Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
88
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2015
Adam Hills is an Aussie. But don't hold that against him. I jest, a very good comedian who plays it his way.

this stand up routine features a lady who signs (BSL) throughout the performance so that the deaf in the audience can enjoy too.

I not only love Adam as a comedian but also his open and inclusive instincts.

This one isn't as funny as a stand up set he did in 2014, for C4 (I don't know if its on DVD but if it is get that as well) but it's still great
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
What a laugh brightened my day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 January 2016
Very funny, with the signer Catherine King playing a major role in proceedings. She's as much part of the show as Adam Hills himself really and Hills is also very skilfull at getting the best of the audience, affectionately mocking to good comedy effect without ever humiliating.

Slightly oddly the DVD is classified as a 15 even though one of the audience members who is involved in a series of extended jokes was 12.

The DVD also comes with some decent bonuses, including several short Adam Hills performances on other occasions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I bought this as a present for my son at Christmas. He has been studying BSL at Uni for a couple of years now and is still doing it (as he works full time and has to do the course part time). The first thing he said when he opened it was..."Oh I wanted to get this" so another present that went down well.

I love when I get someone something they really wanted!!

Adam Hills is very funny and some words he makes the signer, sign are hysterical. Great what you can learn too by watching this, and still be entertained at the same time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Incredibly funny, skilfully crafted comedy. The sign interpreter Catherine King is a real gem. Positive, live affirming fun. Happyism.
This DVD can only be bettered by watching the live show. Worth every penny.
The label warns of "strong language" and recommends viewers to be 15 or over. Some of the words are indeed a bit rude but Adam Hills is never crude, spiteful or unpleasant, so I was more than happy for my 12-year-old to watch the DVD.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Adam Hills was at his very best in this show. If you like Adam, you'll love this. A new show but reminders of his past, the Swedish chef, the late Steve Irwin, and tackling the problems of under age audience members. His patter with the audience is a highlight, getting the best out of them whilst not humiliating. Only Billy Connolly has made me laugh more. there is some bad language, but it is used sparingly and it doesn't offend, love the finale too.The extras are ok, a bit short. A good animation of his routine concerning the swimmer with no arms. would've liked to see more about the man himself, where he lives etc.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2016
I’d had a lovely morning, photographing parakeets, cleaning carpets and facebooking friends far and near. Then suddenly I felt Lesley’s absence like stiletto knife deep, deep into my soul. A few minutes later, pure serendipity, Amazon delivered the ‘Adam Hills: Happyism’ DVD.

So I spent the next eighty minutes crying with laughter and feeling so very, very close to Lesley, who loved to laugh. This is the funniest stand-up routine on DVD I have seen EVER, mainly because of his rapport the on-stage BSL interpreter, Catherine King, who is an absolute genius at visual comedy. Two great lines:

“You don’t see many Gingers in the Amazon, but that don’t make them racist.”
“The difference between the Muppets and the Kardashians is that the Muppets are real!”

It only costs £2.88 which is cheaper than most magazines - put it in the first aid box next to the Rescue Remedy™, you know it makes sense. Watch ‘Bonus’ and select ‘Feature With Sign Interpreter’, you’ll thank me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A great stand-up show and thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family. This show is fairly similar to his 'Inflatable' show in places and if you're looking to try an Adam Hills show I'd recommend that one over this. Having said that, they both have their charms.
Definitely one of the better stand-up dvds of the year!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Happyism! It couldn't have a better title. I am a huge fan of "The Last Leg" and this really lived up to expectations. Adam Hills always comes over as a nice person and his humour is kind (except when it comes to racists) but I'm fine with that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
I've loved Adam Hills for years. When I first moved to Australia 10 years ago, he presented a show called "Spicks and Specks: which is basically an Australian version "Never Mind the Buzzcocks", and was extremely funny on that show. I've seen him on numerous things since then and have grown to be a huge fan. This DVD certainly doesn't disappoint. It's hilarious from start to finish. Adams comic timing and delivery is just brilliant and having a sign interpreter on stage with him is a superb idea, it's something every comedian should do. Superb DVD from one of the best comedians around at the moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)