Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wehrmacht [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping


on 9 March 2017
No subtitles and the background music is too loud, so much wasted effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
There is lots of film footage here (both color and monochrome) that I hadn't seen before. Once I started watching this documentary I sat, non-stop, through the whole 4.5 hours and found it quite compelling. Along with original footage we also have some convincing reenactments.

One small annoyance with the production is the preference of vocal English translation spoken over the original German voices. It's like two people talking at once and I found it a little distracting. I would have preferred subtitles. A somewhat bigger annoyance is that, although the picture is wide screen, the dvd is non-anamorphic 4:3... so to fill that big screen one has to "zoom" the picture, thereby losing quality of image. A small grievance in view of the subject matter on offer here, but there you have it. Nicely presented in a 3-disc foldout package that comes in a sturdy cardboard sleeve. Recommended.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
I purchased this DVD series expecting a history of the development and battlefield preformance of the various branches of the WWII German Army, infantry, airborne, armour etc....., . That was most emphatically not what I got; but what I did get was in many ways more interesting and thought provoking.

From the middle of 1943, all German Generals/senior Staff officers captured in the West, were imprisoned in the luxurious surroundings of Trent Park country house, near London. This 'guilded cage' held a dark secret however; the entire building was electronically bugged, with every spoken word being constantly recorded by British Intelligence Officers, with a view to procuring evidence for the looming war trials.

Almost seventy years later, this historical 'treasure trove' of obviously unguarded conversions between Germany's senior military leaders on the politics, personalities, strategy and tactics of WWII, have been used by Guido Knopp and his team to produce the most fasinating insight into the mental/psychological effects of sustained battlefield combat(ending in defeat), that I have ever seen.

This three DVD 270min programme is made in five parts, listed below:-

1.Attack on Europe.
2.The Turning Point.
3.The Crimes.
4.Resistance.
5.To the Bitter End.

The only problem I have with this documentary is the very obviously slanted editing. The basic premise of all the programmes are that the German Officer Corps should have firstly resisted Hitler's assumption of power and pre-war programme of military expansion, and following the outbreak of war; should have acted in such a fashion that 'the war would have ended sooner'. IE... withdrawn their men from combat wherever possible, encouraged them to surrender in order to prevent needless loss of life, and even shown the 'personal courage' to assassinate Hitler; with the re-inacted conversations being overwhelmingly used to illustrate this viewpoint.

Even with hindsight, I feel that this attitude is unrealistic. Similar programmes on British, American or Soviet military leadership would not even suggest Churchill/Stalin's assassination by their own officers as an acceptable end to the war! and I feel that some editing input from an American Vietnam veteran would have added balance to the series. It would also have made clear that Hitler's WWII German Army was/is not the only Western fighting force with the deep conviction that "surrender is not in our creed!".

That said, all those with a serious interest in 20'th Century history will benefit from the highly informed revelations made in this series.The Wehrmacht [DVD]
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
If you are interested in the German army in World War 2 this dvd set is a must have. The only thing that keeps me from giving it 5 stars is the typical Guido Knopp hatchet job he delivers on anything Third Reich related. All German soldiers are bad, i.e. guilty of war crimes.....because it they didn't commit them they were willing accomplices. Typical Guido......even though his documentaries are first rate when it comes to production values, film footage etc..
There is plenty of color footage, some I have never seen, and I thought I had seen it all. Even much of the black and white footage is new to me and very good. The back story of the series is that the English kept all their German General prisoners all together in lavish surroundings so they would be more likely to let their guard down.....as the place was bugged. Portions of their conversations are delivered by actors, and cherry picked to show that they were all careerists, anti Semitic , or just horrible people. In Knopps eyes the only good Germans of that time were the ones who actively resisted under the threat of death or deserted. Also former soldiers are interviewed. I am not here to defend them all......it just would have been a much better documentary if he would have been a little more even handed, as he clearly has an agenda.
There are 5 episodes, Attack on Europe, The Turning Point,The Crimes,Resistance, To the Bitter End. At 4.5 hours I do highly recommend this 5 part series.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 December 2015
A fascinating DVD set in 6 episodes that charts the history and role of the regular German army – the Wehrmacht – during WW2. With dramatic reconstructions with actors, the series also blends archival footage and interviews with Wehrmacht veterans – many now in their 80 and 90s of course.
From 1941, high ranking German officers captured by the British were imprisoned - in relatively luxurious conditions - in the stately home at Trent Park in north London – now in the London Borough of Enfield. Provided with all the comforts as afforded their rank, the officers were permitted walks in the countryside, good food and alcohol. But all their conversations were being secretly recorded and transcribed by British intelligence officers.
These papers have been made public relatively recently and provide historians with a fascinating insight into the workings of the Wehrmacht and the German nazi machine.

The series shows that the Wehrmacht was far from innocent in its involvement in the Holocaust and the war on the Eastern Front, for example. But it also gives a good insight into the lives of the common soldier.
A fine piece of documentary filmaking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I have seen this series on TV and my comments are based on that rather than the DVD.

The series focuses on the soldiers and leaders in the Wehrmacht rather than being solely about their campaigns. The series is a mixture of reconstructions, war and newsreel/propaganda footage with interviews from soldiers and officers that served in the Wehrmacht.

The footage is often quite poignant and the series reveals the human story of the Wehrmacht rather than a dry catalogue of battles and facts. Many of the film clips shown I have only seen in this series.

There does seem to be an odd bias and some of the experts interviewed seem to take a rather simplistic view of the situation - suggesting often that the Wehrmacht might have acted to prevent many atrocities and bring the war to a quicker end by defying Hitler.

I think that you would have to be a brave, foolhardy man to interfere with the Nazi repression and ideology. The film does at least show there were brave men, not just fighting, but resisting if they could in some way, or at least horrified by what they eventually saw going on and had little choice in what they could do.

It's clear the German Army had noble men as well as Nazis.

Much use is made of secret recordings made in Britain of captured officers who spoke unaware their conversations were monitored. It is absolutely fascinating.

A series with some biased viewpoints, but one I can't recommend highly enough to catch some of the human stories and motivation behind the German Army in WW2. Excellent.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
By my experience the Army, any Army is artificial religious system with its employee's ladder structure - there is no difference between US Army British Army and Old Soviet Army - the material what it seeks to create its own perpetuating command structures is predominantly the same at beginning they are Young and naïve at final stage crazy bored lazy corrupt humanly unaccountable perversely vicious and corrupt in responsibility for Absurd while paid . Perhaps Boko Haram and ISIS is in the revolutionary stage for now ,but it will turn soon or later Sadam's way. The Jewish IDF it is just as SS elite were- impervious with Legal Immunity to human beings - resulting in their own human absence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Good documentary that would be excellent, in my opinion, with the original german dialogue and english subtitles.
Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2016
super quick delivery...helped with daughters gcse revision...worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
An excellent dvd with lots of film I haven't seen before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)