Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2013
This is a first-rate account of a campaign mostly neglected in the English language.

The author has not just tapped a myriad of English and German sources, published or otherwise, but also accounts from the Baltic nations in their native tongues which makes for wide-ranging coverage.

From the military viewpoint the book chiefly covers the 1941 campaign and the battles of 1944-45 with some excellent first-hand accounts provided. However, by far the most gripping - and harrowing - chapter is the account of the treatment of the Baltic's Jewish population after the Nazi occupation. There are some truly heartwrenching stories reproduced here.

Overall another excellent addition to WW2 from the author (whose Battleground Prussia: The Assault on Germany's Eastern Front 1944-45 (General Military) is another 'must buy').

The Kindle edition is an absolute bargain. At a fiver there's no excuse for not buying.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Came across this Kindle book whilst browsing. Details one of the lesser known campaigns/wars within WWII, that of the Baltic States. The author, Prin Buttar, is new to me and writes well. Very easy to read, lots of maps. Buttar seems to know what he is talking about, and I have no hesitation in recommending this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I enjoyed this book very much. It covers an area of the eastern front that I knew nothing of.
The author takes you through the background and then moves forward with a clear and concise account of the military and political events of the period.
I found the narrative fast paced and gained sense of the horrendous situations that the participants were involved in and the sheer brutality of the events of that time.
I have only given four stars because the kindle version did not really do justice to the maps provided. This is no criticism of the author.
I look forward to reading the author's next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I inititially chose it as I had little knowledge of the course of operations on the Baltic coast toward the end of the war.
Basically it is quite interesting but tends to rely on battlefield reports quoting small villages etc., this is not helped by the small size of the maps, so if you intend purchasing it, be advised, and purchase a large scale map of the Baltic coast.
If you are interested in part of WW 2 I would say go ahead and get it, the main thing missing from it are personal anecdotes, which may be hard to find nowadays.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Although living through that time I did not know just how savage that battle was.
I was also shocked to read that other countries in that area were killing the jews almost as much as the Nazi bunch were. Now I know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
This book is very detailed and covers quite a short period of history, from the prelude to war to the end of 1914.

My main criticism of the book (which applies to lot's of military history books) is that it details unit numbers for each regiment, division, corps and army for each engagement. After a short while these numbers just coalesce in to meaningless lists. Even cross referencing to the limited number of maps does not make it easy to make sense of all these numbers.

I nevertheless enjoyed the book, which covers a theatre of operations which I previously knew little about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
An excellent book on a topic rarely covered by historians. It would have 5 stars but there was not enough personal accounts inserted. When they were, the stories were intriguing and gave the book character. The chapter on the start of the final solution before it reached Russia was fascinating and harrowing. A must for those interested in the Eastern theatre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Between giants brings to the reader the reality of war and the hardship suffered by the Baltic peoples from their powerful neighbours. I really enjoyed this informative very well written book and unlike other good books I have read, this grabbed my attention all the way through. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Having been brought up to see the Baltic states in the Soviet era as 'captive nations', but never really believing this broad generalisation, this book is a well argued and researched update. Essential reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
A most interesting account. But would have been improved by less fine detail on military movements and a greater attention to general analysis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)