Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
147
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2013
This collection of songs is no longer the sole product of Seasick Steve, JPJ and Jack White's influences are hard to miss. That said, Steve is on top form as usual and delivers a more rocking style of blues. As Steve says, I like his songs "kinda economical", when he and Dan work together you get to the real source of Steve's version of the blues and his wonderful down to earth lyrics really hit home. This is a great piece of work though, if you are new to Seasick Steve this is perhaps an easier more commercial listen for you to experience the blues played Steve's way, buy it now.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Like all of his albums it's just crammed with blues and soul, unlike the manufactured "Boy Bands" this is adult and manly music from the heart. There is a lifetime of experience here condensed into wonderfuls songs. Just Brilliant.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Eight years after his debut album "Cheap" recorded when he was about 65 years old, Steve has released his sixth studio album with Jack White and John Paul Jones (from Led Zeppelin) making guest appearances.

"Hubcap Music", so named because he plays a guitar made from a garden hoe and two hubcaps, is Steve's familiar mix of blues styles. There is the traditional twelve bar blues ("Self Sufficient Man"), rap inspired talking blues ("(Keep Keepin' On") and modern electric blues with Stones style riffs (Freedom Road"). The problem is that they sound like you've heard them a thousand times or more. Impeccably performed but they bring nothing fresh to the harvest.

But the sweet mandolin of the folk blues break up song "Over You" and the blissful country blues of "Purple Shadows" with Elizabeth Cook and pedal steel bring a different substance to the album: melodic, lyrical and heartfelt. But best of all perhaps is the striking Muscle Shoals sound of "Coast Is Clear" with horns, John Paul Jones on Hammond Organ and some inspired falsetto from Steve. Magnificent!

Steve is no stranger to country blues and for me he is at his best when he sounds a little less like a manic Tom Waits, redneck boogie and punk funk and a little more like Jim Byrnes, plaintive and reflective.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I'm a newcomer to Seasick Steve but a great fan of John Paul Jones. I first saw them both perform together at this years Glastonbury and I loved the music. Seasick Steve is fantastic alone but I really like the "heavier" sound that John Paul Jones and the other musicians also add to this CD, it's mix of southern, bluesy rock. I appreciate that purist of Seasick Steve may prefer him without the "heavier" sound but for me this CD is perfect. Really worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Bought this for my husband, a big Steve fan, and he reckons this is every bit as good as all his others which we have. There is a slight "updated" feel now to his music,some of it is a bit more "polished" but this doesn't detract from his usual style and we think adds a little something to it. So if you're a Seasick Steve fan, you'll definitely enjoy this, it doesn't disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I do not go by the Amazon guidelines when reviewing, as I have my own criteria. So here goes.

The disc arrived in good time and in perfect condition.
Seasick Steve's voice is just superb. It is like the gravel bottom on a burbling highland stream, always in tune and keeping perfect time. Diction is slurred at times but is still clear what he is singing, unlike most modern artistes.

I simply rate the guy highly and since it was my generation that coined the phrase originally I think he is a real cool dude.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
I've been a Seasick Steve fan ever since first seeing him on Jools Holland. Unique, funky, blues, humour, and still good music. His originality as a writer is great Southern Country with loads of slide and stomp. This album exceeded my expectations with respect to content and variety.....(there's even a duet). So it currently lives in the car to provide a truly entertaining drive every time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
A slightly heavier, more polished album from Steve this time round, possibly the influence of John Paul Jones but still a good old blues boogie album. If you liked 'You can't teach ...' then you'll like this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Always love a bit o Steve and this album doesn't let you down.
Slow songs, faster songs, all with the obligatory slide.

John Paul Jones of Zeppelin fame on bass and Jack White on one of the tracks.

Nothing further to add...!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
As always Steve delivers his unique style of music with enthusiasm. I have been to one of his concerts and loved it, he is so unnasuming and appreciative of his audience and success you cannot help but like him. This latest album is brilliant, the songs are meaningful and you can understand the messages he is getting across. If you like this style you will like this latest album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)