Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
10
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2014
Huge Sally Phillips fan, but really, can pretty much see why Sky didn't commission Season 2 of this one. Phillips excels in playing characters who, were you to meet them, you'd probably run a mile from, and she does the same here - her character is snobbish, deceitful, scared, lets her daughter take the rap for her behaviour etc. But it's by no means Phillips who drops the ball here. To some extent, the writing is over-stretched, delivering oddness with the faint whiff of desperation about it, in the hope to raise a titter from the audience. Titters there are, too - but fully committed laughs, sadly few.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
I don't know why this show is getting so many bad reviews! I am watching it on Sky's Now TV, and definitely plan to buy the DVD. It's a cute little comedy, and I love Sally Phillips' character! Sure, the laughs are not continuous, mile-a-minute in their delivery, but when you do laugh, it's genuine.

This show reminds me of a few other shows that I really like, some of which, sadly, were also cancelled; Being Eileen, Jam and Jerusalem (aka Clatterford), etc.

Hopefully Sky will recommission this series if they receive enough positive feedback!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
I was surprised to find they are not making a new series. A great cast with Susie Blake and Tom Conti as the Parents are very funny.
With Sally Phillips stuck in the middle with a hapless husband.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
I bought this DVD on the strength of the usually fabulous Sally Phillips and some good reviews on Amazon. Have to say I'm pretty disappointed. Its mediocre and the characterizations are typical sit-com at its worst. Despite the good cast (including Tom Conti and Susie Blake) its really not very funny and I can't imagine why anyone commissioned it. This will be going to the charity shop I'm afraid.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
This is a true family sitcom. I watched it with my 10 and 12 year old and we all really enjoyed it. Funny, heart warming and silly. Please can we have another series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Hope there is a second series. It would be great to see how these characters develop. Six episodes was not enough.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Sally Phillips is wonderful in this (as she is wonderful in everything), and the rest of the supporting cast are up to scratch. But the bloke who plays her husband will drive you insane - how can anyone live with such an utter twit - it's just not credible!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
...they only made one series of this. Sally Phillips (from the Miranda series) is in her element but for some reason the rest of the cast don't quite carry it for me. I will watch it again, however, just to be certain.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Very good and pleasant comedy, entertaining and relaxing suitable for the whole family, very funny and the product corresponds perfectly to the description, the seller is quite reliable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Sadly, this turned out to be a lame, unfunny 'comedy' don't waste your time and money either buying or watching it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)