Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.32


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2014
This book doesn't really give any great insights into either Kenny or Cleo, but it does give you an account of their friendship and love for each other. Both come out of it well, and you feel an empathy for them. At times very funny, occasionally moving, it is well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Not many people were as close to the genius Kenny Everett as Cleo Rocks was. This focuses more on their happy times together whether working together or having fun as close friends do. Definitely worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
It's all in the best possible taste! !! Fab and funny darlings :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
a really good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Amusing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2006
I, too, could not put this book down until I had read it right through. It is a tale of Miss Rocos' life from the age of fifteen when she first met Kenny Everett, through to their sad goodbyes when AIDS finally claimed his life, but not his soul. The book is as good as a film, with Miss Rocos' cheeky memories of her hilarious pranks at school and wild adventures with Kenny on their party nights out, as well as her solo venture across the pond in America filling out the beginning and middle of the book. The intimate moments in which Miss Rocos touchingly acknowledges the end of her journey with Kenny make up the last third of the book, allowing us access to very deep and private emotions so rarely found in people today. I cried at the end, and if you loved Kenny, Cleo and their bananas, you will too. Simply Faaabuloussss darlings!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 1999
yukit@iname.com from London
"Bananas Forever" is one of those rare cases where a multi-faceted and previously unrecognised literary talent is revealed for the first time. Ms. Rocos is a gifted and insightful writer, eloquently relaying to the reader a sense of the heady times during which British TV comedy was at its pioneering best. This book is a must-read for those who -like me - believe that comic genius is today a term too loosely thrown at the public. Ms. Rocos guides us - with sensitivity and intelligence - through a movingly profound friendship set against a professional background of comic creativity that to this day remains unrivalled in eyes of many. This is a great book and we hope to hear more from Ms. Rocos in the near future.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 1998
"Bananas Forever" is one of those rare cases where a multi faceted and previously unrecognised literary talent is revealed for the first time. Ms. Rocos is a gifted and insightful writer, eloquently relaying to the reader a sense of the heady times during which British TV comedy was at it's pioneering best. This book is a must read for those who -like me - believe that comic genius is today a term too loosely thrown at the public. Ms. Rocos guides us - with sensitivity and intelligence - through a movingly profound friendship set against a professional background of comic creativity that to this day remains unrivalled in eyes of many. This is a great book and we hope to hear more from Ms. Rocos in the near future.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2003
A fantastic book, extremely well written, and as a Kenny fan, just as when Spike Milligan died, I felt robbed of a great humourist. The narrative had me in tears on the last few pages. What more can I say? J.J.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
If you were ever a fan of Kenny Everett, this is a great read. As someone old enough to have appreciated Kenny's radio and TV work, and remember the media face of his relationship with Cleo Rocos, I was well aware of the Press 'interpretation' of their friendship and always wanted to read a more personal retrospective. What better way to learn about this 'love story' than from the inside. I'll admit I was originally less interested in Cleo than Kenny, but this book made me pay attention to her too, and in a good way. Her chatty and uniquely personal written style is engaging, and helps to highlight some laugh-out-loud moments. She quotes Kenny as having said to her "Nothing normal ever happens to you", and reading this series of crazy and entertaining anecdotes, I would have to agree.

Cleo Rocos paints a very warm and poignant picture of two people who shared a very special bond of love and friendship, without mawkishness. Reading this book, you really root for Kenny and Cleo, but of course alas, you already know what fate has in store. She gives the reader a good insight into the last months of Kenny's life in a way that us fans did not appreciate through Press stories of the day. I can recommend this book to all Kenny Everett's fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)