Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2013
In the fourth tale of the Empire'Corp the action heads back out to the rim and Stalkers stalkers.Avalon is again threatened,but this time by renegade ex-imperial navy forces well armed and trained,the story features Lt Jasmine Yamase,Blake Coleman &Mandy Caesius and introduces and expands several other characters both new and existing,the main feature is that the marines are the insurgents in this conflict and this raises several moral and strategic issues.It's a great story that races along at Chris's usual speed and hopefully is just another of many more Corp adventures .The chapter headings by Prof. Caesius are as thought provoking and explanatory as in the past.Keep up the great work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
In reality this is the third book actually dealing with the Marines and, as such, is an excellent follow-on. The Commonwealth has a limited time frame to fend off a military dictatorship armed with a much larger fleet before they are invaded and subjugated. Using a mixture of imaginative tactics, and getting unexpected help from a character who had been abducted in the second novel, The Commonwealth achieves victory at a high cost.

Once again Nuttall delivers an excellent and fast-paced slab of space opera. Plenty of action, plenty of tense moments, and further development of some strong characters, all combine make this an enjoyable reading experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
I have just finished this book. Unlike many Sci-fi stories, this book seams to pull no punches when it comes to the long list of human weaknesses. Indeed, the plot is such I can see it taking place for real considering the types of governments in power across the world, or I should say, the types of men in power. It is clear through our history that humans have only really excelled when killing each other or deceiving, lying and cheating. If you want a fairy story, go elsewhere but if you want a well written book with depth and all the nasty stuff of life, then this is a series for you. It is a definite three woof story as well as making me see the pet psychologist at my local NHS hospital and Berger bar. For the remainder of the evening I shall hide behind the sofa and plan how to overthrow kitty's hold on the best seats in the house. Woof woof!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This is the fourth book in Mr Nuttalls Empire series and he has delivered another cracking read. Unlike a lot of authors who fall into the trap of simply repeating themselves in a slightly different format, this story is again significantly different to the other books in the series.(anyone who has read for example GW books will know what i mean, they sadly seem to clone their ideas, i must say i prefer Mr Nuttalls marines a whole lot more, whilst on the subject of GW i noticed another review mentioning a similarity to the Tau and feel compelled to defend Mr Nuttall whos work is nothing like it at all... )
He has a strong grasp of military tactics and this book like the others is very believable. Mr Nuttall infuses his books with educated and well thought out ideas, he uses his specialist knowledge of politics and clever use of challenging moral dilemas to set a very interesting scene for his characters to grow in. Although it is set far in the future he keeps the techno babble to a minimum and has once again focussed on the characters and storytelling. Although Stalker has taken a slight back seat for this one the marines are still present in the form of Jasmine and Blake. This story covers insurgent action and is interesting particularly as the Marines are the insurgents. Their strict ordered behaviour and codes of conduct are called into question causing the marines to battle with their own morals and the need to complete their mission. Again the bad guys are really bad and you end up despising them. There is, as ever an open ending for more to come. I like Stalker and his troops but must confess that i like the way Mr Nuttall writes the Empire series covering the series from diverse points of view and from different timelines in the Empires demise. Please do continue to write more in this series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2013
The end of Earth and its thousand year space empire force the surviving outer planets, now a commonwealth, to protect themselves and that is the job best done by the Space Marines.

The Commonwealth of Avalon is now under threat from another abandoned group of planets ruled by a ruthless former space navy officer. With resources stretched to the limit how will the Marines cope.

This 4th novel in Christopher G Nuttall's space saga is as enjoyable as the previous ones although the antics of the space age super persons is almost beyond belief.

Nuttall writes well, his characters are very believable and the book is a real page turner even though it does have a few imperfections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Excellent story, well woven together. Some of the stuff after the book about world politics have a peculiarly "Chicago school" economic / political viewpoint, but the book itself is pretty good. Good enough that I'm working through the whole Empire Corps series and enjoying them. Amazon a bit behind as I'm already on book 7... :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
If they're not dressed provocatively, questioning or having questioned their femininity, getting raped or being threatened with rape then they're probably villains. Other than that it's actually pretty good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Another great read from Christopher Nuttall. There is plenty more places this series can go and I can't wait to find out. Will we see Rani Sigh again?.....I hope so. She is a foe just waiting for her Cumupance! I hope Jasmine makes a full recovery, she is such a good character, would hate to see her go. On to the next book now, just hope there are more in the pipeline. This is a great read on I look forward to every night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
I would recommend this book to anyone who likes sci-to. It's the fourth book of nine. I have read that first three and now this one and will read the others.

Semper fi (do or die) is the best one yet. Have a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Christopher Nuttall has, in my view, written another good book to move this series forward. We are introduced to new characters, but the original characters are still there in the background.
A very good read. I am looking forward to reading the follow on books as they come out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.