the day.. Melody maker, new musical express, disc & music echo, etc in independent polls by fans and record sales SANDIE SHAW was no1 in all buy a country mile! Dusty Springfield was a wonderful talent sensational voice but in the popularity stakes and sales sandie shaw was miles ahead., lulu, m. Faithful etc miles behind sandie shaw.. Real name Sandra goodrich, sandie won the eurovision song contest when it was still worth winning for the uk our first ever win!! And to this day dec 25th 2017 by the biggest margin ever, with puppet on a string, which was not sandies choice but voted for by the public, sandie hated it!!! But sandie shaw was our only true international artist she sang in French, German, Italian, and Spanish, soo 5 different languages inc her native English, she was a huge star in Europe back in 1967 one hell of an achievement and the darling ladie never got the praise that her talents deserved. Todays journos makes me sick with lazy unreserved storys in the press if other singers like cilla black etc, i was there in the swinging 60s... Belive me SANDIE SHAW was the undisputed no1. She was also back in the day QUEEN OF THE MODS!!! i loved her then and love her now, this album is a must buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 25 April 2014
Following Sandie,Me and Love Me, Please Love Me, this CD continues in similar vein, beginning with all the tracks from one album and continuing with other tracks recorded at around the same time, mostly the A and B sides of singles not featured on the album.

In the booklet notes, Sandie claims that Right to cry (a Goffin-King song) was supposed to be released as a single but wasn't, and it is clear that she is annoyed about that. It's a great song, but maybe the powers that be decided that it wasn't strong enough to be the A-side of a single, so it end up on the album, along with some other original songs as well as covers of songs associated with such diverse artists as Simon and Garfunkel, the Rolling Stones and Shirley Bassey.

The remaining tracks include her hit Monsieur Dupont and her cover of Those were the days, which became a hit for Sandie in some European countries. As Sandie correctly points out, this song began life as a Russian folk song, although the first Western act to have pop success with it was the American folk group the Limeliters.

This reissue shows that Sandie was quite a versatile performer, but she was to stretch that versatility with her next album that, again with bonus tracks, is titled Reviewing The Situation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2015
Sandie is great as usual, I have this on vynl but to have it on cd and with more songs is just great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2013
Re-mastered and re-issued in digi-pack form, Sandie Shaw's 1968 album with 11 bonus tracks is good overall (66.54mins.). The original album is fairly good (7/10) - most of the covers are ok at best except 'Right to cry' which is quite good (written by Goffin/King). The 2 tracks written by Chris Andrews standout 'The same things' and the slightly better 'Remember me' is very good indeed. The bonus tracks are the A's & B sides from 1968/69 (5 sides are in Mono) which range from ok to good without being as great as many of the previous years singles were. It comes with a 16 page booklet which has one or two striking shots of Sandie, lots of various covers and good liner notes which put the whole concept into place. Overall, excellent sound quality throughout and some good tracks along the way 6.5/10. 3.5 stars would be more accurate.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2014
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2015
Great - assuming you like Sandy Shaw......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2013
I have all Sandie Shaw's albums and all I want to say about this cd is it's worth the price just to hear her sing "Words" as it's the finest version I have heard apart from The Bee Gees.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2013
Best british singer.

Is a beautifull cd. Sandie is together with Lulu, dusty Springfield, the best of th 60's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)