Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 July 2017
Compiled by one of the major players of the Northern Soul scene, Kev Roberts, this 31 track compilation can really be split into three categories. Roberts is the author of the definitive Northern Soul 500 and the associated Bubbling Under 100, and here 19 of the tracks appear in those listings. 11 of them are readily available on other compilations, in particular 100 Hits which features 9 of these floor fillers. However 8 which appear in those lists are much rarer - this is my 35th Northern Soul set and it's the first time I've come across:

Help Me - Al Wilson
Last Minute Miracle - The Shirelles
The Magic Touch -Melba Moore
My Heart Cries For You - Porgy & The Monarchs
One In A Million - Maxine Brown
That's No Way To Treat A Girl - Marie Knight
These Chains Of Love (Are Breaking Me Down) - Chuck Jackson
Tightrope - Inez & Charlie Foxx

Whilst there are a number of popular, well known tracks Roberts rings the changes with the remaining 12 tracks from the deeper catalogue, and all are a revelation. Roberts, and Series producer Backbeats show they know their stuff. A fabulous compilation to go for after the more obvious choices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
simply a great comp of northern classics!!!
the backbeats series is great!!
well compiled and the sound is spot on!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Great little collection. I don't think there's a bad track on this CD. One of my 'best buys' this summer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I have found the backbeats series a superb way to get hold of some excellent old tracks, but must say Metropolis Stomp time is one of the best Northern compilations I have found to date, all tracks are lively and upbeat and will enhance any collection of this wonderful music. More more more please.

Chris G
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This one is for the 'Run Of the Mill' Northern soulie. 31 great famous tracks. Something on this album for everyone. If you haven't heard these time and time again then grab yourself a Bargain .this Backbeats series is building into a great Soul collection .For the money GRAB IT and look out for the rest in the series. Well done Backbeats. Reviewed by StefC c/o Leek soul club home of soul since 1993
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
A clear audible CD with quality Northern songs and artists (No newies/Modern/Crossover)plus you get 31 for your £4.40 cost.
If you are not sure just look at the sleeve copied on amazon and 'you tube' the songs to check your particular taste.

i will use the supplier again but always a bonus seeing the sleeve and content first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Memories are made of this !!

At this price you cannot go wrong. Obviously, some lose their power in your living room, car etc. compared
to the atmosphere of the dance floor. Personally, I would pay £5 just for the Masqueraders cut.

Hopefully, a similar CD is in the pipeline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Great CD this one - The Vibrations "cause youre mine" a classic (saw them in Prestatyn this year) ,
dearly beloved , one in a million, and in the long run are all dance tunes that I enjoy on a night out. This is fantastic CD compelation to listen/dance to in me Kitchen!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
I've only recently come across the backbeats collection and I have hundreds of CDs but I gotta say this is the best northern soul compilation I've heard in years I'm 56 now and this CD took me back to the dance floors of yesteryear brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Backbeats comes up with yet another superb collection of fantastic soul tracks-this time with a Northern flavour-great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)