Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 4 November 2013
Journalist Patrick Bannister's hateful mother had sucked any feelings of love from him when he was a child so he never knew it existed until he met fellow student Marybeth, the only love of his life. He watched her die in a fire started deliberately. Haunted by the arson and scorched body he had seen resulted in emotional turmoil causing him to lose his job and end up in therapy sessions. Confusion, anger, guilt and loss of self-esteem were heightened by a news bulletin. A wealthy cancer specialist and his wife , Wesley and Charlene Clark, were missing. Patrick thought he was losing his mind as the photo on screen of Charlene was Marybeth, dead for 15 years. Exhaustive searches could find no evidence that Marybeth had ever existed. A confused and sad Patrick's anxiety and determination drives him to find the truth, embarking on a journey he is about to find is jam-packed with hazardous encounters and incidents ultimately life-threatening. He is aided by an unlikely ally, street-wise and hard-nosed petty criminal, Tristan, a fellow sufferer of life.

This is a fast-moving tense and suspenseful psychological thriller with a continuous flow of taut action. The mystery generated is fuelled by a string of cleverly constructed twists and surprises in the author's masterly, intriguing narrative. The characters are well-drawn, the therapy sessions revealing and the bonding of Patrick and Tristan may lead to future encounters. Also a word for the delightful Bullet, Patrick's dog. This is a top-class entertaining thriller and a page-turning read. A fabulous novel from Andrew E. Kaufman.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
I read books every available minute and driving I will listen to them. Andrew now has me as a dedicated fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Darkness and Shadows continues the story of Patrick Bannister, who was first introduced in The Lion, The Lamb and The Hunted, and immediately I was drawn back into Patrick's world and into an absorbing and gripping suspense thriller. It's a dark and very intense storyline which takes you on an exciting roller coaster of a journey.

Patrick is still suffering from his abusive past and the loss of his first love, Marybeth, from his college days and, after seeing a news report of a missing couple, is thrown into a state of confusion and torment. The conversations Patrick has in session with his therapist are great rending and superbly written.

Nothing is as it seems and as Patrick finds out more and more his life is turned upside down and he has to find out the truth whatever it takes. There are some really good plot twists along the way and the discoveries Patrick makes about Marybeth lead him to question his own perceptions of the truth.

I love the interaction between Patrick and Tristan, who he meets at the therapist's office. She's a great character addition, interesting with a shady past and a tough attitude.

Performance

There is so much emotion throughout the story and Luke Daniels' narration captures it perfectly, adding impact and feeling without being overly dramatic. A compelling listening experience.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Very gripping cud not put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
One of those books that kept you guessing till the truth was revealed. The two main characters so damaged, yet so interesting in their pain and determination. Complementing each other with their own inner and different strengths. Really enjoyable read. I thank my sister for recommending this story and introducing me to a new author. Look forward to reading more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
The pace of this book is pretty fast. It was an enjoyable read and I did not guess the outcome. Only irritation was the sections covering Patrick's sessions with his therapist - not sure how accurate this was compared to real life, but didn't seem to be very helpful to me!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I was given a free copy of this book by Netgalley to review and give my honest opinion. Having read Kaufman's previous books, I could not wait to get my hands on this one. I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered that the main character was Patrick Bannister, the hero in 'The Lion, the Lamb, the Hunted' which I loved to bits. In this story, Bannister a newspaper reporter finds himself out of work and out of luck. He is seeing a psychiatrist to help him deal with his past and his OCD. An unlikely partnering with Tristan the main female protagonist in the story makes for good reading as they work together to solve the mysterious death of a wealthy doctor and his wife. The wife a former love of Bannister's who had supposedly died in a fire when they were young. The twists and turns in the story keep you glued from the start. Whilst there is some predictability in parts, the story has a great ending as is always the case with Kaufman's books. I cannot wait to read more from this author and hope that we see more of Patrick Bannister.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
This is the first book I have read by this author and another I borrowed from the Kindle lending library. Patrick is a journalist who lost his job following an outburst. He is going through therapy to help with his obsession with writing lists stemming from issues around his mother and his belief that he is not worthy of love. Years ago he had a relationship with a fellow student, Marybeth, who is tragically killed in a fire. Now a socialite and her wealthy husband are missing and she looks just like Marybeth. Patrick's investigative journalist instincts kick in and he goes on the trail to find out what is going on. On the way he is hounded by a local policeman and teams up with Tristan, who is also seeing the therapist. There are plenty of twists and turns and a fabulous dog called Bullet! Patrick seems like a character that could appear in future books - or maybe he does already. I'm just about to check out other books by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
The third I've read by this author and the third I've given 5 stars to (and I don't throw those around willy-nilly)!! It features Patrick from one of his prior books but you don't need to have read the previous story. This time round he has a new friend (apart from Bullet the dog he saved in the other story who I was delighted to meet again in his new guise of a loved doggy)called Tristan. I've only ever heard that name used as a boy's name over here. I really liked her a lot although her spikiness reminds me of Lisbeth in the Larsson books.
The mistakes are WAY fewer in this story too. The only one I spotted was leverage used instead of lever !! That was wonderful. I really liked what the author says about his mum at the end of the book as well-it made me sniffy.
Can't wait to read his next one !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This is all about Patrick a reporter who is scruffy and visiting as psychologist. He has been like this ever since he saw his girlfriend die in a fire.He meets a woman who dislikes him as much as he dislikes her, but one day he finds her being beaten up and stops it then stays with her in hospital until she is better and she wants to know, why.it is a chalk and cheese friendship and she wants to help in sort out his troubles.
The story really gets started now and involves a husband and and wife who own and run a high class surgery and the fact that Patrick's girlfriend did not die in a fire.
I found this a long and very interesting story with a few twists and turns. Well worth buying and reading. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here